eohl79
Hi guys, been a long time since I lurked around in ZTH forum :)
Was considering to setup a better sound system in my old faithful Kelisa. Was previously running an old Pioneer DEH-P5750MP which I thought sounded great in my car for 10+ years that it served me. Recently the connector on the main unit which interfaces with the detachable face unit got damaged plus the face unit rear plastic latch got broken. Managed to obtain replacement spare parts for it through the local Pioneer disti. Amazing that they still have got parts for a 10+ year old HU. Only thing was part delivery was around 3-4 weeks. After a week+ of waiting for the parts, hands got itchy...
Firstly, I purchased a new old stock entry level Alpine CDE-121 for a reasonable price. DIY installed it and tested it. Basic treble/bass EQ with treble/bass freq band control. Mid/highs were good and clear but bass/low freq sounded like it was crapping out on the speakers somehow... hands got itchy again, bought a Pioneer DEH-X6750BT HU and moved my Alpine to my other Kelisa...
At the same time of getting that Alpine HU, I got a very good deal on a Silent Coat 4-door starter pack kit. Since Kelisa rear 2- doors were small, I got enough sound deadening material for all 4-doors plus some left for the boot hatch. Whole car sounded so silent now! Damn...
After DIY installing the new Pioneer unit, still felt the overall sound was rather lacking despite trying to tune up the system
Since it was the bass/low freq that sounded poor, I got myself an 8" underseat active sub and DIY install it... Overall system now sounded better with more bass but not that great. Had to turn on the HPF filter to cutoff at 125Hz to the front/rear speakers. After listening to my system for a week that got me thinking something wasn't right. BTW was using some 10+ year old Kenwood components (forgot what model already...) and another set of Pioneer TS-G1645 speakers.
Then came the next DIY project... replacing old existing speaker wires and checking out the connector pins for connectivity. Bought some new speaker cables to replace the old ones. While opening up my front/rear speakers, found out that the terminal connectors to the speakers had oxidized and was a little loose! No wonder the bass/low frequencies sounded funny! F#@%^&*! Anyway, since already had new speaker cables, might as well replace the old aging cables. This time decided to solder the cables directly to the speaker and heat shrink sleeve the soldered connection. Damn was I amazed the SQ after replacing the cables. Suddenly can hear the bass thumping from the 6.5" speakers, mid and highs sounded way better than before!
Now after close to 2 weeks of listening to my system, hands getting itchy again...
Now planning to do the following:
1. Buy some STP sound deadening material to DIY for the firewall, front fenders, trunk and roof. Some extra for the front doors too.
2. Upgrade my old speakers, starting with the Kenwood components. The Kenwood components had decent bass and low end mids. Highs sounded harsh/metallic like. Maybe speakers are old. Likely will replace with Infinity Reference 6500cx speakers. The Infinity Kappas seems expensive and feels it won't do justice on a Kelisa... The Pioneer TS-G1645 speaker would have to go. Mids are good, low freq very weak and highs nothing to shout about. Might just get some better coax speakers - still undecided.
3. Maybe get a Pioneer GM-D8604 class-D amp to power all 4-speakers once I've found a justification to move on from stock HU direct drive to driving it with a power amp. Class-D amp so lesser load on the alternator vs a class AB amp. Also the smaller footprint of a class-D would be more much desirable for a small compact car. SNR and THD of the Pioneer Class-D looks pretty impressive. I guess it all depends on the new set of speaker sensitivity... Also, based on the Pioneer HU manual, it was recommended to use 4-8 Ohm speakers. The Infinity Reference components are definitely below 4 Ohms impedance. Just worried it might cause damage to the HU with long term usage. Or maybe choose some good 4 Ohms high sensitivity speakers.
4. If the new set of speakers can deliver enough bass to my liking, will sell off the active sub. Maybe change from 6.5" rear to a 6x9" to give a little bit better bass? I don't like listening to those deep hard big 12" subs... find it irritating while driving.
Any word of advise sifu, sifus?
Got to put some cream to control the ICE itchiness hahaha
Was considering to setup a better sound system in my old faithful Kelisa. Was previously running an old Pioneer DEH-P5750MP which I thought sounded great in my car for 10+ years that it served me. Recently the connector on the main unit which interfaces with the detachable face unit got damaged plus the face unit rear plastic latch got broken. Managed to obtain replacement spare parts for it through the local Pioneer disti. Amazing that they still have got parts for a 10+ year old HU. Only thing was part delivery was around 3-4 weeks. After a week+ of waiting for the parts, hands got itchy...
Firstly, I purchased a new old stock entry level Alpine CDE-121 for a reasonable price. DIY installed it and tested it. Basic treble/bass EQ with treble/bass freq band control. Mid/highs were good and clear but bass/low freq sounded like it was crapping out on the speakers somehow... hands got itchy again, bought a Pioneer DEH-X6750BT HU and moved my Alpine to my other Kelisa...
At the same time of getting that Alpine HU, I got a very good deal on a Silent Coat 4-door starter pack kit. Since Kelisa rear 2- doors were small, I got enough sound deadening material for all 4-doors plus some left for the boot hatch. Whole car sounded so silent now! Damn...
After DIY installing the new Pioneer unit, still felt the overall sound was rather lacking despite trying to tune up the system

Then came the next DIY project... replacing old existing speaker wires and checking out the connector pins for connectivity. Bought some new speaker cables to replace the old ones. While opening up my front/rear speakers, found out that the terminal connectors to the speakers had oxidized and was a little loose! No wonder the bass/low frequencies sounded funny! F#@%^&*! Anyway, since already had new speaker cables, might as well replace the old aging cables. This time decided to solder the cables directly to the speaker and heat shrink sleeve the soldered connection. Damn was I amazed the SQ after replacing the cables. Suddenly can hear the bass thumping from the 6.5" speakers, mid and highs sounded way better than before!
Now after close to 2 weeks of listening to my system, hands getting itchy again...

1. Buy some STP sound deadening material to DIY for the firewall, front fenders, trunk and roof. Some extra for the front doors too.
2. Upgrade my old speakers, starting with the Kenwood components. The Kenwood components had decent bass and low end mids. Highs sounded harsh/metallic like. Maybe speakers are old. Likely will replace with Infinity Reference 6500cx speakers. The Infinity Kappas seems expensive and feels it won't do justice on a Kelisa... The Pioneer TS-G1645 speaker would have to go. Mids are good, low freq very weak and highs nothing to shout about. Might just get some better coax speakers - still undecided.
3. Maybe get a Pioneer GM-D8604 class-D amp to power all 4-speakers once I've found a justification to move on from stock HU direct drive to driving it with a power amp. Class-D amp so lesser load on the alternator vs a class AB amp. Also the smaller footprint of a class-D would be more much desirable for a small compact car. SNR and THD of the Pioneer Class-D looks pretty impressive. I guess it all depends on the new set of speaker sensitivity... Also, based on the Pioneer HU manual, it was recommended to use 4-8 Ohm speakers. The Infinity Reference components are definitely below 4 Ohms impedance. Just worried it might cause damage to the HU with long term usage. Or maybe choose some good 4 Ohms high sensitivity speakers.
4. If the new set of speakers can deliver enough bass to my liking, will sell off the active sub. Maybe change from 6.5" rear to a 6x9" to give a little bit better bass? I don't like listening to those deep hard big 12" subs... find it irritating while driving.
Any word of advise sifu, sifus?