Best Bang for Buck? Evo 7/8/8mr/9/9mr?

potato

Oct 15, 2009
Just wondering which EVO gives the best bang out of buck?

Obviously Evo 7 has the best price but very unlikely to find 1 close to stock.
rm9xk-rm12xk

Evo8 & 8MR are rm40k more expensive than 7 but easier to find close to stock, slight improvement over 7 but finding a original 5 speed gear transmission is pretty difficult.
rm13xk-rm150k

Evo9 & 9MR comes with Mivec & better turbo, but is very expensive compared to 7 & 8 with little improvements, finding a 5 speed is near to impossible.
rm180k onward

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Any Evo is the best bang for the buck already. Just a matter of budget and how far you're willing to risk of getting older car at cheaper prices.
Evo IX prices have gone down slightly, seen a few offering at high 150 to mid 160 but GSR version, not MR. Couple of weeks ago also I saw in mudah.my selling Evo VIII MR asking for only 109K.
Btw I thought all Evo IX are already 6 speed, except the RS version, so don't waste time trying to find one with 5 speed. Btw why do you want 5 speed anyway? 6 speed should be better in terms of performance. If you want cheaper still and 5 speed, might as well look for Evo VI or TME, but again even more difficult to find in good condition I suppose.

potato

Oct 15, 2009
I also saw the 108k evo 8, but i remember the manufacturing date is 2003 so it might be an evo 7 instead.

BUt 100k & 160k is still a big difference. If the car is well maintained it should be ok, but nowadays with so many modded & abused evo 7 it might be hard to find since it's more of a car boys car. So far i haven't seen any stock Evos.

I think other than the RS, the GT version also came with 5 speed but not too sure as JDM, US & Europe spec are different. I don't really need 6 speed as i'm not too keen with top speed, & felt that 5 speed is stronger & last better than a 6 speed, cheaper too to maintain & rebuild? There must be a reason why EVO X manual version comes with 5 instead of 6 speed. Heard the same for Silvias too people actually put in 5 speed from S14 onto a 6 speed S15.

Evo VI & below, i think parts are getting hard to find. And they aren't that cheap.

H22-C

Jul 23, 2007
6th speed is good for comfortable cruising.
constant speed at lower RPM = better drivability.

potato

Oct 15, 2009
Just a quick one which EVO did mitsubishi start selling officially, was it Evo X or Evo 9, if i remember correctly that version had less output than JDMs?

azizi.aziz

Jul 5, 2006
for me...go for evo9...and I'm not really sure about 5spd gbox is stronger than 6spd...but my 6 speeder can 'tahan' about 600nm of torque...

PabloIceman

Apr 22, 2006
................Evo VI & below, i think parts are getting hard to find. And they aren't that cheap.
Not exactly true lor ... most parts can be used from Evo 4 to 9. So, most parts are still easily available. Bodykits for e6 and below still can find.

H22-C

Jul 23, 2007
Just a quick one which EVO did mitsubishi start selling officially, was it Evo X or Evo 9, if i remember correctly that version had less output than JDMs?
Mitsubitshi mnalaysia started selling Evo8MR, bank in year 2004 i think.

potato

Oct 15, 2009
I remember one of them have less power than the JDM listed 280hp, which one?

Also how do we tell if it's a JDM import or Mitsubishi Malaysia?

EVOFans

Aug 29, 2006
Any Evo is the best bang for the buck already. Just a matter of budget and how far you're willing to risk of getting older car at cheaper prices.
Evo IX prices have gone down slightly, seen a few offering at high 150 to mid 160 but GSR version, not MR. Couple of weeks ago also I saw in mudah.my selling Evo VIII MR asking for only 109K.
Btw I thought all Evo IX are already 6 speed, except the RS version, so don't waste time trying to find one with 5 speed. Btw why do you want 5 speed anyway? 6 speed should be better in terms of performance. If you want cheaper still and 5 speed, might as well look for Evo VI or TME, but again even more difficult to find in good condition I suppose.
To clarify a few thing:
1.)EVO IX only GT and RS got 5 Speed Manual;MR only RS got 5 Speed
2.)The EVO VIII MR for 109k,from what i seen in picture,everything match what an EVO VIII MR should have so can assume it is one
3.)5 Speed is stronger,6 Speed sucks for EVO as far as power holding ability and gearing for 1/4 Mile(Hold 4th gear through trap,5 Speed depend on ratio)
Lazy to type more explanation but you can ask me anything regarding EVO
Or search up my old post,i did post some pretty detail stuff about different between EVO IX and EVO IX MR

pengyu

Sep 28, 2006
Evo X from MMC is not JDM ones. Its Australia spec, thats y it has seat heaters and headlight washers. The others im not sure.

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
evo 7 year make 2000 & 2001, evo 7 gta year 2002. year 2003 should be evo 8

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
my heart still got evo ma...its a great & fun to drive...:)

Hi All,
I would like to know what is the different between both Japanese Maker engine oil.
- Which one provide more respone to my engine?
- What happen if I change my engine oil every 10,000km?
- Which maker engine oil provide more protection to my car?

Need all members advise and suggestion, I'm deciding to choose the engine which give me more protection and more respone. Thanks.