Choices of cars to buy?

RM100k and brand new car. Which one would you choose?

• VW Polo Sedan 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Kia Forte 2.0

• Ford Focus Sedan 1.8

• Nissan Sylphy 2.0

• Toyota Vios 1.5

• Chery Eastar 2.0

• Mazda 2 Sedan

• Total voters
But I thought DSG have manual override and you can stay in the gear that you wanted?

The weird thing in the earlier video is, even with heavier weight, that GTI still manage to pull ahead of other cars with better power to weight ratio. :hmmmm: Or it is just the problem with Mitsubishi's TC-SST technology being not as good as VW's DSG?

Peugeot is getting popular lately. Even one of the active members over here owns a Peugeot 206 if you know who I mean. :biggrin:

A Peugeot 206 is not a recent [strike]mistake[/strike] purchase. So it doesn't contribute to the recent popularity of Peugeot.

Power to weight ratio is not 100% accurate way to calculate. It gives you a rough idea, but aerodynamics and how the power is transferred to the wheels play a role as well. DSG is indeed the top of its game.

Actually - that video doesn't really factor in that the EvoX is the heaviest car there. That Evo 9 is light and has more power to weight compared to the X and the same goes for the others. DSG is great in all honesty but it's too heavy compared to predecessor cars. But if compared to other DSG and cars on the same 'grade', I think it's bang for buck.

Suprima is based on the nearly bullet proof Preve. Only issue is the QA for Proton cars is terrible and the number of cars that have problems out from the factory is higher compared to other brands. But haven't said that nothing the warranty doesn't cover. Nice car to zip around in but the boot is pathetically shaped. Big but shaped in such a way it can't fit my stroller lying down.

Mazda 3.0 Hatch - nice car. Small rear seats and legroom. And 3 alphabets for you : M-P-S :biggrin:

Lancer Sportsback 2.4 looks real good. Saw the ralliart one and was pretty awesome looking. Never driven this car can't really comment.

Ford Focus - Awesome car. Be careful to buy the local CKD one. CBU tends to have different spare parts or support or something. For some reason it costs more to maintain.

Volkwagon Golf 1.4 is a pretty neat car. Only bad thing is the forever breaking DSG gearbox.

Avoid Peugeots like the plague.

I like the MPS so badly, but it is to expansive, second hand is the same price as Impreza ver10. i saw in mudah, is about RM140k grey color with black rims. If extra cash drop from the the sky, i would buy it though, and for sure i would join TimeToAttack 2014. hahaha:biggrin:

But I thought DSG have manual override and you can stay in the gear that you wanted?

The weird thing in the earlier video is, even with heavier weight, that GTI still manage to pull ahead of other cars with better power to weight ratio. :hmmmm: Or it is just the problem with Mitsubishi's TC-SST technology being not as good as VW's DSG?
DSG has manual override... but if u re-read my previous post, the DSG will upshift by itself once u reach certain revs... u cannot hold it against the rev cut like you could a pure manual, unless u write your own maps/software for the gearbox at the risk of "blowing" it...
:biggrin:

my video is to show u that no one can shift faster then a dual-clutch...
granted both cars is the same and maybe the DSG-equipped GTI is slightly heavier (maybe +/- 30 kg difference)...
why the DSG wins? while manual is doing this process (clutch-in, shift, clutch out) the DSG is still accelerating... imagine u shift 4 times, u lost 4 "acceleration seconds" to the process...

btw the gist of it is that mitsu TC-SST in a way is not as well implemented as VW's DSG.
(this statement might and most prolly will make Evo X sst owners jump on me)

DSG has manual override... but if u re-read my previous post, the DSG will upshift by itself once u reach certain revs... u cannot hold it against the rev cut like you could a pure manual, unless u write your own maps/software for the gearbox at the risk of "blowing" it...

my video is to show u that no one can shift faster then a dual-clutch...
granted both cars is the same and maybe the DSG-equipped GTI is slightly heavier (maybe +/- 30 kg difference)...
why the DSG wins? while manual is doing this process (clutch-in, shift, clutch out) the DSG is still accelerating... imagine u shift 4 times, u lost 4 "acceleration seconds" to the process...

btw the gist of it is that mitsu TC-SST in a way is not as well implemented as VW's DSG.
(this statement might and most prolly will make Evo X sst owners jump on me)

So the manual override in DSG is not as manual as it sounds then. You are like only given half the manual controls while the rest are all determined by the computer.

But I know that TC-SST in Evo X are prone to overheating problems, so an extra oil cooler is needed. Not sure whether will VW's DSG have the same problem or not.

So the manual override in DSG is not as manual as it sounds then. You are like only given half the manual controls while the rest are all determined by the computer.

But I know that TC-SST in Evo X are prone to overheating problems, so an extra oil cooler is needed. Not sure whether will VW's DSG have the same problem or not.

Mark X also like that, even in S-mode it's not fully in driver's control as it can still downshift on its own if it thinks that you're in too high gear, a bit annoying IMHO. But it indeed won't shift up higher than the gear you select. So the gear you select is basically the max gear it can operate.

as i say, it is manual control up to a certain extend...

there is 2 condition where it will over-ride the driver when in "manual" mode..
- when u hit rev limiter, it will upshift, it wont let u bounce against the rev cut
- when your speed is too low for that particular gear, it will down-shift one gear (or couple of gears) for u

so far there is no overheating on my DSG even after sepang or touge runs...

my opinion is that, i can live with the auto downshift but i want to have the gear upshift only at my command. there is many a times i want to hold the gear approaching corners just to have the DSG upshift itself and upset the car balance... grrr
:mad::mad:

Mark X also like that, even in S-mode it's not fully in driver's control as it can still downshift on its own if it thinks that you're in too high gear, a bit annoying IMHO. But it indeed won't shift up higher than the gear you select. So the gear you select is basically the max gear it can operate.

Just like the paddle shift Forte!
I find it rather funny.

- when u hit rev limiter, it will upshift, it wont let u bounce against the rev cut
- when your speed is too low for that particular gear, it will down-shift one gear (or couple of gears) for u

my opinion is that, i can live with the auto downshift but i want to have the gear upshift only at my command. there is many a times i want to hold the gear approaching corners just to have the DSG upshift itself and upset the car balance... grrr

That's even worse than my Mark X then! The X would just bounce on the rev limiter.
Anyway manual is always the best for fun driving.

Fail safe so as not damage the system....:biggrin:

Proton Suprima S 1.6T
Mazda 3 2.0 hatchback
Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback 2.4
Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback
Volkswagen Golf 1.4T
Peugeot 308 1.6T

Which one is the best best among all this hatches, in-terms of price, performance & reliability.

Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback as in the latest Focus S+ or the previous Turbo Diesel model?
Both would be great :biggrin:

where you get that source??

Time to fully overhaul your Altis....

A friend of mine has the Polo and told me is underpower, not sure what he was comparing with I guess...maybe the polo 1.2 tsi.

Altis really not a cheap car to maintain or to play with though.
Affordable for those who can afford it.

He will faint.....:bawling:

Definitely. But the result would be satisfying. if Really overhaul then time to change some aftermarket parts inside hehe!

Peugeot is getting popular lately. Even one of the active members over here owns a Peugeot 206 if you know who I mean. :biggrin:

Peugeot 206 he own it very long already and dont have problems like current peugeots.

I see. I've heard about the shift up when it reaches the rev limit but at first I thought at least you can hold it near the red line area for at least a few seconds or so. But for the downshift during low speed, I din't know about that one.

That's even worse than my Mark X then! The X would just bounce on the rev limiter.
Anyway manual is always the best for fun driving.

Mark X is using 6 speed torque converter right?

I agree about manual is best for fun driving. Just too bad Toyota had not offered Mark X in manual unlike it's predecessor, Chaser, Mark II and Cresta. Even the iconic frameless door is taken away but that is probably done to improve the NVH level of the car.

Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback as in the latest Focus S+ or the previous Turbo Diesel model?
Both would be great :biggrin:

A friend of mine has the Polo and told me is underpower, not sure what he was comparing with I guess...maybe the polo 1.2 tsi.

Altis really not a cheap car to maintain or to play with though.
Affordable for those who can afford it.

Definitely. But the result would be satisfying. if Really overhaul then time to change some aftermarket parts inside hehe!

Peugeot 206 he own it very long already and dont have problems like current peugeots.

Your Altis is using 1ZZ-FE?

I see. 206 is also quite an old model already. Now the latest is 208? The one with turbo?

Mark X is using 6 speed torque converter right?

I agree about manual is best for fun driving. Just too bad Toyota had not offered Mark X in manual unlike it's predecessor, Chaser, Mark II and Cresta. Even the iconic frameless door is taken away but that is probably done to improve the NVH level of the car.

Yes, and the AT it self is pretty robust and so far have never heard of any problems, but the system is so complicated that in order to remove the speed cut have to use HKS VAC module costing >3k!
For the newer 2009 model onwards (GRX13*), you can convert it to manual 6 speed using conversion kit from SARD, costing almost rm25k. :driver:

Supra_Fanatics;1064445317 A friend of mine has the Polo and told me is underpower said:
Affordable for those who can afford it. [/B]

I think you need to go test drive the Polo yourself to judge....sometimes people's comment even owners better take them with a pinch of salt....unless he/she is really knowledgeable on cars.

Ya, you can afford Altis mah....so cheap for you to play...not like me driving Proton....I can't afford Altis....very expensive...

You better focus on maintaining the engine 1st don't jump so high until change the internal parts....internal parts not cheap you know.....but nvm you can afford it....

I see. I've heard about the shift up when it reaches the rev limit but at first I thought at least you can hold it near the red line area for at least a few seconds or so. But for the downshift during low speed, I din't know about that one.

u can hold the rev near the red line but u cant go full throttle as once u touch the magical rev, it will upshift and u cant downshift back unless u slow your car more to like circa 4k rpm before u can force a downshift....
so to "hold" or rather hover around the red line/before shift point, basically u need to play with the throttle (throttle and if gets too close to upshift point, release and let the rev drop a lil then throttle again, then release, then throttle, then release...)
:stupid:

defeat the purpose as compared to full throttle and you bounce of the rev cut...

I think you need to go test drive the Polo yourself to judge....sometimes people's comment even owners better take them with a pinch of salt....unless he/she is really knowledgeable on cars.

Ya, you can afford Altis mah....so cheap for you to play...not like me driving Proton....I can't afford Altis....very expensive...

You better focus on maintaining the engine 1st don't jump so high until change the internal parts....internal parts not cheap you know.....but nvm you can afford it....

You still have ct200h and grandis also a 4x4 :rolleyes:
Me poor till altis only stock. :bawling:

its the programming of the TCU/software..

i know previous mazda 3 and civic FD2 is able to bounce against the rev cut...

yup...

My VR manual but engine got speed cut then friend pass to me speed limit defender but did not fit in as I seldom go pass 190kph.... :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:52 PM ----------

Could have done that with the transplant $$$....:bawling:

---------- Post added at 01:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:53 PM ----------

My jetta using 1zz-fe. :biggrin:
208 also have problems when bought new by vr2turbo's friend.

208? tak dak, friend bought also 206 but re-badge one called Naza.....:driver:
But the 208GTi do look awesome....:burnout:

My VR manual but engine got speed cut then friend pass to me speed limit defender but did not fit in as I seldom go pass 190kph.... :biggrin:

---------- Post added at 01:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:52 PM ----------

Could have done that with the transplant $$$....:bawling:

---------- Post added at 01:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:53 PM ----------

208? tak dak, friend bought also 206 but re-badge one called Naza.....:driver:
But the 208GTi do look awesome....:burnout:

Ya man, might as well use the money to transplant than overhaul with aftermarket parts. :adore: