imitation rims - are they really not reliable at all?

215/45R17 still okay leh! Nowadays many car make and model comes as standard fitment.....:biggrin:

I'm old uncle already la, cannot take much bumps anymore! Long time ago for several yrs I used 195/50 which is about the same sidewall with 215/45, had enough already la. Now this fragile body & bones need more cushion! :biggrin:

Unless if I won the lottery and can buy those supercars. :biggrin:

I'm old uncle already la, cannot take much bumps anymore! Long time ago for several yrs I used 195/50 which is about the same sidewall with 215/45, had enough already la. Now this fragile body & bones need more cushion! :biggrin:

Unless if I won the lottery and can buy those supercars. :biggrin:

You old?:biggrin:

If you guys think that using taiwan copies are good, by all means go ahead. Its your life.

The problem with low quality stuff/imitation and replica is that there is no R&D and also loose quality control. Sure, probably only 2 - 3 out of 10 wheels they sell will have defect and may break, but I don't want to the the poor guy who bought the defect purely because of bad luck.

I mean it's only your life, right?

So if you think the cost saving is worth the risk, go ahead.

I'll choose to stay with ori wheels until I cannot afford them, in which case, i would use steelies.

Sometimes I wonder if the imitation/replica rim users don't complain because they got the defect copy and died.

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

If you guys think that using taiwan copies are good, by all means go ahead. Its your life.

The problem with low quality stuff/imitation and replica is that there is no R&D and also loose quality control. Sure, probably only 2 - 3 out of 10 wheels they sell will have defect and may break, but I don't want to the the poor guy who bought the defect purely because of bad luck.

I mean it's only your life, right?

So if you think the cost saving is worth the risk, go ahead.

I'll choose to stay with ori wheels until I cannot afford them, in which case, i would use steelies.

Sometimes I wonder if the imitation/replica rim users don't complain because they got the defect copy and died.

Hahaha, it's ok bro, if you are more worried then just use Japan/Euro rims for your piece of mind.

Btw like I've said earlier, I used Taiwan & Phillipine made rims for don't know how many years (surely >20yrs) in much harsher condition than here and I still survive, but again they're probably not fakes but genuine Taiwan/Phillipine brands or licensed (like Enkei). :) Only in this last year since I got the budget then I bought ori forged Japanese rims.

Depends on how harsh one views his usage I guess. Mine is constantly used to travel up and down north and south of Malaysia, due to my work, and I've seen many2 accidents and most of them probably will never know the cause, but some of them I saw the spokes broken, so just cautioning all of you. If you drive in town, the speeds are relatively low, and if you hit a pothole or kerb, its not usually the same like hitting a pothole or bump at highway speeds.

But I also realised most of us just drive car to work and meet clients and don't dare buy rims that cost 1/4th of our car prices.

one thing I wish is that the local authorities set a safety standard for wheels (and tires too)

But I also understand the cost issue, because tires are friggin expensive now, and compared to the safety risk of the wheel vs. tires, tires pose a bigger risk, esp. those dubious brands.

But in the end, money talks right?

Depends on how harsh one views his usage I guess. Mine is constantly used to travel up and down north and south of Malaysia, due to my work, and I've seen many2 accidents and most of them probably will never know the cause, but some of them I saw the spokes broken, so just cautioning all of you. If you drive in town, the speeds are relatively low, and if you hit a pothole or kerb, its not usually the same like hitting a pothole or bump at highway speeds.

But I also realised most of us just drive car to work and meet clients and don't dare buy rims that cost 1/4th of our car prices.

one thing I wish is that the local authorities set a safety standard for wheels (and tires too)

But I also understand the cost issue, because tires are friggin expensive now, and compared to the safety risk of the wheel vs. tires, tires pose a bigger risk, esp. those dubious brands.

But in the end, money talks right?

Well I used to drive in Jakarta where even the highways can be rough and can have potholes, and on average I drive faster than probably 97% of the public! But yeah, I guess it also trained my eyes to spot them, my reflexes to avoid those, and my brain to memorize their locations. :biggrin:

Yeah it's about money, whether you think the extra $$$$ is worth it. I'd personally would just buy again Taiwan rims if later comes time to change tires for my other cheaper car (Livina). Even my forged rims I bought it used, no way I'm gonna spend so much on a new one! :biggrin:

Fakes do hurt the industry, butmost people would actually opt for ori if they are cheaper, but with the prices now, naturally people would go for fakes.

But for peace of mind, I'll stick with ori, even if I have to buy them used. It also takes a bit of skill to notice a damaged used wheel and a good one, and not everyone can do that.

this one unker really geng woh...powered by youth inside :biggrin: :driver:

Old also must young at heart mah.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:55 AM ----------

Hahaha, but seriously, I'm old uncle already now. :biggrin:
Yeah maybe sometime we can get together. But scared lor, of all your fast turbos!

Old school turbo where can fast nowadays...All those new TSi are fast....:biggrin:
Free come meet up yamcha....

Fakes do hurt the industry, butmost people would actually opt for ori if they are cheaper, but with the prices now, naturally people would go for fakes.

But for peace of mind, I'll stick with ori, even if I have to buy them used. It also takes a bit of skill to notice a damaged used wheel and a good one, and not everyone can do that.

personally i'm using ori wheels for much harsher condition than daily work... (for rally it is)

but since for daily stuck on traffic jams and even on open highways my speed only average 100km/h and not more than 140km/h for some rare overtaking speed......those replica would served just fine....atleast i'm using close to factory sized wheel.... (+1 size only) so no need to worry much...

for those who opt +3/+4 size then i think it would be a different game of guess.....

personally i'm using ori wheels for much harsher condition than daily work... (for rally it is)

but since for daily stuck on traffic jams and even on open highways my speed only average 100km/h and not more than 140km/h for some rare overtaking speed......those replica would served just fine....atleast i'm using close to factory sized wheel.... (+1 size only) so no need to worry much...

for those who opt +3/+4 size then i think it would be a different game of guess.....

i wonder what would happen if you used imitation wheel for rally. would they last?

I agree with normal driving not requiring rim strength, but I wonder how imitation would fare as a rallycross wheel.

i wonder what would happen if you used imitation wheel for rally. would they last?

I agree with normal driving not requiring rim strength, but I wonder how imitation would fare as a rallycross wheel.

Forget about rally.

I used to have a set of JRD copies of god-knows-what rim (the seller was enthusiastic about the design) and they dented and bent on two different rims after 3 months of driving around KL roads. Didn't discover the dents until I complained to the shop why my car was vibrating that bad.

You really have to have luck when buying replicas. Or brains. Don't bother with rubbish brands and at the very least go for reputable brands.

for sure those imitation coudln't withstand the impact...where even oz rally version having a huge dent after kerbing a bridge...(that with super still sidewall+thick rally tyre)

on the same case i would say those imitation (if got the same design wheel as the oz rally version) it confirm bent more than the ori wheel....

my friend's wira aeroback the original 13" jrd wheel normal use also bent on all for...vibrate2....

btw...current replica wheel's design really tempting worrr...hard to resist :driver:

Just to share my own experience:

1. JRD - easily dented/bent
2. Imitation O.Z. Superturismo - OK, heavy
3. P1 Buddy Club original Japan - my favourite choice. I've used 2 sets of this on 2 different cars. Dented one piece during normal road use - surprisingly.
4. Black Racing RS8 original Japan - OK
5. RS Watanabe original Japan - OK
6. Imitation Spoon SW888 - OK, balances well. Have used 2 sets on 2 different cars - one set supposedly by unnamed Taiwan company, another set K-Speed.
7. Honda Integra DC2 Type R stock original Japan - OK. Once 2 tyres punctured during one JB-Shah Alam journey. Wheel survived without dent.
8. Enkei WRC Tarmac Evo original Japan - broke one spoke
9. Imitation Black Racing RS8 - by K-Speed for K car. OK

That's all I can remember.

using imi buddy club p1 sf for almost 6 years to my satria 93
still working...little scratch and bent ...n than no other issuel

Just to share my own experience:

1. JRD - easily dented/bent
2. Imitation O.Z. Superturismo - OK, heavy
3. P1 Buddy Club original Japan - my favourite choice. I've used 2 sets of this on 2 different cars. Dented one piece during normal road use - surprisingly.
4. Black Racing RS8 original Japan - OK
5. RS Watanabe original Japan - OK
6. Imitation Spoon SW888 - OK, balances well. Have used 2 sets on 2 different cars - one set supposedly by unnamed Taiwan company, another set K-Speed.
7. Honda Integra DC2 Type R stock original Japan - OK. Once 2 tyres punctured during one JB-Shah Alam journey. Wheel survived without dent.
8. Enkei WRC Tarmac Evo original Japan - broke one spoke
9. Imitation Black Racing RS8 - by K-Speed for K car. OK

That's all I can remember.

nice, thats a long list.

I am on the classic design P1 currently as well, and I've bent all four of em. due to the spoke design, all the bent areas are on the inside of the wheels/rims.

I too would say the P1 Buddy Club is not very strong compared to some other rims.

EK9 ori wheels (by enkei?) are the strongest I've tried I think. I've even had an accident where the drain cover fell and I hit the drain hard enough to puncture the tire.

The wheel not even out of round!

MugebMF10, Volks TE37, and CE28 for me has strong spokes, but lips are weak. They don't go out of round easily, but the lips don't like getting kerbed

classic TE37 (the one with straight spokes) is strong but its also heavy. would probably still use it if it was a 5 lugs tho. I like the way it makes +38 look like negative offset.

nice, thats a long list.

I am on the classic design P1 currently as well, and I've bent all four of em. due to the spoke design, all the bent areas are on the inside of the wheels/rims.

I too would say the P1 Buddy Club is not very strong compared to some other rims.

A classic example that not every 'authentic' Japan wheels are strong.

I love it just because it's relatively light, looks concave-ish and retain it's value if I decided to sell it later. Also... I can boast to others that they are 'original'.

I don't subscribe to the teachings that everything out of Japan is good, and everything else is rubbish.

Look at the description:
"The Buddy club P1 Racing wheel has globally reached legendary iconic status and is a true Buddy club classic, original in both design and function. The P-1 Racing wheel uses an extreme casting process in order to produce the best combination of strength and lightweight and the original 6 spoke design allows the maximum effect of brake heat dissipation while maintaining great strength."
http://www.buddyclub.com.au/2007/p1r/p1r_content.html

'Extreme casting process'? Hahaha. And Enkei call it MAT.

I bet if I name a casting process after the Japanese god of thunder people will say - OK, that's the best.