Wastegate Explained.

kanan

500 RPM
Senior Member

kanan

500 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 12, 2005
908
52
1,528
KL
price original around 800 per pc compared to imitation around 350 per pc.

For twin turbo, what can be the bad things if you have one wastegate open at 0.7bar and another one open slightly higher or slightly lower say 0.8bar or 0.6bar? we still can achieve steady boost right at the throttle body?
 

wasteg4te

Known Member
Senior Member

wasteg4te

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 22, 2005
154
9
1,518
jb
im facing problem
just installed new wastegate tial 38mm 0.7bar
coz my boost drop due to actuator lembik
now the problem is my car not responsive well.
a little bit lack of power, boost increase quite slow.
senang cakap, lembik la. tak power.. perfomance drop.

fyi im running sr20det stock.
 

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 4, 2006
2,798
334
1,683
price original around 800 per pc compared to imitation around 350 per pc.

For twin turbo, what can be the bad things if you have one wastegate open at 0.7bar and another one open slightly higher or slightly lower say 0.8bar or 0.6bar? we still can achieve steady boost right at the throttle body?
U'll still achieve a constant boost. But, the 3 cylinder that runs on the higher setting wastegate will have to hard. And the pressure on the manifold of these 3 cylinder will be higher. Thus, u accelerate the wear and tear of the 3 cylinders that are working harder...

And also, There are possibility due to higher boost set up on say block A, the exhaust that is released through the wastegate at block A will be lower than the wastegate at block B. Thuse, the exhaust that is channelled to the down pipe A will be higher than B. There could be possibility of exhaust from block A kicking into the downpipe of exhaust B.

Prepare for circumstances.

im facing problem
just installed new wastegate tial 38mm 0.7bar
coz my boost drop due to actuator lembik
now the problem is my car not responsive well.
a little bit lack of power, boost increase quite slow.
senang cakap, lembik la. tak power.. perfomance drop.

fyi im running sr20det stock.
There could be leakage on the installation.

What's the color of the spring...?

Start the engine, try put the hands at the wastegate outlet during the iddling. by right, should not be having exhaust.
 

wasteg4te

Known Member
Senior Member

wasteg4te

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 22, 2005
154
9
1,518
jb
im facing problem
just installed new wastegate tial 38mm 0.7bar
coz my boost drop due to actuator lembik
now the problem is my car not responsive well.
a little bit lack of power, boost increase quite slow.
senang cakap, lembik la. tak power.. perfomance drop.

fyi im running sr20det stock.
problem solved...
human error, forgot to connect some hose..
 

KRZ8v

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Senior Member

KRZ8v

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Senior Member
Aug 31, 2009
20,987
4
1,638
KL/Subang Jaya
Hi there, I got a few question bout WG. Recently I've juz replace my turbine housing/center housing/backside if I m not mistaken, from VR4 to Evo3 housing but I m still using the same VR4 compressor/front housing n fin. Bcuz my old VR4 housing got a big and long crack @ the actuator flap which causing a leak.

Rite now, the Evo3 actuator gate and flap have been welded together by the old owner which mean I got no choice but to use a ext WG. I m totally noob in WG stuffs, but I do know how it works... @ certain pressure it will open up and release the excess pressure to prevent overboost. But I m kinda confuse wit the size, I dunno wat size to get for my emgine setup. I've read bout the "Turbo size+Boost pressure=WG size" la... But I m not too sure bout it. Since my last setup wuz a disaster, so I m planning to stick wit 1bar of boost only. My question is:

1~Wat size suitable for my setup???
2~Is a Wastegate adjustable or is there such thing?
3~Any specific place to mount my WG since I m still on oem VR4 cast iron manifold

My engine setup is:
1.6T
TD05H VR4
Exhaust (juz incase) 2" piping, straight bullet 2", Straight Flow muffler 2.5" in and 5" out.
Evrything else is stock as how it is...

Thanks
 

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 4, 2006
2,798
334
1,683
Hi there, I got a few question bout WG. Recently I've juz replace my turbine housing/center housing/backside if I m not mistaken, from VR4 to Evo3 housing but I m still using the same VR4 compressor/front housing n fin. Bcuz my old VR4 housing got a big and long crack @ the actuator flap which causing a leak.

Rite now, the Evo3 actuator gate and flap have been welded together by the old owner which mean I got no choice but to use a ext WG. I m totally noob in WG stuffs, but I do know how it works... @ certain pressure it will open up and release the excess pressure to prevent overboost. But I m kinda confuse wit the size, I dunno wat size to get for my emgine setup. I've read bout the "Turbo size+Boost pressure=WG size" la... But I m not too sure bout it. Since my last setup wuz a disaster, so I m planning to stick wit 1bar of boost only. My question is:

1~Wat size suitable for my setup???
2~Is a Wastegate adjustable or is there such thing?
3~Any specific place to mount my WG since I m still on oem VR4 cast iron manifold

My engine setup is:
1.6T
TD05H VR4
Exhaust (juz incase) 2" piping, straight bullet 2", Straight Flow muffler 2.5" in and 5" out.
Evrything else is stock as how it is...

Thanks
Well, it works the same way like ur internal wastegate. At low boost, the wastegate releases more exhaust gasses, at high boost, the exhaust gas is used to turn the turbine remaining less exhaust to exit through the wastegate.

However, due to the price difference of 38mm and 44/45mm wastegate, most of the ppl will get a 38mm. They'll work fine.

The best place to mount ur wastegate is where the stock internal flap is. Get the flap removed buy a customize flange with 2 holes. 1 hole foe turbine exducer and 1 hole for wastegate. Extend the hole for wastegat. With a 1 1/2" schedule 10 pipe and mount ur wastegate there. Remember to port the hole on the turbine housing to 38mm to suit ur wastegate. If u doesn't like the noise of the wastegate, u may vent to wastegate outlet back into the downpipe.

An alternative location would be removing the flap on ur manifold outlet and mount the wastegate at the centre of the hole with the wastegate inlet pipe on top of the manifold. Please make sure the fabricator knock off all the welding flux and left overs COMPLETELY. If not handle propey, it may comes out later and damage ur turbine fin later.

I have mine mounted between runner 1 n 2. But I bored a 38mm hole, shape the manifod flat at the place where I mount my wastegate, then weld the wastegate flange on the flat surface. My welding is only at the top of the manifold.

Hope it helps.
 

rakesh_v6

Senior Member
Senior Member

rakesh_v6

Senior Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
919
22
1,518
KL
speed2horizon, would like to ask u a silly question

what are the differences can be found between turbosmart and tial wastegate

much appreciated
 

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 4, 2006
2,798
334
1,683
speed2horizon, would like to ask u a silly question

what are the differences can be found between turbosmart and tial wastegate

much appreciated
ehemm ehmm... Tial wastegate piston and shaft are separate piece and can be dismentled. They are in 2 pieces. In long run there are possibility that the fitting might get worned out by the pressure, temperature and continuous movement during turbo spools. But this might happen after years...

the turbosmart piston n shaft is a one piece. No chances of getting lose, which is what I prefer. They also claimed that they flow better due to the bigger exhaust buffer volume and the effect is less chances of spiking.

However, both are great wastegate to be used.

That's all I know. Sorry for the limited knowledge.
 

rakesh_v6

Senior Member
Senior Member

rakesh_v6

Senior Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
919
22
1,518
KL
tats okay,u had explained well...at the moment am using tial but am kinda keen for turbosmart.i have been reading forums bout it and found out not many differences between both of them...kinda confused shall i change it or no :idea:
 

chrissyong

500 RPM
Senior Member

chrissyong

500 RPM
Senior Member
Aug 14, 2007
975
14
1,518
speed2horizon, would like to ask u a silly question

what are the differences can be found between turbosmart and tial wastegate

much appreciated
the turbosmart waste gate and tial wastegate difference not much at low boost,if u boost 1bar u can feel the tail wastegate spike till 1.1 bar,that one i can sure,if turbosmart wastegate wont got that shit thing,if u use vp racing or methanol or hi boost your tial wastegate 100% will harm!!!
 

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

speed2horizon

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Jun 4, 2006
2,798
334
1,683
tats okay,u had explained well...at the moment am using tial but am kinda keen for turbosmart.i have been reading forums bout it and found out not many differences between both of them...kinda confused shall i change it or no :idea:
I am even more confused now... Why would U change something that is already serving U well. Only change it if Ur Tial spoil.

This is one of the fatest racing machine in SDB. Clocked <10secs. It also uses Tial...





What's wrong with it that U need to change it when it's working fine..?
 

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Senior Member

contreasjun27

9,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 21, 2004
9,045
25
3,148
subang
Visit site
I am even more confused now... Why would U change something that is already serving U well. Only change it if Ur Tial spoil.

This is one of the fatest racing machine in SDB. Clocked <10secs. It also uses Tial...





What's wrong with it that U need to change it when it's working fine..?
haha Rich mah thats why can change like that keke...
maybe color is the problem...thats why need to change color keke
 

rakesh_v6

Senior Member
Senior Member

rakesh_v6

Senior Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2006
919
22
1,518
KL
naa i was told by someone that tial aint reliable and it does spike...after ur explanation i have some clear picture..thanks for the info speed..much appreciated
 

KRZ8v

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Senior Member

KRZ8v

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Senior Member
Aug 31, 2009
20,987
4
1,638
KL/Subang Jaya
Well, it works the same way like ur internal wastegate. At low boost, the wastegate releases more exhaust gasses, at high boost, the exhaust gas is used to turn the turbine remaining less exhaust to exit through the wastegate.

However, due to the price difference of 38mm and 44/45mm wastegate, most of the ppl will get a 38mm. They'll work fine.

The best place to mount ur wastegate is where the stock internal flap is. Get the flap removed buy a customize flange with 2 holes. 1 hole foe turbine exducer and 1 hole for wastegate. Extend the hole for wastegat. With a 1 1/2" schedule 10 pipe and mount ur wastegate there. Remember to port the hole on the turbine housing to 38mm to suit ur wastegate. If u doesn't like the noise of the wastegate, u may vent to wastegate outlet back into the downpipe.

An alternative location would be removing the flap on ur manifold outlet and mount the wastegate at the centre of the hole with the wastegate inlet pipe on top of the manifold. Please make sure the fabricator knock off all the welding flux and left overs COMPLETELY. If not handle propey, it may comes out later and damage ur turbine fin later.

I have mine mounted between runner 1 n 2. But I bored a 38mm hole, shape the manifod flat at the place where I mount my wastegate, then weld the wastegate flange on the flat surface. My welding is only at the top of the manifold.

Hope it helps.
Thanks bro....:adore:
 

chrissyong

500 RPM
Senior Member

chrissyong

500 RPM
Senior Member
Aug 14, 2007
975
14
1,518
if u got boost over 2bar exp with tial wastegate and turbosmart then u will know about that,the faster is not wastegate problem is turbo and engine tune setup problem,the user have been try turbosmart and tial wastegate before will understand my word~the low boost user or newbie user very hard to know that,we will prove it at sepang drag this years

---------- Post added at 01:55 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:50 AM ----------

cause my self also is turbosmart user,wont trust me can go turbo smart forum see the turbosmart waste is vp racing race gas or full methanol family or not,but i did't not see tial wastegate website have explain anything...
 

jinkl

4,000 RPM
Senior Member

jinkl

4,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 22, 2004
4,625
376
3,183
Kuala Lumpur
chill guys, dont fight
the only problem with tial is , tial in malaysia are mostly not original
im also running turbosmart , speed2horizon is also running one
i faced problems with the turbosmart bt was solved with help of sdf with lil tweak of spring rates
one more issue in malaysia is choose the wrong size of wastegate n etc

tials are proven same as turbosmart :) we are still far slower than the other cars in US who is running on tials, they run higher boost than nearly all sepang cars

john shepherd 7sec 4g63
http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-sf2p/v288/197/78/19738257875/n19738257875_731187_7600.jpg

evil eagle 8sec 4g6x
http://www.dsmtuners.com/gallery/files/1/0/2/1/2/2007build032_1.jpg

twicks 9sec 4g9x
http://www.dsmtuners.com/gallery/files/2/8/7/2/3/4.jpg

so dont worry guys, its ur choice , i head for turbosmart becos i want to avoid the fake tials