Slow acceleration

prodigy

Guys,

Noticed that my car's acceleration been really really slow. It wasn't like that before and the engine used to be quite rev happy and now, it feels like i'm pulling an elephant behind. BTW, i'm driving a EJ9 Civic SOHC VTEC.

I actually serviced the car 3 weeks ago and could have possibly used the wrong lubes. I used Q8 F1(the gold color one bought from Eneos for RM190). Additionally, i just changed tyres from Yokohama's to Michelin and on the Yoko's i used 185/60/14 while the new Michelins are 185/65/14.

I've not changed anything else in my car but just this few weeks i feel the car is extremely sluggish off the block and as a result, i'm pressing harder on the accelerator and my petrol consumption has rised dramatically. Used to be able to do like 460Km on RM75. Now only like 400Km on RM75.

I'm thinking of a few reasons, please give some advise.

1. Used the wrong lube oil. Maybe the lube is "too thick" for my engine. Its the synthetic blend Q8 F1 oil and its probably suitable only for high compression turbo cars.

2. My new tyres that is higher profile. Used to be 60 series, now 65 series. Bigger profile means heavier tyres. Heavier tyres will slow down the car during acceleration.

3. Could be my exhaust leaking. Been noticing a slight hissing sound when i'm doing 110kmh for about 4-5 months back. Didn't gave much damn about it. Again, i'm not sure if its leaking on extractor, mid box or muffler.

What could be the possible cause? Any input is appreciated.

heh, check ur lube specification... example 10w-40... but da lube doesnt change muc~ unless if small car like kancil use 20w-50 lol~..

how bout startup car? normal or slow?

prodigy, try send your car to autochild for a full service.
http://zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=81308&highlight=autochild

Hmm, not much response.

Start up feels fine, no difficulty at all. Its only lately that i feel the acceleration is terrible. I've been to Autochild to service my dads car aircon. They're extremely professional with cars but i'd say they're more of a maintenance type of business. That means you send your car there to keep it in tip top condition. As for my problem here, i think there's something that needs to be fixed. Either a leaking exhaust, wrong lube or whatsoever and i don't know whats wrong.

Ultimately i can just send the car to the workshop and let the mechanic solve the problem but it'll only make the mechanic take out his butcher knife to slaughter me with his thousand and one recommendation to fix it. If i can pinpoint one problem to him, that would be so much better and makes him think twice when charging me.

Just trying my luck here, in case someone had this kinda problem before.