4G63T Engine Block

Bro,

Which mechanic u went in JJ? Did mine (transplant) in JJ Rosmerah b4

epj7900 said:
Hello people,

I can see that you guys are frustrated as well. Imagine me. The moment I opened my engine and infront of my eyes I could see that there was no metal head gasket, then my bearings were all totally screwed - they grinded my main block to fit in the bearing - can see the normal grinder mark - like those small time welders would grind their welding to remove the welding marks. It surely makes you feel F***ed. :mad: Sorry for my language.

For a fact I have spent heaps at his place - I am sure people in JB know him - from Johor Jaya but it sucks big time. Imagine just after overhaul - i went back to him mentioning that my engine is making funny noises and his reply was you have to be careful. I think you over-ram your car. Then as I asked him how come before run in - I would want to over - rev the car. Then he replied saying that you give your car to other hands - ( which he quoted my friend ) so how want to know what all he opened. Doesn't sound like a typical "Pariah" foremen. Jealousy - because some else took my car to his shop and told him that things were done wrong. (How come my best friend could lie to me ). End of the day he just showed his true foremen colours. :mad:

Later I was informed by my painter from the same area that many people do not go there anymore. I supported him like crazy - my friends have spent almost RM 200K there - and I never asked him for anything free at all. What an ungrateful DOG.

Anyway I will try to look for a VR4 block but I really sayang my E3 - Anyway that I can re-engineer my block ah ?? San Hup in JB are not professionals in Balancing/Re-Engineering right ?? Are there any specialist who can probably do back the block ? How much would a VR4 Block kosong be in JB ?? ANy recommendations where I can get them ?

My friend helped me send the Crank Shaft, Main Pulley and Con Rods to Matspeed for balancing. This one is just an alternative. But looking at what you guys have to say - it seems VR 4 is also quite interesting. Can be able to produce 400HP with bigger turbo and engine management system. Any recommendation of the estimates cost to do this ??

VR4 Block - RM 500 - Rm 700
Turbo - Can use Std E3 - or need to change
Engine Management System - M-Tec LT8S or other ??
Pistons - 2J pistons or others ?? So have to bore the block to fit in the pistons ??
ETC

This question may be a little not legal but will it be difficult to register the engine at JPJ - with all the stupid laws they have about exhaust n body kits. Can anything be done with the replacement block. Just a query ??

Anyone purchased racing bearing in Malaysia or Singapore ?? If no choice then I would swipe at extremepsi.com. They seem to have quite alot of stuff for 4G63.
JinKL
Are the bearing for EVO same as the bearing for Eclipse and Talon - from US. Just afraid if they don't Fit!

i guess sdf already anwsered it ,

bro sdf , so vr4 are 6 bolts and evo's are 7 , right ?
just want to confirm b4 buying some bearings :P

crocky said:
Bro,

Which mechanic u went in JJ? Did mine (transplant) in JJ Rosmerah b4

Well... I dun want to mention names but it's a tyre shop and he drives a converted Tommi Makinen Edition.

Where did you do yours ?

I am waiting for my pics - because I want to get opinions from the others if I can do back the block.

By the way - What car did you do your transplant for ??

alexz said:
from the way you describr the problem it sounded like someting american eclipse owners refer as "walking crankshaft". Its a problem alot of US 4g63T owners face. for more info, seach google for DSM or eclipse or go to this link

http://www.roadraceengineering.com/ecltechtips.htm

hope that helps.

Thanks for your information. I suppose this was the exact problem which my engine had. When we were opening the engine my friend moved the crank shaft and yes - it did move quite a bit! Serious shit - from that I already knew there must have been something wrong with the bearing - when I saw them - they were totally burnt. I shall upload some pics for reference.

Cheers mate

Photo's

Hello people,

I already have the photos.

As you can see my head has been grinded and then my bearings looks burnt and no metal head gasket...

Tension seh....

Fren,
i don't think matspeed do their own balancing...
i agree with some of the guys here...vr4 block are much better if u want
to play hard and extreme as its component are much stronger compare
to evo.

oic..did mine (sgti->evo) at MG Racing in Rosmerah

epj7900 said:
Well... I dun want to mention names but it's a tyre shop and he drives a converted Tommi Makinen Edition.

Where did you do yours ?

I am waiting for my pics - because I want to get opinions from the others if I can do back the block.

By the way - What car did you do your transplant for ??

hi for all inside here...
i have some question...>
-how 2 maintain the stock evo 1 engine if inside my wira
-what different btwen evo 1,2 and 3 engine

tq for all sifus here...

speedy_05 said:
i have some question...>

tq for all sifus here...

-how 2 maintain the stock evo 1 engine if inside my wira?
treat like normal car, service regularly, check water & engine oil, hose.

-what different btwen evo 1,2 and 3 engine?
HP etc.

speedy_05 said:
i have some question...>

tq for all sifus here...

erm basic things is that
evo1 got a weak fuel pump only 80lph ,
evo3 got a 100lph , but wallbro has 255 :P change if u wanna boost up
evo1 got lower compression than evo 3
evo1 turbine fin smaller abit than evo3

jinkl- said:
erm basic things is that
evo1 got a weak fuel pump only 80lph ,
evo3 got a 100lph , but wallbro has 255 :P change if u wanna boost up
evo1 got lower compression than evo 3
evo1 turbine fin smaller abit than evo3

erm..wat do you mean low compression? its that mean the engine e1 cant hold high compression or what? e1 turbin smaller than e3? wat that mean?

erm meaning
e1 is running lower compression than e3 , the internals of the block
turbine fin , e3 one is called big fin , e1 and e2 using smaller turbine fin , the fin inside the turbo ?

turbin

jinkl said:
erm meaning
e1 is running lower compression than e3 , the internals of the block
turbine fin , e3 one is called big fin , e1 and e2 using smaller turbine fin , the fin inside the turbo ?

can/not i just change e3 turbin(big turbin fin) without any convertion?

Bearings

jinkl said:
i guess sdf already anwsered it ,

bro sdf , so vr4 are 6 bolts and evo's are 7 , right ?
just want to confirm b4 buying some bearings :P

Hey Jin,

I went to extreme psi and they mentioned that it has to be purchased via email. No online purchasing .. screwed.

They charge for the shipping as well. Have you pruchased from there before. I confirmed that my car is using the 7 bolt. As mentioned by SDF - VR 4 - using 6 bolt and EVO using 7 Bolt.

I can see some interesting stuff at Extremepsi.. the silicone hoses are cheap then the HKS Cams are also cheaper than Malaysia. Anyhow please advice me.

My block should be ready - I have sent it for balancing and lightening og Crank Pulley and Crank Shaft. After that I would do some grind valve and just polish the heads a little. I am worried due to the compression there will be a power drop from my EVO 3 - EVO 1.

I have already gotten TODA Racing Metal Head Gasket, HKS Twin Plate Racing Clutch and am going to dispose my Thailand Nitto Wastegate and Banana and get myself a proper Tial wastegate with a better banana. ( I saw one at SS Racing 0 already done for EVO's - going at RM 2000 with downpipe but it's quite steep ! Any suggestions ?? )

Cheers mate.

speedy : yes u can upgrade the fins in tong turbo
but big fin and small fin very little diffrence , better opt to 18g or 20g fin :)
please check my STICKY topic in Forced Induction to compare fin sizes

epj7900 : bro , if u r in a hurry please look in Engine & Performance section
there is a guy selling bearing brande KING BEARINGS , king bearing are also proven to be good and better than stocks.

Extreme psi dont worry , they communicate with email very very fast , out zth members buy stuff from there frequently.

Do not worry about the compression , higher compression not good for high boost
evo 1 haha , u can boost and kick the e3's ass in no time :) , wah look like ur budget is quite high :) can buy toda gasket , once u put the metal gasket , ur compression will go lower , i tink more than 1.7bar also still can run , actually you dont have to throw ur thailand wastegate , please contact joshua 0123205454 and get the ORIGINAL internal for your wastegate , then the wastegate would be reliable. Bana would be fine bro , anyway , what banana r u using now , Steel one ? Stainless Steel ?

Rm2k is tht purple tial 2nd hand one is it ? i also saw it in SS few days back :D

It's not that I have a big budget but I just want anything to be wrong. I dun want to spend money and convert to VR4 or anything like that. I really sayang the car - actually wanted to get back E3 but later my friend the foremen men told me that he has an Evo 1 stock and it's going cheap - so I said what the heck.. get that and upgrade a little.

My banana is steel - and wastegate is Nitto - the one looks like HKS. I sounds excelent and the blow off is SQV - since I have stainless steel piping the sound is like metal when the air gets released. Pretty nice. What do you think of the Tial & Banana at SS Racing ? Good deal or better get a new one. It's about the same I guess - only can save the installation fee - as it is already customized for EVO. I am planning to get the Stainless Steel one with wastegate outlet - then plug in a Tial Wastegate. Changing the internals of the Thailand wastegate to what ?? Meaning change the internals to the HKS ones is it ??

Actually I was planning to Thermal Wrap my Banana - so it would look nice and there will be a little lesser heat around there.

Extremepsi charge alot for shipping ah ?? What is yur opinion about King Bearings ??

Anyway thanks for the info.. will look out for it.

s1997 mau kena hantam with 63 flywheel ah .. hehehe

epj7900 :
my question is why upgrade when item is still ok ?
if i was u , i would keep the steel banana and nitto wastegate
use it for sometime till it gives way.
If wastegate diagfram rosak then u just not gonna get boost , wont harm the engine
u can change to tial then. Aiseh , if its TRUST then u can get TRUST GREEDY diagfram cheap cheap , but for nitto i got no idea bro.
For my opinion , dont go for the Tial and Banana in SS Racing
its 2k for Tial and Banana ?
i tink its better if u sell ur current banana cheap cheap
then change to new ss banana + new tial
new tial ranges from 750-900 now 38mm would do
SS banana now 1.2k can get em.
the Tial in SS is more bigger than 38mm i guess , i dont tink u gonna need it , 400hp car also using 38mm only la bro.
As for thermal wrap , best thermal wrap might cost lots of bucks
i saw the best was Sard Thermal Wrap which has ceramic layer

jinkl said:
new tial ranges from 750-900 now 38mm would do

dei, are you sure the 38mm Tial is around that price? Where to get? Mali mali kasi contact dan lokasi, want to buy already!!

I asked around, the cheapest I can get is 950.

Thank you very much 4G63T helpdesk opiser :D