WTA: Suitable lube for 4G63T?

Bro, I'll advice u to stick with Ultra cos it's not worth the risk. Wud rather hv piece of mind.

mobil got 15w50 meh??????????????????????????????
ha ha haaa...............i used mobil1 for so long only got 5w50 and 0w40(gold). The new Mobil turbo racing is 15w50 i think, but i hvent tried yet.

expenditious,
u very funny, people get more protection during trackdays............:stupid:.
go for endless oil for trackday i tried a few times work well.

Bro Stut,
Dont ignore the W coz our wheather is hot and we need light weight oil to protect the engine fast,
10w will be good, 15w too heavy/sluggish unless you goin for track.

ha ha haaa...............i used mobil1 for so long only got 5w50 and 0w40(gold). The new Mobil turbo racing is 15w50 i think, but i hvent tried yet.

expenditious,
u very funny, people get more protection during trackdays............:stupid:.
go for endless oil for trackday i tried a few times work well.

Bro Stut,
Dont ignore the W coz our wheather is hot and we need light weight oil to protect the engine fast,
10w will be good, 15w too heavy/sluggish unless you goin for track.

ahah yeah laa...since after track days still need to service maaa...
soo get cheaper better la...

do you change engine oil after track dayss?..
endless...how much??

ahah yeah laa...since after track days still need to service maaa...
soo get cheaper better la...

do you change engine oil after track dayss?..
endless...how much??
depends on how hard i track that day, if my fuel press very low and and hit fuel temp at high for long then i'll just change. As i said after track you can even get a cheaper oil for daily driving no need those expensive Motul etc.Even semi will do for normal driving, you can save alot from there compare to goin track once awhile or a blue moon.

If not mistaken rm230 -4L that was a year ago.
Tried redline but after sometime teppet very noisy.....hate it

Bear in mind that when u running on Endless during track, your Oil temp is slightly higher side compared to Motul or Trust ... expect to see somewhere between 110 to 120 deg C...

Still my favourite for track day is MOTUL 300V COMPETTION 15W 50, then for street is Mobil Gold and Trust (temp for street even in jam about 85 deg C) ..

brunei dun hav 15w50 for the mobil1, only hav 15w40 on sale............

so which one is better for street use???

15w40?? can i use Helix the green one?
or
10w40??

what is the diffrent between the w40 and w50??

Now im using HKS 10W50 but its to expensive $90bnd for 4L but feel to thin coz wheather to hot

hey bros, sorry that I gave the wrong code... my apologies. I need to check the lube codes again as it's in my store room. I usually stock them up cos I'm worry of price increase.

But I know W is for Winter, thought it's not useful for us. Okay okay, I'll take note.

Alfred/Paul,

a bit off topic...is it healthy to the engine...if we keep on switching between 2 brands with different viscosity???

For example : trackday : MOTUL 300V Competition 15W50
daily drive : MOBIL/TRUST/HKS/Endless oil....

But currently i only stick to MOTUL...
trackday : MOTUL 300V Competition 15W50
daily drive : same....hehehe coz seldom drive...oil change every 3 months (oklah with me)

well, as long as there's the correct lubrication for your moving parts, then it's fine. Lubrication meaning introducing a thin film of oil between the moving parts and to take away the dirts from combustion and heat.

It's the comfort of mind that when u are driving on the track with high boost and running at higher speeds, u want an oil that doesn't break down with the heat and loose it's lubrication properties.

For daily driving, it's unlikely that u'll be able to drive the way u drive on the track (Traffic jams, traffic lights etc.) So a similar viscosity (how thick/thin an oil is) oil for Turbo use is sufficient.

FYI, lubrication is all about the additives they add into the oil ... Motul has tested their oils at Le Man 24hr races etc ... so when u use it, u know it's been track proven and they make their own oil.

For daily drive and occasional short boost, Mobil, Shell, Endless and Trust (now it's called M7 or something like that) is sufficient.

I'm not vouching for the oil Makers above but merely stating what i would use given the facts. Note that HKS or Apexi is not in the picture becos they don't make their own oil ... and I've tried them once each but definitely, can feel inferior to the others above.

Someone told me before the turbocharged cars aren't suitable to use low vecosity oil as it's less thick, since turbine sips in a little bit of lube most of the time, it willl eventually gets lesser and needing top up. Another thing is, full sync will evaporate easier, so are all these claims true?

Yeah paul...agree with that...and you are referring to stock engine in general...

what about moded engine...let say 500hp 4G63T engine...is it advisable to use high end engine oil or still can use normal engine oil in the market???

Yeah paul...agree with that...and you are referring to stock engine in general...

what about moded engine...let say 500hp 4G63T engine...is it advisable to use high end engine oil or still can use normal engine oil in the market???

Datuk, u are not running all the time on high boost and putting out 500 horses all the time laa ..

If u never tekan petrol, then u won't be reaching 500 hp all the time right. Your engine is built to (ahemm!!:listen:) 500 hp at X.X Bar Boost ... exponentially down to the left of your power graph is where u would drive on a street/daily driver ... The "normal" engine oil in the market is sufficient laa as long as the grade is the same (10W-50) ... there's sufficient additives in it for your daily "not going to be reached on the city roads in Malaysia" driver with the occasional "devil" in u .... :rofl:

But then again, u can afford maa ... some more change at 3000 km ... wei, next time pass me the oil u remove from your engine ... i re-cycle ... then re-use laa.... :rofl::thefinger: Can use another 2000km ... (Eddie: U were right!! I 'cucuk' before sharing :rofl::thefinger:)

wei bro...that's why i ask around....if can use cheaper option but good...then why not, rite? hehehe:biggrin:

U all richer than me lar...my lubes change every 10k km.......I am using BHP F-Syn

Datuk, u are not running all the time on high boost and putting out 500 horses all the time laa ..

If u never tekan petrol, then u won't be reaching 500 hp all the time right. Your engine is built to (ahemm!!:listen:) 500 hp at X.X Bar Boost ... exponentially down to the left of your power graph is where u would drive on a street/daily driver ... The "normal" engine oil in the market is sufficient laa as long as the grade is the same (10W-50) ... there's sufficient additives in it for your daily "not going to be reached on the city roads in Malaysia" driver with the occasional "devil" in u .... :rofl:

But then again, u can afford maa ... some more change at 3000 km ... wei, next time pass me the oil u remove from your engine ... i re-cycle ... then re-use laa.... :rofl::thefinger: Can use another 2000km ... (Eddie: U were right!! I 'cucuk' before sharing :rofl::thefinger:)

Dunno bout you guys, I stick to my Amoil and sometimes Valvoline semis for every 5k intervals. Saw a friend of mine opened up his engine and he followed the same oil and oil change interval. Damn clean weih inside :D Oh btw it is 15W50. I tried 10W40 once. During morning startup, the engine sounds a lil rough. With 15W50 no problem at all.

Egiewan, mind to share the price for the Amoil and Valvoline semis u are using??