4G63T Engine Block

epj7900

I own a Wira EVO 3 and about half year ago my foremen informed me that my Clutch (Exedy Single Piece Racing Clutch) caused by Crank Shaft to move and "makan"/scratched my bearings. :confused:

I had to overhaul my engine due to that. It cost me quite a bit then. After using the engine to about 1 - 2 months - after running in - I noticed that my engine vibration was really strong at 3000+ rpm. Recently my good friend opened up his own W/Shop and we opened the engine together. After opening I got to understand that basically I was conned. No metal head gasket was changed, pistons were not changed, no grind valve was performed and worst is that my bearings were all totally gone. Bearings were totally worn off. The issue now is my main bearing (center bearing) is the worst. They apparently have grinded my block a little to fit the bearing in.(the bearing which support the crank shaft from moving). My crank shaft also looks bad - as in wearing off marks on the part the bearing sits.

So the issue now is - I intended to send the engine for balancing but looking at this what option do I have ?

It is difficult to get another EVO 3 engine "kosong". I have another EVO 1 engine with my friend which I am considering. There will be a power drop but can I use back my E3 pistons n all but the block & crank shaft is from the EVO 1. I hope to get advice on what options I have :

1) Re-Engineer my block - does blueprinting help in this
2) Change new block - same or 2.4 block
3) Upgrade my engine block
4) other ??

I would really appreciate some good opinions. I also would prefer some good reference - reliable and not like my previous ungrateful foremen. :mad:

FYI - My location is in JB. But I don't mind sending the block anywhere - as long as they know their work. :)

if i was u bro , this wht i did to mine
i would opt for a vr4 engine kosong
the head i will use back the evo's
bearings want replacements , pm me
i can get clevites for 100-200 bucks complete set for main and conrod
its already proven in zth we got a few 400hp vr4's stock internals one even ran 1.9bar
there wont be power drop lar bro , instead u will be having BOOST increase , u may increase ur boost lor, i can see tht u got a banana , samco hoses , summore u got a racing clutch rite :D
metal gasket cost 200+ only bro , plonk one lor

just my idea lar :) unless u want to play e3 high compression

Hey JinKL,

It was nice of you to reply. Yes I did think of that option. Are you by any chance associated with any Mod's Shop or just an enthusiast.

Anyway - You guys managed to push 400horses out from a stock VR4 just with Metal head and high boost ?

What bearings did you use. You mentioned about
"i can get clevites for 100-200 bucks complete set for main and conrod" Do you mean high quality bearing + main bearing with conrods ?? Sorry that I may need more description on this. Metal Head Gasket is about RM 200 ++ - yes I know about this - in fact I trusted my previous foremen too much until never checked on so many things.

Can I do the same thing with the EVO 1 Block ? Am getting it real cheap - so since I am going to open it ? What do you suggest that I should do ? Is engine balancing good ? I can port my heads, then I just got a 90% HKS 2 plate racing clutch through a friend at a reasonable cost. So this time around I want to do something worth since my engine is already out. Any recommendations ??

aiyoo bro , i am just a kid jumping around zth hehehe

no larr bro 400hp was with microtech + bigger turbine + magic
one more was
400hp with haltech + magic

dont know deep about the specs but i know internals are stock

i mean clevite bearings for main bearing + clevite bearings for conrods

of cos can do with the evo1 block , balancing should be better cos replace the bearings and all , r u sure u want to port ur evo head , cos according to one of the sifu's , evo 3 heads are already ported.

seriously laa if u got money u kept for bigger turbine , haltech , injectors , bov , wastegate , u better take it all and throw into ur engine block for now

- metal gasket (if u gonna boost up)
- balancing
- racing bearings
- no no to evo3 conrod and crank , its the weakest among all evo's , vr4 conrods are strong , evo 12 pistons are good for higher boost , evo3 is not good for high boost.

i dont understand why dont sound your foreman from last time? make it a court case or some shit he spent your money and conned your a$$ and your money ballz... i would take him to the cleaners or until he can pay for the mods to fix your engine and all....

seriously, this is the first time because of racing/semi-racing clutch, it will cause your engine bearings to fail...

just follow jinkl's advise...he is the udang behind the stone nowadays...monster wira E3 rojak super turbo haltech supercar...:D

I feel like going to my foremen to get an answer but end of the day I think he will just say - you whacked your car too hard. I hardly play with my car. I only have a group of childhood friends who play with Evo's and we usually play amongst ourselves. I personally dun go for "Cari Hal" n all..

But anyway end of the day he just showed his typical businessman attitude. However am sure somehow he will pay for it.

Anyway am going to bring my Evo 1 for balancing in KL this weekend. I will be coming for the Sepang Drag so will send it for balancing as well.

I need a favour. Currently I intend to send the balancing to Andicar Motorsports, but am looking for Matspeed because I was informed that these guys make their own cams n all so they must surely be damn good in Balancing. You need the equipment to do balancing. Another place I saw was NS Tuning - something about blueprinting. I need to get their locations and contact details. Anyone can help me out.

My friend just got himself a Wira E3 as well. We'll be coming up together. Heard that Japan has also sent some cars for the drag battle. It's going to be interesting!

JinKL - where can I get the Clevite Bearings ?

Miton : u can have my car for breakfast larr aiyoo
ur fren speedz has been having it for breakfast/lunch/supper everytime we r on the road , i heard u quiting modding how come lar.

epj : aiyak , got credit card ? then visit extremepsi.com , swipe and ur bearings will reach ur door step in 2 days.

jinkl said:
Miton : u can have my car for breakfast larr aiyoo
i heard u quiting modding how come lar.

needed some money to prepare the car for other purposes :cool:

JEP7900,

actually those guys in johor can do engine balancing as well, why want to go all the way to kl just to balance your internals? it takes a few days to get all done, and if you forgot to bring one part..die la....betul?

there are a few reputable workshops i hear around JB mainly Vaz-Maz, RMD (by word of mouth lah cos i not JB Fella) and Najib who does his trade at his home somewhere in JB kampung can see holiday villa one...hahhha...

if kl, hmm...let the other SIFUS recommend. my car tuned and built by chokia workshop nobody want to go there one...sunway there got alot of jalan but they all give one fella to do one.

maybe NS tune or matspeed. can ask taikor JINKL @ EVO HANTU to bring you around. :D

epj7900,

if me,i'll go fark the foreman kau kau...how can he do like this?i'll ask him pay for everything,if not tell his customers... :mad:

no need to waste money on balancing la bro...just spend 1000 then go for VR4RS block,kautim!if u still want to use back the evo1 block,suggest u go for 2nd 2JZ piston,it's 86mm and good for high boost,bought the bearing from jinkl n metal head gasket then balancing with flywheel together...sure ur block can tahan till 400bhp liao... ;)

i from jb as well, if you need any help, just pm me your number, glad to help..

DJmobile said:
i from jb as well, if you need any help, just pm me your number, glad to help..

:P Yeah! Lets organise the JB ZTH members to go down to his foreman's plance and help him settle!

my ex-car was a TOTAL stock VR4 block,

slide in a 1.5mm MMC metal gasket
up da turbo size
put in 4 nozzles to add some juice
and a brain (Haltech)

= 420 whp (on wheels) @ 12.5sec/ qtr mile on 4wd... ;)

melvin taikor,

long time no see,how r u?
still lepak with thomas and co.in GT? :D
wow,420whp with stock block! damn ganas!!!
damn respect ur fast VR4!!!

Hello people,

I can see that you guys are frustrated as well. Imagine me. The moment I opened my engine and infront of my eyes I could see that there was no metal head gasket, then my bearings were all totally screwed - they grinded my main block to fit in the bearing - can see the normal grinder mark - like those small time welders would grind their welding to remove the welding marks. It surely makes you feel F***ed. :mad: Sorry for my language.

For a fact I have spent heaps at his place - I am sure people in JB know him - from Johor Jaya but it sucks big time. Imagine just after overhaul - i went back to him mentioning that my engine is making funny noises and his reply was you have to be careful. I think you over-ram your car. Then as I asked him how come before run in - I would want to over - rev the car. Then he replied saying that you give your car to other hands - ( which he quoted my friend ) so how want to know what all he opened. Doesn't sound like a typical "Pariah" foremen. Jealousy - because some else took my car to his shop and told him that things were done wrong. (How come my best friend could lie to me ). End of the day he just showed his true foremen colours. :mad:

Later I was informed by my painter from the same area that many people do not go there anymore. I supported him like crazy - my friends have spent almost RM 200K there - and I never asked him for anything free at all. What an ungrateful DOG.

Anyway I will try to look for a VR4 block but I really sayang my E3 - Anyway that I can re-engineer my block ah ?? San Hup in JB are not professionals in Balancing/Re-Engineering right ?? Are there any specialist who can probably do back the block ? How much would a VR4 Block kosong be in JB ?? ANy recommendations where I can get them ?

My friend helped me send the Crank Shaft, Main Pulley and Con Rods to Matspeed for balancing. This one is just an alternative. But looking at what you guys have to say - it seems VR 4 is also quite interesting. Can be able to produce 400HP with bigger turbo and engine management system. Any recommendation of the estimates cost to do this ??

VR4 Block - RM 500 - Rm 700
Turbo - Can use Std E3 - or need to change
Engine Management System - M-Tec LT8S or other ??
Pistons - 2J pistons or others ?? So have to bore the block to fit in the pistons ??
ETC

This question may be a little not legal but will it be difficult to register the engine at JPJ - with all the stupid laws they have about exhaust n body kits. Can anything be done with the replacement block. Just a query ??

Anyone purchased racing bearing in Malaysia or Singapore ?? If no choice then I would swipe at extremepsi.com. They seem to have quite alot of stuff for 4G63.
JinKL
Are the bearing for EVO same as the bearing for Eclipse and Talon - from US. Just afraid if they don't Fit!

epj7900 said:
Hello people,

I can see that you guys are frustrated as well. Imagine me. The moment I opened my engine and infront of my eyes I could see that there was no metal head gasket, then my bearings were all totally screwed - they grinded my main block to fit in the bearing - can see the normal grinder mark - like those small time welders would grind their welding to remove the welding marks. It surely makes you feel F***ed. :mad: Sorry for my language.

I don't suppose you could post some pictures of this?

JinKL,

What is the difference between 6 Bolt and 7 Bolt. I checked out the Clevite 77 and am interested. I shall go for the bearing but I need information if there are any difference between Eclipse/Talon and our 4G63 ( Evo's ) ?

I should go for std bearing right ? The ones placed in my previous block was .25mm. This time the E1 block I am going to use - should be std bearing right ?

most 7 bolts have 'crank walk' problems...

VR4 runs a 6 bolt..and has been proven to be reliable up to very big HP too..