RM70k budget 4wd, used

Must be automatic, cause my mother cannot drive manual.

Priority in order of importance
1. Comfort king among pickups/4wd
2. reliability/problem-free
3. fuel economy (diesel sure beats petrol right?)
4. power
5. not older than 2010, preferred if in warranty
6. no lite versions, or pissed down versions, the full manly version please

Please don't suggest Amarok, Cayenne or things that costs more than RM70k.

Mostly city driving, will modify it with bull bar front and back. Off-road capability mainly used on other car surfaces.

I don't want a new vehicle, cause I expect this to get banged up.

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Must be automatic, cause my mother cannot drive manual. - Hilux got automatic.

Priority in order of importance
1. Comfort king among pickups/4wd - my dad got hilux, quite comfort compare to triton.
2. reliability/problem-free - Hilux not really have major issues on the engine and gearbox.
3. fuel economy (diesel sure beats petrol right?) - Yes, it's fuel eco than my mom 2.0 CRV
4. power - Quite power especially uphill. All the way 90km/h without changing gear.
5. not older than 2010, preferred if in warranty - You need to search on that.
6. no lite versions, or pissed down versions, the full manly version please - I think Hilux double cab is full spec.

bera

Oct 27, 2007
was gonna to suggest hilux...but someone beat me to it...

indestructible vehicle as proven by top gear...lol

was gonna to suggest hilux...but someone beat me to it...

indestructible vehicle as proven by top gear...lol
BUt seems to be the slowest among the rest of the pick ups?

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Not really. If comparing the price range (close to each other), triton is the slowest among others.

Model Power Price

Ford Ranger 2.2 L -110kW / 375Nm (4WD) RM98,438

Toyota Hilux 2.5 L -106kW / 343Nm (4WD) RM99,319 (non-metalic)

Nissan Navara 2.5 L - 106kW / 356Nm (2WD) RM89,934

Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 L - 100kW / 314Nm (4WD) RM94,273 (without insurance)

Not really. If comparing the price range (close to each other), triton is the slowest among others.

Model Power Price

Ford Ranger 2.2 L -110kW / 375Nm (4WD) RM98,438

Toyota Hilux 2.5 L -106kW / 343Nm (4WD) RM99,319 (non-metalic)

Nissan Navara 2.5 L - 106kW / 356Nm (2WD) RM89,934

Mitsubishi Triton 2.5 L - 100kW / 314Nm (4WD) RM94,273 (without insurance)
New Ford Ranger is nice...:love:

Actually those are latest specs.

2010 Toyota Hilux 2.5L D4-D is 102PS/260nM
2010 Mitsubishi Triton 2.5L is 136PS/314nM

Seems like I should up my budget for the 2011 models which has variable geometry turbos. Anybody own either vehicles and did comparison? Second hand prices seems to be very high for Triton, and very low for Ford Ranger.

mc888

Apr 8, 2010
Little HK
For Hilux, if it's not VNT's model, avoid it. It's underpowered, overtaking from 80kmh onwards is horrendous.

No idea abt Triton but the 3.2 model is quite torquey.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013

DMAX 2.5L manual, out.
DMAX 3L Auto, but power same or worst than competitor 2.5L... and I pay extra for road tax..no tq?

Next...

What?? The great benevolent Ixeo is asking the ultimate question of which car to choose? Just like the rest of us normal human beings? HEhehehehe :biggrin:

Halo kawan. Auto. Mom driving. Who the hell cares la?

Ixeo, for some reason the Hilux isn't actually favored amongst the offroad community. I think it's a pretty decent car but the Dmax seems to be more comfy in comparison. Oh have you consider the Ford range of 4WDs? I recall seeing one going for 80k+

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban

Seems like I should up my budget for the 2011 models which has variable geometry turbos. Anybody own either vehicles and did comparison? Second hand prices seems to be very high for Triton, and very low for Ford Ranger.
Ya wo. 2010 spec is using commonrail turbo which same as my dad model. Yes, the new 1 is more powerful. Actually the new ford ranger is a good choice, 2.2L engine and the output is impressive. Besides, ford offer alot features such as ABS, EBS, EBD, LSPV, LSD, etc. The durability and reliability i'm not sure on ford. But hilux shouldn't have any problems which my dad has owned it more than 5years. (Just need more engine oil, close to 6.6L)

Ya ya, I remember old models not that powerful.

What?? The great benevolent Ixeo is asking the ultimate question of which car to choose? Just like the rest of us normal human beings? HEhehehehe :biggrin:

Halo kawan. Auto. Mom driving. Who the hell cares la?
Maybe mum love some speed leh hehe!

nyne

May 21, 2013
selangor
i would say Navara, i test drove Navara for 5 days at Sabah. I fell in love straight away. the Torque is of the chart, i must say. You can feel the drag once you are in stop still to full throttle. you can feel the power kicks in. Comfort, i would say Navara because is spacious, at Sabah tht time, 6 people in one car with winding road. Hilux and triton is under power. Even i read from other forum that triton tried to chase Navara, but it fail. Maintenance is like other pick up truck but not as reliable as Hilux. trust me, once you drive Navara. You'll be amaze by the Power, Spaciousness, Durability and you feel like you own the road though.

---------- Post added at 10:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:11 AM ----------

so far ive found in Mudah, Navara 2009 above is about RM69k. Navara - THE MOTHER TRUCKER. hahaha

---------- Post added at 10:17 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:15 AM ----------

if you want to check on Navara, check on LE version not the SE version. SE version is the first batch of Navara, so it has alot of problem. However the LE version is the updated version with black interior.