Choices of cars to buy?

RM100k and brand new car. Which one would you choose?

• VW Polo Sedan 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Kia Forte 2.0

• Ford Focus Sedan 1.8

• Nissan Sylphy 2.0

• Toyota Vios 1.5

• Chery Eastar 2.0

• Mazda 2 Sedan

• Total voters
113 WHP...
GT Auto Dyno-jet...

Torque is a cute 125-ish NM...

no wonder my kancil is faster then the elantra...
:biggrin:

Well that's very close to what my initial prediction of 112.5HP which is about 25% drive train loss. A good one would probably loss only around 20% which comes out to about 120whp if 150hp at engine. Otherwise the engine is actually only producing around 140hp hence with 20% loss comes out to 113whp. :D

Tiara...one of the failure cars...:rofl: No value until some rather just left it abandoned beside the road.

Agree with you. :rofl: Most funny thing is. it has an analogue clock at the place where the RPM is suppose to be. Who came out with that design anyway.

Their idea of controlling even the service and repair.....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 09:35 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:34 AM ----------

Why not? P1 go and re-badged such an old car......:banghead:

Controlling service and repair but that seems to give much trouble to customers.

Well that's very close to what my initial prediction of 112.5HP which is about 25% drive train loss. A good one would probably loss only around 20% which comes out to about 120whp if 150hp at engine. Otherwise the engine is actually only producing around 140hp hence with 20% loss comes out to 113whp. :D

Drive train loss would be more in auto than manual right?

Proton Suprima S 1.6T
Mazda 3 2.0 hatchback
Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback 2.4
Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback
Volkswagen Golf 1.4T
Peugeot 308 1.6T

Which one is the best best among all this hatches, in-terms of price, performance & reliability.

Polo under power one wor...:listen:
where you get that source??

Ya, guess I have to try to change some old parts in the 8 year old Jetta engine so that it will perform not 100% new but close as new.

Felt the difference after changing the coils. Never felt better. Elantra seems slower to me if compared to the Kia Forte with 155hp if not wrong?
Time to fully overhaul your Altis....

Used to be at least for conventional auto, but I think for newer cars with all those sophisticated technology should be as efficient already now, especially in the higher end cars.

website and brouchere listed 150 HP...
LOL

traditional torque converter auto's yes... they lost alot to the torque converter...
then came lock-up clutch, early lockup etc to minimize the power lost...

skyactiv is a good example of early lockup for a torque converter...
BMW ZF 8-Speed is also another superb example... hehe

Used to be at least for conventional auto, but I think for newer cars with all those sophisticated technology should be as efficient already now, especially in the higher end cars.

betul correct betul...

website and brouchere listed 150 HP...
LOL

traditional torque converter auto's yes... they lost alot to the torque converter...
then came lock-up clutch, early lockup etc to minimize the power lost...

skyactiv is a good example of early lockup for a torque converter...
BMW ZF 8-Speed is also another superb example... hehe

betul correct betul...

But now most high end cars use semi auto or double clutch which I think is rather similar to manual transmission. But about weight, manual is still lighter. How about power loss in CVT?

Proton Suprima S 1.6T
Mazda 3 2.0 hatchback
Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback
Volkswagen Golf 1.4T
Peugeot 308 1.6T

Which one is the best best among all this hatches, in-terms of price, performance & reliability.

308 is the least u want!
I would chose either Lancer sportback or Suprima but the lancer is 2.4!

But now most high end cars use semi auto or double clutch which I think is rather similar to manual transmission. But about weight, manual is still lighter. How about power loss in CVT?

in my opinion, i think power loss in transmission is really depending on how/what is being used in the transmission and how it is configured/programmed...

of course how the engine is run-in also plays a part...
but if all engine being equal, then my statements above holds more weight...

certain CVT like those in the Audi A4 1.8 has very little power loss, almost matching the loss % of pure manual gearboxes...

semi auto can also be torque converter/dual clutch as semi auto is one of the terms used to describe automatics tranny with manual over-ride... :biggrin:

actually with the advancement of technology, the weight penalty of auto/dual-clutch tranny is very close to manual boxes...

in my opinion, i think power loss in transmission is really depending on how/what is being used in the transmission and how it is configured/programmed...

of course how the engine is run-in also plays a part...
but if all engine being equal, then my statements above holds more weight...

certain CVT like those in the Audi A4 1.8 has very little power loss, almost matching the loss % of pure manual gearboxes...

semi auto can also be torque converter/dual clutch as semi auto is one of the terms used to describe automatics tranny with manual over-ride... :biggrin:

actually with the advancement of technology, the weight penalty of auto/dual-clutch tranny is very close to manual boxes...

But there are two types of semi auto right? Some torque converter ones with manual mode are also called semi auto but there are also some semi auto with clutch like those found in BMW SMG transmission. But for now, I still think manual is more powerful especially around the track. I've watched a comparison video of Lancer Evolution X before and the one with manual had won over the one with double clutch transmission.

actually the semi auto is a term....
so dont matter if the transmission uses clutch or torque converter...

its just another term, like tip-tronic... marketing ma....
throw in some bombastic word and people will think... wahhhhhh so high tech...
:banghead:

u seen the drag video where a golf GTI manual vs golf GTI with DSG, both driven by Keiichi Tsuchiya...
even with his shifting skills, he can't get the manual GTI to beat the DSG equipped GTI..
but that is straight line la...

video for your reference..
Drift King Test Golf GTI (DSG vs 6spd Manual) - YouTube

so it depends,
humans can never shift faster then what technology like DSG/Dual-clutch can do...
humans might be able to match the shift speed of conventional torque converter gearbox...

where as in tracks where there is turns involved, a pure manual will still be better as u can have full control of the gear u wanted to be in, (example, u can force downshift even if u know the rev is still too high, u can bounce against the rev cut when u are in "no-man's land" etc) as compared to a DSG/Auto because the DSG/Auto TCU/software is programmed to upshift once u hit certain rev's etc to protect the gearbox...

of course u can remap the software but this comes at a risk of saying early good-bye to the gearbox

actually the semi auto is a term....
so dont matter if the transmission uses clutch or torque converter...

its just another term, like tip-tronic... marketing ma....
throw in some bombastic word and people will think... wahhhhhh so high tech...
:banghead:

u seen the drag video where a golf GTI manual vs golf GTI with DSG, both driven by Keiichi Tsuchiya...
even with his shifting skills, he can't get the manual GTI to beat the DSG equipped GTI..
but that is straight line la...

video for your reference..
Drift King Test Golf GTI (DSG vs 6spd Manual) - YouTube

so it depends,
humans can never shift faster then what technology like DSG/Dual-clutch can do...
humans might be able to match the shift speed of conventional torque converter gearbox...

where as in tracks where there is turns involved, a pure manual will still be better as u can have full control of the gear u wanted to be in, (example, u can force downshift even if u know the rev is still too high, u can bounce against the rev cut when u are in "no-man's land" etc) as compared to a DSG/Auto because the DSG/Auto TCU/software is programmed to upshift once u hit certain rev's etc to protect the gearbox...

of course u can remap the software but this comes at a risk of saying early good-bye to the gearbox

Oh.... But the one I watched is this. Double clutch really lose badly.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X - The Battle - Best MOTORing (Japanese) - YouTube

Proton Suprima S 1.6T
Mazda 3 2.0 hatchback
Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback
Volkswagen Golf 1.4T
Peugeot 308 1.6T

Con9lan7firm not the Peugeot 308, unless you like to leave your car in SC a lot and love paying through your nose for repairs and maintenance after warranty.

Ford Focus if you like to make booking for service 1 month in advance, it is the perfect car for that.

Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback if you feel rich and like to pay Malaysia government more money every year for roadtax.

Golf, I don't know, that's very little car for a lot of money.

Mazda 3 wait for the new one with skyactiv engine

Supamaniam Campro 1.6.. good value for money if you don't mind dealing with Proton SC..which suck.

Oh.... But the one I watched is this. Double clutch really lose badly.

Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X - The Battle - Best MOTORing (Japanese) - YouTube

Actually - that video doesn't really factor in that the EvoX is the heaviest car there. That Evo 9 is light and has more power to weight compared to the X and the same goes for the others. DSG is great in all honesty but it's too heavy compared to predecessor cars. But if compared to other DSG and cars on the same 'grade', I think it's bang for buck.

nyne said:
Proton Suprima S 1.6T
Mazda 3 2.0 hatchback
Ford Focus 2.0 Hatchback
Volkswagen Golf 1.4T
Peugeot 308 1.6T

Suprima is based on the nearly bullet proof Preve. Only issue is the QA for Proton cars is terrible and the number of cars that have problems out from the factory is higher compared to other brands. But haven't said that nothing the warranty doesn't cover. Nice car to zip around in but the boot is pathetically shaped. Big but shaped in such a way it can't fit my stroller lying down.

Mazda 3.0 Hatch - nice car. Small rear seats and legroom. And 3 alphabets for you : M-P-S :biggrin:

Lancer Sportsback 2.4 looks real good. Saw the ralliart one and was pretty awesome looking. Never driven this car can't really comment.

Ford Focus - Awesome car. Be careful to buy the local CKD one. CBU tends to have different spare parts or support or something. For some reason it costs more to maintain.

Volkwagon Golf 1.4 is a pretty neat car. Only bad thing is the forever breaking DSG gearbox.

Avoid Peugeots like the plague.

oh this...

this just re-inforce my point where in tracks, pure manual is better right as u got total control on what gear u want to be in or hold your gears... that is why u see manual overtaking the evo SST just like that...
hehehe...

But I thought DSG have manual override and you can stay in the gear that you wanted?

Actually - that video doesn't really factor in that the EvoX is the heaviest car there. That Evo 9 is light and has more power to weight compared to the X and the same goes for the others. DSG is great in all honesty but it's too heavy compared to predecessor cars. But if compared to other DSG and cars on the same 'grade', I think it's bang for buck.

Suprima is based on the nearly bullet proof Preve. Only issue is the QA for Proton cars is terrible and the number of cars that have problems out from the factory is higher compared to other brands. But haven't said that nothing the warranty doesn't cover. Nice car to zip around in but the boot is pathetically shaped. Big but shaped in such a way it can't fit my stroller lying down.

Mazda 3.0 Hatch - nice car. Small rear seats and legroom. And 3 alphabets for you : M-P-S :biggrin:

Lancer Sportsback 2.4 looks real good. Saw the ralliart one and was pretty awesome looking. Never driven this car can't really comment.

Ford Focus - Awesome car. Be careful to buy the local CKD one. CBU tends to have different spare parts or support or something. For some reason it costs more to maintain.

Volkwagon Golf 1.4 is a pretty neat car. Only bad thing is the forever breaking DSG gearbox.

Avoid Peugeots like the plague.

The weird thing in the earlier video is, even with heavier weight, that GTI still manage to pull ahead of other cars with better power to weight ratio. :hmmmm: Or it is just the problem with Mitsubishi's TC-SST technology being not as good as VW's DSG?

Peugeot is getting popular lately. Even one of the active members over here owns a Peugeot 206 if you know who I mean. :biggrin: