need wastegate advice

civic 0.5 BAR

Jun 3, 2006
need advice from all sifu,
my current setup. 1.6 sohc bolt on turbo
td05 14b boosting 1.1bar.planning boosting 1.5bar soon
i just complete custom a water / methanol injection kit to my car,it activate on 0.85 bar.would like to install wastegate b4 tune my car.

1 ) 35 or 38mm suit it?
2 ) after install wastegate can i put back rear muffler to original like inlet & outter 2 inch, will it have back pressure issue?want make it silent .lound when boost.

amel666

Jul 24, 2008
K.L
bro, would u care to share about ur DIY water/meth injection kit. Really interested..

BTW. I think 38mm is the way. Can still use them if u change turbo or bigger setup. The spring is up to u. But if u plan on lowering ur boost one day better go with 0.7 bar gate springs..

jawsbite

Apr 5, 2011
38mm is quite commonly available, it should suffice. Rule of thumb is, the bigger your turbo size, the bigger wastegate you'll need. However, the more boost you run the big size requirement reduces.

civic 0.5 BAR

Jun 3, 2006
will order next week replica turbosmart 38mm.by the way, how the replica product???the responce???

jawsbite

Apr 5, 2011
Its your choice which you prefer, original or fakie. But remember the wastegate has a very delicate task of controlling your boost pressure. I would spend RM500-1k for buying original stuff to safeguard my 10k investment, as its failure could mean saying goodbye to all those.

civic 0.5 BAR

Jun 3, 2006
1) when it failure,boost controller got screamble sound.
2) when it failure,it was different feeling when driving

HI all ,
i just wanna ask something about Mivec adding Turbo
will be needing how many $$
and i m going to sell/trade Mivec ori stuff

my mech told me that have to change :
piston
ecu
wiring
add BOV,Turbine,intercooler,injecter.

any one could lead me more info in this upgrade ??