Advice on best set up for your meter display

rockcity

May 31, 2006
hi guys,

Need u guys opinion which setup in your car would you prefer to? Currently ive boost, water temp meter in my car and need to add few more meter + electronic boost controller. or there's others that u would think the best in terms of practical, cost etc.

a) Water temp + Fuel pressure meter + EVC5

b) Water temp + fuel pressure + Apexi AVCR

c) Water temp + fuel pressure + E-Boost2

d) SBC I-Color

e) CAMP2 + ebc

thanks in advance. :burnout:

mizunori77

Dec 13, 2006
assuming you're running 4G63T, you'll need water temp, oil temp and boost meter. that should be enough. if you're still running stock turbo and stock boost pressure, boost controller isn't really necessary but if you plan to upgrade your turbo in the future, then only get the boost controller. at least you don't have to fork out so much up front. :wavey:

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
Or u can try to get a Defi Multi Display link for yr set up, it save lotsa space if u do not wanna hassle where the meters might attract unwanted attention!!! But cost wise it might not b saving u too much as if u wanna full info, u need to buy all the sensors in order for the Display to show all the needed important info!!!

Actually all 6 meters r important too if u start to mod yr car!!! Each n every meter do show diff important info as on how's yr engine is currently doing, especially when u r revving it!!!

Cheerz and jus my 2 cents!!! Hope it helps!

rockcity

May 31, 2006
assuming you're running 4G63T, you'll need water temp, oil temp and boost meter. that should be enough. if you're still running stock turbo and stock boost pressure, boost controller isn't really necessary but if you plan to upgrade your turbo in the future, then only get the boost controller. at least you don't have to fork out so much up front. :wavey:
ya bro im running for 4g63t, and currently have no intention to change the turbo but like to up the boost little bit. that's why need to find a reliable boost controller and also to decorate the interior with meter a little bit.:driver:

Or u can try to get a Defi Multi Display link for yr set up, it save lotsa space if u do not wanna hassle where the meters might attract unwanted attention!!! But cost wise it might not b saving u too much as if u wanna full info, u need to buy all the sensors in order for the Display to show all the needed important info!!!

Actually all 6 meters r important too if u start to mod yr car!!! Each n every meter do show diff important info as on how's yr engine is currently doing, especially when u r revving it!!!

Cheerz and jus my 2 cents!!! Hope it helps!
thanks s9, what u said is true a lot of meter inside attract unwanted attraction. defi multilink is a good idea.

any idea which ebc you think would be the best in terms of function? profec b-spec, evc-5, avcr, sbc-ic?

lanevo6

Sep 29, 2004
jb-melaka
stock turbo no need boost controller meh? my stock turbo running on 1.5bar leh how to do without BC?

rockcity

May 31, 2006
stock turbo no need boost controller meh? my stock turbo running on 1.5bar leh how to do without BC?
what boost controller u use currently bro? B.C apa yg terbaeek? not much boost spike.
Is it possible 1.3 ~ 1.5 to have boost spike?

kojai

Jun 22, 2006
malacca/jb
My one running manually for 1.2 bar only..
Cukup bro...for stok turbo...nanti meletup....nak kena kutip ooo
but still u need to tunning/setup for higher boost for stok turboooo

rockcity

May 31, 2006
My one running manually for 1.2 bar only..
Cukup bro...for stok turbo...nanti meletup....nak kena kutip ooo
but still u need to tunning/setup for higher boost for stok turboooo
hahahahaha..... cannot imagine im crying of sideway kutip engine....
mcm mati bini la... :biggrin:

kojai

Jun 22, 2006
malacca/jb
Bro... i try before until 1.8 bar for 4 months....really powerful
but then my stok radiator bust... spend rm2.8k for aluminum radiator

Then i try 1.5 bar...still powerful for 6 months
but again my turbo fin crack n gongak... spend rm2.2k for T E7RS (used)

Now cause of bank closed, just 1.2 bar with tunning/set-up also 6 defi meter, for 2.5years..
still ok n boleh belasah....hehehehe

stutzedward

May 27, 2009
so many meters to install... yr turning yr cabin into a plane's cabin, hahaha.. anyway, cool stuffs.

I am running on manual boost controller too and dare not go above 1.1 bar, worry it will fry my cylinders or turbing. I heard some running 1.3bar without problem. 1.5 or 1.8? WHoa... no boost cut, huh?

Stormvolution 9

Jun 18, 2005
rockcity,

Bro, I'm using Profec B-II now!!! Not bad and few of other members r on it too!!!

But heard EVC - 5 is great!!! But i think pricy than Profec B-II!!! But EVC 5 is able to set diff boost level for diff gears!!! Eg. 1st gear max is 1.0bar... then 2nd gear is 1.2bar n etc!!! So it kinda allow u to 'jaga' your gearbox!!! Hehehe...

rockcity

May 31, 2006
kojai : 1.8 to much for me. it's like a being in a race circuit everyday. thinking of setting using higher scramble boost or maybe follow ur advice 1.2 1st and then not enough top up lagi. just make sure bank not close :biggrin:

stutze: dont know the price. i think evc5 around 2k maybe.

s9: yup a lot of people use profec. boost-gear is a great function.

can somebody make comparison each ebc against the function available.??

lanevo6

Sep 29, 2004
jb-melaka
what boost controller u use currently bro? B.C apa yg terbaeek? not much boost spike.
Is it possible 1.3 ~ 1.5 to have boost spike?
i m using EVC5. There not such thing as the best. Boost spike also depends if ur actuator can handle high boost. Depends on what u looking for. I used AVCR before great BC with gear boost and other function as well good for those who play drag, tuning abit leceh takes me 45min else my EVC only 15min. Profec very basic and reliable i have tune a few cars as well ard 10min will do.

Kojai,
1.8 sudah lebih la itu panggil cari maut. Save side still at 1.5.
The problem is cooling and engine oil. Feeding ur turbo.

Hey guys, i just wanna check whether i got chopped.hehe.

The problem : Leaking air cond gas at a terrible rate. Tried refilling but lost all of it within half an hour. RM60 gone!

Anyway, i just sent my car to a shop near my house, and he showed me that my cooling coil is leaking by putting it in water.

The charges :

APM cooling coil RM250
Gas RM50
Workmanship RM30
A valve somewhere at the cooling coil RM95!!!(Said necessary to change yearly)

My car is a 1996 satria 1.3 carbie...​