Myvi lagi best 1.5 engine???

aranny2001

hi to all myvian, im newbie here. now im considering about the myvi 1.5 SE. but after so much of study from the forum, alots of ppl said this 1.5 engine block was made of cast iron... it is true? cast iron compare with alloy block, what is the advantages and disadvantages? i thought cast iron is for old car only... and for the DVVT and VVT-i is different? some ppl said DVVT is mechanical while VVT-i is operate by computer.... :banghead:

p/s: pls dont shoot me as i really blur about this.... sorry, newbie :wavey:

does it matter if its cast iron or aluminum block? as long as the engine delivers sufficient power (for your usage) and its reliable.

The exact same engine used by Myvi 1.5, is used in the Toyota Passo Sette in Japan, and on the Toyota its called VVT-i. Does that answer your question? cheers.

does it matter if its cast iron or aluminum block? as long as the engine delivers sufficient power (for your usage) and its reliable.

The exact same engine used by Myvi 1.5, is used in the Toyota Passo Sette in Japan, and on the Toyota its called VVT-i. Does that answer your question? cheers.

cause cast iron is heavier? lol..... tend to rust?

If not mistaken, the pistons are made of aluminum alloy. Correct me if I were wrong.
And about DVVT and VVTI...the "some people" you referred...can buang lol...nowadays most engines are running electronically. Everything is controlled and monitored by the Engine Management System or Engine Control Unit. No exception for DVVT and VVTI and VTEC and CAMPRO and CVTC and whatsoever complicated technology lol

LoL.. Engine rust? Your engine is not covered with hoods and engine cover? I bought a 1.5 myvi 2 month back.. and all I can say its worth for the money.. 1.5 is very very powerful for a myvi as it pick ups from 0-100 in less than 10 second but the wind noise and unstable at over 130 km/h.. Anyway, when it really do rust.. I might take more than 10 years.. lol!!! Hope it help! Peace!

If not mistaken, the pistons are made of aluminum alloy. Correct me if I were wrong.
And about DVVT and VVTI...the "some people" you referred...can buang lol...nowadays most engines are running electronically. Everything is controlled and monitored by the Engine Management System or Engine Control Unit. No exception for DVVT and VVTI and VTEC and CAMPRO and CVTC and whatsoever complicated technology lol

i see i see... lol... thx for the info

---------- Post added at 11:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

LoL.. Engine rust? Your engine is not covered with hoods and engine cover? I bought a 1.5 myvi 2 month back.. and all I can say its worth for the money.. 1.5 is very very powerful for a myvi as it pick ups from 0-100 in less than 10 second but the wind noise and unstable at over 130 km/h.. Anyway, when it really do rust.. I might take more than 10 years.. lol!!! Hope it help! Peace!

that's the point, dunno when it will rust... lol.... i know 1.5 is very powerful, that's why i choose it.... anyway 10.0 :1 compression consider high compression engine?

10.0:1 compression ratio considered normal these days... and can run RON95 happily

---------- Post added at 11:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

that's the point, dunno when it will rust... lol.... i know 1.5 is very powerful, that's why i choose it.... anyway 10.0 :1 compression consider high compression engine?

Do you honestly think car manufacturers will make a car that's prone to rust? Especially when it comes to the engine block? The Wira engine block is made of cast iron and if you look at half cut shops and cars over 13 years of age, the block is the only thing in a Wira that is least prone to rusting.

Myvi 1.5 is a great car but it's shape doesn't allow for high speed runs, but hey.. who travels above 130km/h daily anyway? If you do then Myvi isn't for you.

Alloy engine block is of course lighter but cast iron block is stronger and can take more abuse, hence more preferred for turbocharged engines. Many car engines combine alloy head and iron block.
As for rust, no need to worry about it. I had cars with iron block for 10-20 yrs and still no rust at all!

Cast iron engine blocks were used in olden day cars, which would probably include your current car now. Aluminium block engines have only became common these days because it's lighter. All the old Protons used cast iron but they're still running fine now.

As for the camshaft operation i'm sure it's controlled by the ECU as all modern day cars are hence not mechanical.

Cast iron engine blocks were used in olden day cars, which would probably include your current car now. Aluminium block engines have only became common these days because it's lighter. All the old Protons used cast iron but they're still running fine now.

As for the camshaft operation i'm sure it's controlled by the ECU as all modern day cars are hence not mechanical.

as for the DVVt system, it adjusting the cam timing instead of cam lifting like those old day honda vtec b series engine which open in higher angle to induce more air into the cylinder to produce more power, how about the DVVT make the engine induce more air into the cylinder? by open the intake valve in a longer duration ? :confused: bit confuse~:adore:

Bro aranny2001,

If you are so concern of rust of the engine, Myvi car body oso made of steel (higher carbon content)......which can oso rust, given enough time...

If dont want rust issue, buy sports car like Lotus. Aluminum frame with composite body. Supercars comes with CF body. Confirm no rust...

Anyway, there are conti and japanese cars out there and their age oredi 40 years. Still no problem with rust with the engine block...

So no worries bro.

my car myvi 1.5 auto 2 months old try max speed only 150, i dunno y pls help.....

Two things.

1. You have Overdrive switched off
2. Why do you need to go faster than that anyway?

Haha..Probably..Wonder how's the power n fc of the new 1.5 engine..Any idea?

guys, may i know what type of ECU we had in our 1.5cc engine(3sz-ve)? today my friend brought his OBD2 dignostic tool with bluetooth model ELM327,then connect to my android phone by using the apps call Torque.. the status there is able to connect obd reader, but then it keep trying to search which is the best protoco to communicate with the my ecu... keep trying but still failed... im kind of diasppointed as i really hope to know all my engine parameters well... anyone got suggestion? why it cant connect ? is there any obd reader for our 1.5cc engine ecu? it is our ECU OBD2 or CAN??? :confused::adore:

All current Perodua not using OBD II standard. The port itself is an OBD II port but it won't interface at all. Its most likely encrypted.