Choices of cars to buy?

RM100k and brand new car. Which one would you choose?

• VW Polo Sedan 1.6

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Kia Forte 2.0

• Ford Focus Sedan 1.8

• Nissan Sylphy 2.0

• Toyota Vios 1.5

• Chery Eastar 2.0

• Mazda 2 Sedan

• Total voters
TR,
heard only the 2.0 wish had gbox problems (with wheel arches), the 1.8 seems ok no complaints so far.

FrouFrou,
i would have gotten the mazda 6 2.0, but since its still new therefore not much discounts. that car was top of my list.

I recommend one of my friend who have been driving 1st Gen Vios for 10 years. He wanted to upgrade to either Audi A4 or Audi A6 Hybrid (280K before extra tax implemented).

I told him why not consider Mazda 6 2.5L as well?

He said he is not sure about the Skyactiv technology because is still new. But so far no complaints right? :hmmmm:

Ok point taken. So only have to pay expensive road tax then. Damn, i dont know buying a car can be so stressful. :banghead:

Buy a Toyota Camry, 2L or 2.4L up to your tastes of roadtax and power delivery. Alternatively, the Honda.

Why these 2 over Mazda?
1. Spare parts, plenty
2. Service centers, plenty

Imagine driving a Mazda, you call to make appointment for service they tell you next month. Or, a rock hit your windscreen and they tell you have to wait a week to order. The Toyota and Honda would have ready stock anytime. What I am trying to say, compared to T&H, Mazda will lose out a bit in comparison in terms of parts and service.

That being said, the Mazda 6 with the Skyactiv engine is the better car, both technically and physically.

The T&H is the more practical choice, the Mazda 6 is the more lifestyle choice - where you sacrifice a little for a bit more style.

I know I'll choose the Mazda 6, its a bloody no brainer. Toyota is old and gold - technically its the same engine since year 2000, so you're buying an old car with a new "skin" so to speak. The Honda, only the 2.4L is the new Earth Dreams engine, and the 2L variant is just an old engine, don't know how old. The Mazda Skyactiv engine is ~2012 design. So its the latest and greatest.

I don't feel Toyota being a bargain, but it is a solid choice and its reliable. The REASON why it is reliable because it is old and proven. Even when the Altis with the "new" Dual VVT-i engine was launched in 2010, the Dual VVT-i technology was already developed in 1998.

So in the end... its a compromise.

TR,
heard only the 2.0 wish had gbox problems (with wheel arches), the 1.8 seems ok no complaints so far.

FrouFrou,
i would have gotten the mazda 6 2.0, but since its still new therefore not much discounts. that car was top of my list.

Danz, the 2nd Gen Wish imported by grey importer be it 1.8 or 2L also using the same 7 speeder....which Wish are we talking 1st...Hahaha

Okay on second thought, Mazda 6 ain't that good anymore. All iz good but the seating position has got the Proton syndrome.

The seat doesn't align with steering wheel. Just sat in it just now in OU.

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.

Okay on second thought, Mazda 6 ain't that good anymore. All iz good but the seating position has got the Proton syndrome.

Not aligned like how? Vertically or horizontally?

---------- Post added at 09:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 PM ----------

Ok point taken. So only have to pay expensive road tax then. Damn, i dont know buying a car can be so stressful. :banghead:

Aiyo, got so much money to spend, still stressful!?

Not aligned like how? Vertically or horizontally?

---------- Post added at 09:11 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:04 PM ----------

Aiyo, got so much money to spend, still stressful!?

Okay, when u drive, u will look straight to the steering wheel center logo right?
In this case, when I look straight, the steering wheel is to the right, or maybe seat is to the left.

Okay, when u drive, u will look straight to the steering wheel center logo right?
In this case, when I look straight, the steering wheel is to the right, or maybe seat is to the left.

Wah really? That's weird, first time I hear that in any car.

Dafak??

Seriously? I am sure Mazda has got a very good reason for that. Even Toyota gave a reason for the centre dash.

Nope. Many Protons has these. Just recently it is addressed in the later models. Preve.
Even Paul Tan mentioned it before.

Inspira don't have. Oh..wait.. that's not really a Proton :hmmmm:

FrouFrou: (why the name? :hmmmm: nvm) :biggrin

If you want, you can head to KLCC as we'll. Toyota is having a roadshow for Vios, Prius c and Camry there. 2 days passed for now. Tomorrow will be the 3rd. Or u can go to KLIMS. They are featuring lots of cars including new models...and hot models...:love:

Seriously? I am sure Mazda has got a very good reason for that. Even Toyota gave a reason for the centre dash.

Inspira don't have. Oh..wait.. that's not really a Proton :hmmmm:

U go sit in it and see. What Toyota's reason? Which model?

I sat there for 2-3 minutes. The moment i sat on it. I felt it.

Asker want low maintenance wor.

2.5 wont be more maintenance?

And the other day, i simply go take out my friends service booklet. I see LSD oil. Am I thinking what im thinking?

Dude, he never really specified what is "low". And as I've pointed out, you pay for what you get. Don't expect sub-RM300 service bills for a Mazda 6. But then again - the car isn't a 60k car is it?

Ok so based on earlier posts, i have concluded that continental cars are a big no-no and my best bet would be all those japs cars. That surely narrowed my choice down, which is great so i dont really have to test drive so many cars. I just read in the papers that mazda is having a roadshow at one u. Best to check it out. I saw free car insurance and road tax and can even get swiss watch worth 2500 if book mazda 6 there. Top of my head now is mazda 6. Disappointed though for limited accessories for 2.0 version. The price for 2.5 is a bit steep if you ask me but if the maintenance is comparable with honda or toyota, it is worth buying. What do you guys think?

I dont think my wife would approve me buying performance car. Chick magnet car is a big no-no for me. *Sigh* though it would be nice to have one

What is your definition of a chick magnet? I've never seen any guy get lucky with a Nissan GTR35. But with a Porsche, Ferrari and Lambo, they come to you like flies and a dead piece of meat.

Anyway, what sort of accessories do you want for the Mazzer 6? It's pretty complete man. The last time I went for a test drive I had two greater than 100kg friends tag along and I was driving. The big fellas at the back. The sales man said "You see that speedbump? Don't slow down and just drive"

I was like : Are you freaking :stupid:

He said : Don't worry, just do it :proud:

So I did. And the big fellas behind (and me) barely even felt the bump. The car just did a magic carpet over the bump like it was nothing and even cornering and powering out of the corner was bloody unbelievable with the close to 400kg combined weight of the passengers.

It's a good car. Buy the Mazzer.

Personally - I think you have a bent spinal cord. :biggrin: No seriously - you're right. It's slightly off center but so is my Wira. So I didn't really mind it. The Gen2 on the other hand was more extreme and I didn't like that. Anyway, did you try adjusting the steering? It's telescopic and has quite a lot of movement. I like the driving position. Not as ideal as say the Swift Sport but hell.. that's a different genre of car.

Dude, he never really specified what is "low". And as I've pointed out, you pay for what you get. Don't expect sub-RM300 service bills for a Mazda 6. But then again - the car isn't a 60k car is it?

What is your definition of a chick magnet? I've never seen any guy get lucky with a Nissan GTR35. But with a Porsche, Ferrari and Lambo, they come to you like flies and a dead piece of meat.

Anyway, what sort of accessories do you want for the Mazzer 6? It's pretty complete man. The last time I went for a test drive I had two greater than 100kg friends tag along and I was driving. The big fellas at the back. The sales man said "You see that speedbump? Don't slow down and just drive"

I was like : Are you freaking :stupid:

He said : Don't worry, just do it :proud:

So I did. And the big fellas behind (and me) barely even felt the bump. The car just did a magic carpet over the bump like it was nothing and even cornering and powering out of the corner was bloody unbelievable with the close to 400kg combined weight of the passengers.

It's a good car. Buy the Mazzer.

Personally - I think you have a bent spinal cord. :biggrin: No seriously - you're right. It's slightly off center but so is my Wira. So I didn't really mind it. The Gen2 on the other hand was more extreme and I didn't like that. Anyway, did you try adjusting the steering? It's telescopic and has quite a lot of movement. I like the driving position. Not as ideal as say the Swift Sport but hell.. that's a different genre of car.

Wow, the suspension part just wow. Its the luxurious car performance dy weh.
Yah, the most extreme one is Gen 2. Which, Persona is based on.

Hahahah GTR is a sausage magnet bro. Froufrou. Hmm, cute name.

I tried adjusting but no, it only goes up and down. I let you try one day.

Ok so i went to 1u yesterday and placed a booking for mazda 6. And i didnt really noticed the off-alignment of the steering. So there are 2 batches of cbu cars. December 2013 and april 2014. I think april 2014 is a more obvious choice. Is it?

Yes April better.

Do share your thought process and why you decided to place booking for it? We are interested to know how our comments played a role in your decision, and what you felt was important information.

LOL! Macam Mazda aftersales service. :laugh:

Unless they have huge discounts for the December 2013 then might worth considering. If not then April 2014 surely better. If not will consider 1 year old car even bought in December if recall correctly.

LOL! Macam Mazda aftersales service. :laugh:

Nope, I want to know how come he placed a booking after few days of discussion, whereas the guy who started this topic haven't bought squat for months. cabutz :burnout:

Sent from my iPhone 8 using Tapatalk.