Myvi SE/Extreme 1.5 modifications

eh.. I just baru looked at your engineering pictures. that's a really old version of the bar. Really old. Anyway, i'm not protecting the brand, I just think you're too cynical and looks/feels like a really bitter old man. I personally don't think everything imported is good. Passo bar was developed by Toyota or TRD (dunno) and they have the blueprints and designs for the Passo. UR just used trial and error to get it right. They don't have a R&D I think.

Anyway, some of their bars I think are stupid (like the side bars) and are a complete waste of time. Some like the strut bars are no brainers and for the money they cost they are value for money. Copying the design to follow the Passo ARB was a good idea too and the end result is pretty decent. 3Max came up with a pretty downright stiff ARB setup for the Myvi but some folks have had it snapped due to excessive force/usage. All in all, I say unless you have access to blueprints the best you can do is trial and error. At least UR is learning.

Many after market products arent as what we think they are. Many engineers out there use rule of thumb in many things, and do not really venture into detail calculations or even better, simulations. For example, I believe most of the aftermarket exhaust system uses rule of thumbs for their design and of course, one can see improvements after installing it but the design is not the best out of it. Unless you are saying Formula One, where everything is custom made to suit the rules & regulations and performance as well as driver's preferences. No doubt UR has improved by having better QA and QC, value engineering and reverse engineering. I'm not saying that they are the best, but at least I'm assured of their product and I'm quite satisfied.

I heard that CUSCO bars are pretty good too..but I couldnt find their product where I can view them directly and also not sure about the prices. So I ended taking up UR. Any1 using CUSCO?

Oh ya I got something to share...not really a modification but at least it makes ur car interior smells better and at the same time you can still adjust your air con diffuser. Can be bought from TESCO and ENEOS. I bought it from TESCO...RM12.90 and comes with two fragrance pellets. You can see the middle is the pellets...but it doesnt state how long it can last though...I'd used it for 1 month already and it still got green tea smell comes out :rofl:

• IMG_1727.jpg
    IMG_1727.jpg
    56.2 KB · Views: 163
  • IMG_1730.jpg
    IMG_1730.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 190
  • IMG_1733.jpg
    IMG_1733.jpg
    56.2 KB · Views: 172
eh.. I just baru looked at your engineering pictures. that's a really old version of the bar. Really old. Anyway, i'm not protecting the brand, I just think you're too cynical and looks/feels like a really bitter old man. I personally don't think everything imported is good. Passo bar was developed by Toyota or TRD (dunno) and they have the blueprints and designs for the Passo. UR just used trial and error to get it right.

Old? Sure. The bars regarding Inspira clearance issue is not an old product. Its recent. Shows that nothing has changed since the v1 UR lower arm bar, still no R&D, no testing.

They don't have a R&D I think.

That's the entire point I am trying to drive home. I seriously don't know why you two continue to harp on it. Why YOU (customer), want to buy a product that has no R&D, risk your life and other road users life, to test it? If nothing goes wrong, fine. If shit happens? Then what? Cars come from the factory are not fault free, but they do lots of tests to the best of their effort to ensure that it is at the very least safe. Look, its not perfect, but we know that they did invest in R&D, they did do the tests. UR? NONE! If it works, lucky lah. If not, then what?

Anyway, some of their bars I think are stupid (like the side bars) and are a complete waste of time. Some like the strut bars are no brainers and for the money they cost they are value for money.

this just echo what i already said. :smokin:

Copying the design to follow the Passo ARB was a good idea too and the end result is pretty decent. 3Max came up with a pretty downright stiff ARB setup for the Myvi but some folks have had it snapped due to excessive force/usage. All in all, I say unless you have access to blueprints the best you can do is trial and error.

No, the best you can do is invest in actual R&D, actual testing, which is why branded stuff cost so much, because the cost of making the product is not as simple as manufacturing. The flaw in the design in the UR lower arm bar for Myvi was so bloody obvious to anyone who would bother to look and use their brain and think for a moment. Yet they manufactured it and roll it out.

At least UR is learning.

No doubt, but at who's expense?

If not mistaken, 3MAX lower arm bar for myvi is to be mounted on the place where after market (or originally Passo) anti roll bars are mounted. And then they changed to exactly what you said is "robbed". Japanese tech?

I wasn't a fan of 3MAX, i never mentioned them. I've never seen the product in person and I don't know anything about the company so I won't comment. The current UR ARB is a copy of the Passo Racy ARB, which is fine. I never said anything wrong about it.

You judge. I dont know whether you have bought anything faulty in your life before and how well do you know about engineering a product. I strongly believe that you're nothing close to engineering field as you think that everything can be perfected with engineering at once.

I never said perfect, I said R&D, UR does NO R&D. That's what I am saying. You ask me to TRUST UR. What is there to trust? All this can be addressed with R&D. UR does NONE, ZERO, ZILCH, NADA R&D. So why should I buy their rubbish? So i can test it for them and they can come up with improvements if its a bad design?

I refuse the fact that you used some old facts to condemn new facts and say some faulty engineering facts when you dont really know the facts of engineering a product.

I will just assume you were unable to articulate what you were trying to say and ignore this. Otherwise we'll both look stupid.

Engineering is about getting the first thing right at the first time as possible. UR failed. Some similar people failed too, if you know what I mean. UR rectified their problem with lifetime warranty and better design, so people buys it. But for others who kept going on with their old junks, that very crap. Again, if you know what I mean :driver:

Dude. Its possible to fail at engineering. But UR does no engineering. Understand?

I personally feel that it is useless to whine of some products we have never used before or will never use. Its like describing how sweet Siti Norhaliza is when u'd never licked her face. Now that we know that Strut bars and anti roll bars improve the car handling in regardless whatever brand. We trust, we accept, we purcharse. So lets move on :burnout:

That's the problem. A lot of customers are like you, they "trust". Science does not require you to trust it, physics requires no trust. A car is a machine, its based on science, and science will prove it.

I only trust in God, all others bring data. Since you trust UR :banghead:, and I trust God, I will respect your faith and we have nothing further to discuss.

Many after market products arent as what we think they are. Many engineers out there use rule of thumb in many things, and do not really venture into detail calculations or even better, simulations. For example, I believe most of the aftermarket exhaust system uses rule of thumbs for their design and of course, one can see improvements after installing it but the design is not the best out of it. Unless you are saying Formula One, where everything is custom made to suit the rules & regulations and performance as well as driver's preferences. No doubt UR has improved by having better QA and QC, value engineering and reverse engineering. I'm not saying that they are the best, but at least I'm assured of their product and I'm quite satisfied.

I don't disagree anything you said. But it seems you don't understand what I am saying. Again, UR has no engineering. Understand what I am saying? You need me to translate mandarin, malay, tamil or what language?

This is going in circles. My summary:
1. UR does no R&D (unless I read wrongly, izso agrees - so why harping on same thing?)
2. UR products when is a simple design, or robbed & duplicated from Jap/European design, works fine. Their own bars, good luck cause its a gamble. (unless I read wrongly, izso agrees - so why harping on same thing?)
3. UR products have failed in the past, and still proves to be a hazard today (Inspira rear bar risk of chaffing brake lines)
4. People that own a product feel butt hurt when people say something unpleasant about it.

That being said, I believe UR will continue to be a key driver in the industry, and they will be growing stronger than ever because apparently there are a lot of believers.

izso: you sure you not the bitter old man? lol. cause I agree with everything you say about UR. yet you echo me and disagree. You bored?

Ixeo my man, you of all people should know I 'discuss' with you for the sake of discussing. :biggrin: Afterall where's the fun in agreeing with you all the time?

Anyway, I hear your points la. There are some I agree and some I don't. I can however explain why I'd buy UR products even though there's no R&D (supposedly. I can't really confirm) - I'm never the guinea pig. I never want to be. Almost all the products I've ever bought from UR are 3rd or 4th gen. Secondly I can't afford the more expensive R&D-ed products like Cusco bars and whatevers. A simple original Cusco front tower strut would cost me easily over RM500, whereas the UR equivalent is sub RM200. If I owned a boat like you I'd be more well-off to consider the more expensive option lor. :biggrin:

So to answer your question regarding "at who's expense?" - The poor suckers who were the guinea pigs!

And bugger - age is but a number ok. Forever 21 in heart. Haha!

Do u personally think that even expensive products have so called R&D all the time? If yes, then fine. If u can understand what I meant by rule of thumb then it's fine, again. For sure you know of research and development. Have u heard of redo and duplicate? Welcome to the engineering world buddy..in order to copy something dat works. Yes, you need R&D. To giv lifetime warranty and stress strain figure, you need R&D. U might disagree as u believe they don't hav R&D. Every testing to a product is r&D. I guess I keep on replying to you is because u seem to know something u don't knw, and you reply is bcoz I seem to protect something dat doesn't exists. Dat's y I said it's better back to the topic and if one buys the idea, then go for it and if not so just leave it. Just a reminder: R&D is nothing always like what we see in TV. Toyota Prius accelerator wouldn't fail and Mercedes Benz power window wouldnt be stuck if everything is r&D-ed. That's my point all these while. So let's move on

I think don't be too bias on UR product or what so ever. From what I know from my boss (ex BMW R&D manager) told us that a new car model spent them at least 4-5 years on R&D and same as other car manufacturers. The new car model you bought today is a prototype few years ago they doing R&D on it and now, selling in the market. UR product only come out new bars for those new model car just available in market. So there is time constrain to them to do a proper R&D to guarantee to consumer that this bar you bought is no defect. That why there is new version of bars come out to overcome the problem occurred in the old model. So far there is no news of a car crashing or lose control is because of UR product causes. And 1 more thing wanna share to you all is, nothing is 100% guarantee to you in term of performance and safety. The only thing is, you feel satisfied and worth that every cents you spent on the product, that is very good edi.

PS: Even apple 4S or samsung S3 got a proper R&D, sometime also got defect units.

Ixeo my man, you of all people should know I 'discuss' with you for the sake of discussing. :biggrin: Afterall where's the fun in agreeing with you all the time?

Anyway, I hear your points la. There are some I agree and some I don't. I can however explain why I'd buy UR products even though there's no R&D (supposedly. I can't really confirm) - I'm never the guinea pig. I never want to be. Almost all the products I've ever bought from UR are 3rd or 4th gen. Secondly I can't afford the more expensive R&D-ed products like Cusco bars and whatevers. A simple original Cusco front tower strut would cost me easily over RM500, whereas the UR equivalent is sub RM200. If I owned a boat like you I'd be more well-off to consider the more expensive option lor. :biggrin:

So to answer your question regarding "at who's expense?" - The poor suckers who were the guinea pigs!

And bugger - age is but a number ok. Forever 21 in heart. Haha!

That's what I'd been trying to explain all these while lol..The so called real R&D (with einstein calculations and simulations) are always being done by the big brands or rich company. Then their product is often being copied and then altered with or without improvements. One is creation and another is innovation. They are both engineering. I'm not standing firmly on UR but rather an engineering point of view but since UR is in topic, i used them as an example, and even Toyota as an example. Not many could understand the meaning of optimum design.

Btw, I tot you're Forever 18? :rofl: I'm Forever 10 wakkaka

---------- Post added at 10:39 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:32 AM ----------

I think don't be too bias on UR product or what so ever. From what I know from my boss (ex BMW R&D manager) told us that a new car model spent them at least 4-5 years on R&D and same as other car manufacturers. The new car model you bought today is a prototype few years ago they doing R&D on it and now, selling in the market. UR product only come out new bars for those new model car just available in market. So there is time constrain to them to do a proper R&D to guarantee to consumer that this bar you bought is no defect. That why there is new version of bars come out to overcome the problem occurred in the old model. So far there is no news of a car crashing or lose control is because of UR product causes. And 1 more thing wanna share to you all is, nothing is 100% guarantee to you in term of performance and safety. The only thing is, you feel satisfied and worth that every cents you spent on the product, that is very good edi.

PS: Even apple 4S or samsung S3 got a proper R&D, sometime also got defect units.

Exactly! That's my point all these while lol... Car makers like Toyota and Honda start designing the new model at the moment they launch "the" new model, or even earlier...and they are able to make cars with many many fancy technology but they want to keep the cost at an optimum level so they have a bigger market. For after market products, I think no need 4-5 years also can make a good one but I believe a good after market product would at least take half a year to design. To launch, probably 8 months. Most of them will rush for it for profit and no doubt some manufacturers really cincai do it and sell.

Exactly! That's my point all these while lol... Car makers like Toyota and Honda start designing the new model at the moment they launch "the" new model, or even earlier...and they are able to make cars with many many fancy technology but they want to keep the cost at an optimum level so they have a bigger market. For after market products, I think no need 4-5 years also can make a good one but I believe a good after market product would at least take half a year to design. To launch, probably 8 months. Most of them will rush for it for profit and no doubt some manufacturers really cincai do it and sell.[/QUOTE]

They really take up 4-5 years R&D on engine, gearbox, and the body structure. That why some new version or car model is still using the same engine or gearbox or body structure of the previous model. The manufacturers is really use up alot of money on R&D and testing. We have to understand one of their objective is earn money and reputation else who will spent such a big money to set up a factories to build car and hire those professional and engineers to come out a new model. Yes, the body design is take up 6- 12 months or even less than that.

Exactly! That's my point all these while lol... Car makers like Toyota and Honda start designing the new model at the moment they launch "the" new model, or even earlier...and they are able to make cars with many many fancy technology but they want to keep the cost at an optimum level so they have a bigger market. For after market products, I think no need 4-5 years also can make a good one but I believe a good after market product would at least take half a year to design. To launch, probably 8 months. Most of them will rush for it for profit and no doubt some manufacturers really cincai do it and sell.

They really take up 4-5 years R&D on engine, gearbox, and the body structure. That why some new version or car model is still using the same engine or gearbox or body structure of the previous model. The manufacturers is really use up alot of money on R&D and testing. We have to understand one of their objective is earn money and reputation else who will spent such a big money to set up a factories to build car and hire those professional and engineers to come out a new model. Yes, the body design is take up 6- 12 months or even less than that.[/QUOTE]

I mean after market product needs around 6-12 months to complete (from designing to launching). Whole car..sure 4-5 years. Toyota is already working on a new Camry prototype the moment the launch the current new Camry, something I wish local manufacturers can do. Focus on 1 model and make it better.

your options include:
toyota AE111 twinpot front
commonly used Honda civic brake conversion, various hondas are used, the best would be the 262mm ones from EK4 aka B16A engined ones.

honda easier to buy rotors and pads.

this brake system should be sufficient, as Myvi has a lower weight compared to your garislangit

Hi bro, thanks for the info... about the front brake mods... the best conversion are using honda ek? all honda ek suit for myvi or just ek4? planning to get one...

There's no plug and play caliper from other manufacturers. You need to customize the braket to hold the caliper in place.

Bro how about aftermarket brake rotors and calipers? Like, brembo, AXT or something..are they good?

In the past the 1.3 Myvi's rotor/caliper design was flawed. So no matter what you changed to, you'll always somehow end up with warp rotors (8/10 cases). The only time you didn't get warped rotors was if you had tonnes of luck and the calipers worked or if you paid for expensive extremely good quality warp resistant rotors.

I've tested AXT rotors + brake pads, Improve, Bosch, and some other brands. All pretty much had the same issue for me - uneven brake pad wearing. It was pretty extreme for me but luckily didn't warp the rotors (except for my original rotor). The inner pad would be almost completely gone but the outer one would be almost untouched.

So after I swapped them out to my custom design spacer + cone and a thicker bigger rotor (very slightly bigger and thicker), problem solved.

If you ask me whether aftermarket is good or not, to me they are pretty much the same. The only exception is those cross drilled + slotted rotors dissapate heat faster so brake fade is less with those. But brake pad wear is higher though.

Would I consider aftermarket? Considering the price of original, aftermarket isn't too bad a choice. But you need to ask yourself why you need the change in the first place, if it's to improve braking efficiency then cross drilled and slotted is great. If it's to help you stop faster then you're better off with aftermarket calipers.

Aftermarket calipers - as long as they weren't designed for your car you'll need to custom make the bracket to hold them or buy a ready made kit if there is one.

Myvi has one major flaw though, the firewall is quite flimsy. So the brake servo tends to flex the firewall quite a lot if it's under a lot of pressure which translates to crappy brake pedal feel. Aftermarket brake servo stoppers are available for the Passo but they cost a LOT. I once tried to mass market this but initial startup for this was too high for me. The machining cost of my design was RM10k to just startup!

thanks for reply, so... even honda ek still need to customize the braket? or just honda ek no need? sorry bro, not understand what you mean... thanks...

Change to another manufacturers brake caliper = custom job.

Anyone can xplain me the details of fuel consuption of Myvi ezi 1.3 n Myvi 1.5se. And plz advice isit possible Myvi 1.3 ezi convert the look to my 1.5 se (exp: front & rear bumper, grill n etc..)?

Fitting non-Myvi/Passo/Boon calipers to Myvi will require adapters to fit+align the calipers to the Myvi knuckle. A lot of people have ready made sets for plug and play applications.

The most common ones are from the local Honda Civic EG/EK series, the ones with the ~9" brake rotors. There are some that uses brake systems from Honda Odyssey, Prelude etc, but take note to get the ones with 4X100 PCD rather than 5X100 PCD..because you do not want them to drill the rotors.

Drilling rotors weakens the integrity of it, since rotors are one piece cast units.

Honda brake system, is more than enough for Myvi, because the Civics have more power and more weight, so its "overkill" for Myvi.

Anyway if anybody using the Honda Civic 9" brake systems, I've got a set of new brake pads to let go for cheap.