Which SUV Better For Me?

Its down to individual preference. For a rev junk, I'll stay away from diesel as its redline is about 2k rpm earlier than petrol. Ie: 4.5k rpm for most diesel engine and 6.k for petrol engine. Then again, gearing are tailored to suit the heavier weight. So we may seen earlier red line for some petrol powered SUV which is in the region of 5.5k.
If FC is the concern, diesel based SUV is the right choice. The availability of big torque at low rpm also makes overtaking a breeze.

The best way to determine the most suitable ride for ourselves is by going for a test drive off the shortlisted SUV. Who knows, you may strike a chemistry and bond with the car during test drive which makes choosing even easier. Having said that, I kinda like the vacuum door feel on certain Madza offering.
High compression engine like CX-5 with Skyactiv tech return low FC and the not so boxer growl of XV makes it easier to
choose one based on our preference!
On paper, CX-5 has higher power output but the XV made up for having lesser kerb weight. The good looking XV is also powered by the subaru's own CVT gearbox used in their other car offering. But I don't fancy CVT that much anyway. More of a personal opinion.
And the final piece : interior, again, the Mazda CX-5's interior looks more upmarket with more streamline dashboard curves compare to the XV. You gotta spend most of the time on the steering and a dull interior is definitely a turn off!

how about Mitsubishi ASX Euro CBU?

Price is about RM7k more than standard variant but you got the premium features on Euro, right?
If am not mistaken, the car's weight and power output is slotted between the XV and CX-5(4wd) but I feel the car is quite sluggish during a test drive. Perhaps, a trashed test drive car :biggrin:.

Any ASX owner can give a better feedback?

Btw, Forester 2.0awd is sharing the same engine with XV but with a more conservative 4 speed transmission while pricing is touching RM155k. correct me if am wrong as those are the figures
I compile while helping relatives choosing an SUV few months back.

So AbuSamahIbrahim , have you decided?

ha! ha! you test so many cars also not decided, he just read from forum expect him to decide already......:biggrin:

He has the easier job of choosing between a scooby, a mazda and possibly a mitsu. 3 cars only with a relatively bigger budget!

If I had that budget I would've straight gone for the Mazda 6 2.5L. Forget that stupid Almera

Saw the CX-5 again yesterday. After looking at it. I think CX-5 design is more modern
and the curve on the car is better. Seems bigger as well.

He has the easier job of choosing between a scooby, a mazda and possibly a mitsu. 3 cars only with a relatively bigger budget!

If I had that budget I would've straight gone for the Mazda 6 2.5L. Forget that stupid Almera

With RM173K you could get a CKD 1.8L Turbocharged Passat with 160PS for RM170K adi.
Then you can totally smoke kcng's "Altis" :rofl:

But you have more experience and know more of the cars, and I think that is the problem knows too much.....hahahahahhahhahahhahhahhahahhahaha:rofl::rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:04 AM ----------

Saw the CX-5 again yesterday. After looking at it. I think CX-5 design is more modern
and the curve on the car is better. Seems bigger as well.

With RM173K you could get a CKD 1.8L Turbocharged Passat with 160PS for RM170K adi.
Then you can totally smoke kcng's "Altis" :rofl:

With RM170k budget I will get a Vios and a City, one each for my kids, then they don't have to fight over my old Sonata.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:06 AM ----------

If you r looking for fuel efficiency,technology and good ride quality go for CX-5.They are also offering 3 year free maintenance

If your looking for All Wheel drive and powerful engine,good for Subaru XV

Both are good cars,u need to decide what u want

Cheers

Looks like CX-5 is the clear winner......:biggrin:

But you have more experience and know more of the cars, and I think that is the problem knows too much.....hahahahahhahhahahhahhahhahahhahaha:rofl::rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:04 AM ----------

With RM170k budget I will get a Vios and a City, one each for my kids, then they don't have to fight over my old Sonata.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:06 AM ----------

NO need la, one take your Sonata, and son take your VR2 :rofl:
Get yourself a new car. At least reward yourself 1st. Let the kids depends on themselves to earn
their own money. :smile:

NO need la, one take your Sonata, and son take your VR2 :rofl:
Get yourself a new car. At least reward yourself 1st. Let the kids depends on themselves to earn
their own money. :smile:

Then actually save some money, because have Scooby in mine version 8.....:driver::rofl:

I aim for Version 10 :biggrin: The best design ever from Subaru for WRX STi.
All the while never like their design until the version 10 came.

Btw, TS, your answer is here. Get Mazda CX-5

So AbuSamahIbrahim , have you decided?

i still in a job. out from Msia. so read the specialist from u guys first. then when i'm home, i can test drive which ever cars u guys suggested. thanks.

---------- Post added at 06:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:29 PM ----------

But both of them are CKD. Bermaz versus TCM. read a lots of problem with Bermaz after buy & no idea bout TCM. ASX Euro should b nice also. Ford Kuga also good one. ASX & Kuga also CBU. i dun noe yet. read about ssangyong acyton & Rexton II. :banghead:

Here is a relative's hunting story : few months back, he ask me to shortlist few SUV below RM200k. I suggested few and went for a test drive together. He then made up his mind on the bulky Fortuner.
Few days later, an old friend of mine turn up in CX-7, I borrow his car, drive to my relative's house and let him drive to Cyberjaya.
The next day, he surprised me by placing his deposit on that very same model CX-7 which is about RM6xk more expensive.
And he loves every bit about the car!

I guess nothing beat a hands on experience!

unker vr...wat u waiting for? withdraw epf la....hehe....abit enuf la...:biggrin:

what's that skyactive about? something like Honda's hybrid?

Skyactive is like cylinder deactivation or something like that. Lower the power when you don't need it. Better FC

sir, waddaya think if i'm buying recondition Harrier 2.4 G? is it make sense? or it will make worst? hahah! the only SUV which I love the most is Harrier 2.4 G. but it's recondition. :confused:

Harrier is great but you have to be very careful about thieves. That's the number one stolen Toyota in Malaysia. Spend a lot on security, I can recommend if you do buy one.

unker vr...wat u waiting for? withdraw epf la....hehe....abit enuf la...:biggrin:

Cannot leh! EPF for retirement.....:rolleyes:

---------- Post added at 09:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:01 AM ----------

Here is a relative's hunting story : few months back, he ask me to shortlist few SUV below RM200k. I suggested few and went for a test drive together. He then made up his mind on the bulky Fortuner.
Few days later, an old friend of mine turn up in CX-7, I borrow his car, drive to my relative's house and let him drive to Cyberjaya.
The next day, he surprised me by placing his deposit on that very same model CX-7 which is about RM6xk more expensive.
And he loves every bit about the car!

I guess nothing beat a hands on experience!

Yup, best is to test drive.....

---------- Post added at 09:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:02 AM ----------

Skyactive is like cylinder deactivation or something like that. Lower the power when you don't need it. Better FC

Harrier is great but you have to be very careful about thieves. That's the number one stolen Toyota in Malaysia. Spend a lot on security, I can recommend if you do buy one.

Means like Honda Accord 3.0 V6. Read something about it like shut down 2 cylinders when cursing...:driver:

A few friends have Harrier also, but mostly the 3.0 model....

Withdraw all la, then only know whether the kids are the kids we expect all this while as good son and daughter :rofl:

Cannot leh! EPF for retirement.....:rolleyes:

Yup, best is to test drive.....

Means like Honda Accord 3.0 V6. Read something about it like shut down 2 cylinders when cursing...:driver:

A few friends have Harrier also, but mostly the 3.0 model....

Wah Accord V6 is a monster man. I know a guy who owns one and he remove the 3.0V6 emblem
and make it look like is a normal accord. Most do not know what hit them according to him :rofl:

EPF money for retirement is true, which is Subaru WRX Sti as retirement car :biggrin:

Withdraw all la, then only know whether the kids are the kids we expect all this while as good son and daughter :rofl:

Wah Accord V6 is a monster man. I know a guy who owns one and he remove the 3.0V6 emblem
and make it look like is a normal accord. Most do not know what hit them according to him :rofl:

EPF money for retirement is true, which is Subaru WRX Sti as retirement car :biggrin:

Yup, 3.0 will be terror, some more V6....:driver:

Subaru? then eat bread and plain water for the next how many years.......:biggrin:

Yup, 3.0 will be terror, some more V6....:driver:

Subaru? then eat bread and plain water for the next how many years.......:biggrin:

Plain water with lemon at least :rofl:

To me the best Looking SUV is still the Range Rover Evoque but real expensive.
Above TS's budget.