Wat to Modify FD 1.8

Yup, 2k budget for power improvement will not get you much, maybe max 5-7% real HP increase at best via ECU remap or piggy back ECU if done properly.

If spending on exhaust, then it might yield even less than that, just usually more noise with just a tad better response but nothing significant. If want to improve the exhaust a bit, just remove the mid catalytic converter if have (but not the mid silencer/muffler), and then replace the rear muffler with local made Mugen style twin loop muffler, total should cost you just around rm300-400.

If I were you honestly with 2k budget, I'd focus first on the tires. That amount of money can already get very good high performance tires like Bridgestone RE003, Goodyear F1, Continental CSC5/3, Michelin PS3, Hankook V12 Evo 2, etc2 (assuming you're rim size is not bigger than 17'). It does not improve power but it will improve the car's handling, safety, and makes it more enjoyable to drive (again assuming if your car now not using such good tires yet).

You guys all trolling the poor fella ka? Budget 2k.. tell him spend > 3 times the amount budget minimally :biggrin:

DonOwen : Bro, clarify what it is you want from your 1.8L Civic. More power in what sense? Overtaking on highway? Speeding 250km/h on the roads? Track use? Or just enough power to beat that goddam Myvi that kacau you everyday on the way to work?

Changing exhaust might free up a bit of power or torque, but like what the sifus here have said - it's not really worth the 2k you'll spend on it.

Changing the engine will give you huge gains - but do you have the time and money for it? Not forgetting possibly the suspension and brakes upgrade needed with the power upgrade.

If you're just looking for an entertaining drive or just a little more oomph then think about your options. Money is king. A simple filter upgrade will give a little oomph. A good service with good oils will give a little oomph. A lightweight rim with good tyres will help a lot too.

So don't limit your choices and just mod based on what you think you wanna do.

Btw, if your 1.8L Civic is an auto, just changing to a manual alone will change the dynamics of the car. But question is can you live with a manual for the rest of the cars life?

Anyway, I'm feeling philosophical today. Please excuse me.

Hehe, if swap to MT, he gets more on wheel horsepower without any cons or drawbacks from the swap other than the need to shift gears and operate the clutch. Is not like the swap to MT will cause an increase in fuel consumption or increase in engine temperature. :biggrin:

definitely not gonna be any cheaper after kana poison..........hahahahah

depends on the definition of "modding". Some belip modding means putting stickers on the car.....hahahahah

To these folks, stickers = horsie-powah

suggest keep the 2k and safe more..
coz modding cars is like taking drugs..
(belum cuba belum tau, sekali cuba hari hari mau - in malay)

try to plan what you want and you can buy piece by piece so that you wont feel pain in pocket...
me just finish my BOT after 2 years collecting all the parts..

K20 - NA (less worry)
BOT - a bit headache (a lot of monitoring need to be done)

Good luck..:smokin:

depends on the definition of "modding". Some belip modding means putting stickers on the car.....hahahahah

To these folks, stickers = horsie-powah

Eh don't play play ok. Those god-knows-what-infrared stickers +15bhp and save fuel okkkkkk

:biggrin:

Just hate when one ask to mod for more power and save fuel too.......hhahahhahhahahah:biggrin:

Eh don't play play ok. Those god-knows-what-infrared stickers +15bhp and save fuel okkkkkk

:biggrin:

whuiyoooo.......I was informed by god-knows-what that 3D CF sticker will up engine ferrfohmance equivalent to terbo engine.... :adore::adore::adore:

Just hate when one ask to mod for more power and save fuel too.......hhahahhahhahahah:biggrin:

This engine "the more powerful then engine, the less it uses fuel" exist.

Technically, the engine code is BL-SHT01, or famously known as Bullshit One engine. :driver:

Enjoy the pahwah, while staying green. Bullshit is here to stay.

Anyway, back to the thread.....there is only so much power can be extracted with bolt-on mod.
Of course, to produce more power, need add fuel too.
Nothing is free lor.....

Enjoy the pahwah, while staying green. Bullshit is here to stay.

Anyway, back to the thread.....there is only so much power can be extracted with bolt-on mod.
Of course, to produce more power, need add fuel too.
Nothing is free lor.....

Sorry but I disagree. BOT got limitation but there are many brave heart around who even boost them higher than my standard turbo to really squeeze the max of them.

And to produce more power is not add fuel but to add more displacement, like changing the crank for bigger displacement, or forced induction and this is also actually bigger displacement. I have tried pressuring more fuel into my VR before, I don't feel any extra power but only lost like 40km per tank :smokin:.....hhahhahaha :biggrin: