WTA 7AGE pro n cons

scottwrx

dear all sifus

i m planning to play 7A block.. planning only.. so i would like to know if there is any pro n cons of putting 7A block to bt...

as far as i know pro is good torque
cons is dropping of power in high rev due to longer stroke, and the block cannot stand hi rev, max 7200 rpm.. is that correct?

q1 . can use back bt piston, conrod, crankshaft?, if can, can stand hi rev? max 8000rpm lah..
q2. will lightened flywheel solve the high rev power dropping issues?
q.3 will crankshaft balancing solve the reliability when always going hi rev?
q4. what is the fc of 7AGE, can get lower than 9l/100km?
q5. can play wif hi cam ar?

contemplating to play 7A.. juz dreaming only lah.... will go for it if know exactly what to do.. coz no cash for trial n error..damn expensive for experimenting loh...

ans1: only use bt piston, 8000rpm no problem
ans2: i never tried using lightweight flywheel on 7a. couldn't find
ans3: yes it will....i balanced n rebore to fit in oversize piston
ans4: with 4a i got around 380km full tank, with 7a 450km full tank with cams n etc
ans5: yes i was using 272cams that time

power speed charge RM3k+ to fit 7A into bt, this includes labour n 7a eng block.....balancing n etc is optional charges.....i did all rebore n balanced on it.....think i paid around RM5K last time...

comparing with modding a bt, cams, valve spring, n etc, 7a a is value for $$$

I have no 1st hand experience on the 7AGE but from my limited knowlege surfing overseas forum, the main weakness of the 7A is the conrods & bolts. I guess tom's is the best person to answer further questions as he has a working/running 7AGE.

btw tom's is it possible to run a 7AGE with stock ECU with no aftermarket management? Also have you dynoed your car when it was running 7AGE + cams + maybe management? Thanks bro.

Wah Sifu toms,
FC with 7a block is that much better than standard? Sounds really good man...
I'm getting racun dy..

Scott, if you get around to playing 7A.. Try to share some good tips with us ya..
If play 7A and still got high rev power.. SHIOK oh!!!

actually it a good combination of 7A and 4AG... but just the rev problem...
Con:
1. Can't rev till too high
2. reving up to max also slightly slow
3. respond also no that good

Anyway, my dream crank still on 5AG.... hahaha

I have no 1st hand experience on the 7AGE but from my limited knowlege surfing overseas forum, the main weakness of the 7A is the conrods & bolts. I guess tom's is the best person to answer further questions as he has a working/running 7AGE.

i do know those overseas forum always mentioned the 7A weakness is conrods but yet non of them manage to snap it yet. whahahahhahaha

dear all sifus

i m planning to play 7A block.. planning only.. so i would like to know if there is any pro n cons of putting 7A block to bt...

as far as i know pro is good torque
cons is dropping of power in high rev due to longer stroke, and the block cannot stand hi rev, max 7200 rpm.. is that correct?

q1 . can use back bt piston, conrod, crankshaft?, if can, can stand hi rev? max 8000rpm lah..
q2. will lightened flywheel solve the high rev power dropping issues?
q.3 will crankshaft balancing solve the reliability when always going hi rev?
q4. what is the fc of 7AGE, can get lower than 9l/100km?
q5. can play wif hi cam ar?

wah...bro scottwrx going for 7A ah...4A also damn fast edi,now wit 7A kenot see the car liao...hehe..:vroam:
anyway these r some of my experience wit 7A...
ans 1. as tom's say use bk bt piston,or u can opt for 16v piston better durability,and the conrod if u can find crower or other high performance wan will be better coz my mech said the ori 7A conrod will go soft in around a year time.
ans 2. dun lighten the flywheel the heavier the better,u'll need the torque if u wan to play wit vtec.
ans 3. this wan i'm not sure whether will solve the high rev problem not but i know ur accelaration will be lighter
ans 4. wit 7A definitely will save more fuel,i'm doing 400-420km full tank driving WOT all the way.
ans 5. hi cam sure no problem lah...

juz my 2 cents...:biggrin:

yaloh, i also did some research online, and found out that the main weakness of 7a is the conrod n hi rev, unlike bt which is forged steel...

hunger for more power mah.. hehe..4A not enough..hehe.. n dun wan to spend money on performance part which is not really value for money, might as well do one shot 7A, balanced crank, hi cam, adjustable pulley n stuff.... muahahaha.....

juz afraid of reliability n hi rev issues...

btw, bro toms, thanx for sharing wif me last nite on the 7A knowledge... :adore:

ans 1. as tom's say use bk bt piston,or u can opt for 16v piston better durability,and the conrod if u can find crower or other high performance wan will be better coz my mech said the ori 7A conrod will go soft in around a year time.

bro, i dont agreed with your mech. I've been boosting my stock 7afe for 3 years liao and no sign of conrod soften (i dunno how it can be soften also). As i mentioned, alot of plp saying 7a conrod is weak but so far non reported snap, not that i have heard of.

This is stock 7A with boost. 218whp / 188 ft/lb of torque at 15 PSI. Its with AUTO gearbox.

http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/9597/oobe7aftebh5.jpg

wah...bro scottwrx going for 7A ah...4A also damn fast edi,now wit 7A kenot see the car liao...hehe..:vroam:
ans 2. dun lighten the flywheel the heavier the better,u'll need the torque if u wan to play wit vtec.
ans 3. this wan i'm not sure whether will solve the high rev problem not but i know ur accelaration will be lighter
ans 4. wit 7A definitely will save more fuel,i'm doing 400-420km full tank driving WOT all the way.
ans 5. hi cam sure no problem lah...

juz my 2 cents...:biggrin:

ehehe... juz contemplating only lah.. if got budget sure go for it one.... very very hungry already, need 180 bhp to be satisfied... outside keep damn standard, muffler tip hide... and wait to see those vtec guys facial expression...one of my fren eg9 with b18c kena tapau by 7a once, since then he got takut when hear tektektektek diesel sound... muahahaha.... :thefinger:

how much did spent on the conversion last time? total cost including labour n parts.. coz according to bro toms, need to change to adjustable exhaust cam pulley...

bro normality78 : wat my mech mean by soften conrod in short is will loose power after a while...i'm myself also not quite sure actually how is mean soften...:hmmmm:
and u say u're using 7AFE wit BOT? is it?
bro scottwrx : total cost including parts and labour for my 7A conversion is around 10k coz i change alot of things almost every part bought brand new including e manage also lah...
regarding the exhaust campulley is it the vvt campulley ah?i've change both the campulley to adjustable wan but now my tuner told me to change bk to ori wan more power woh...:dontknow:

bro normality78 : wat my mech mean by soften conrod in short is will loose power after a while...i'm myself also not quite sure actually how is mean soften...:hmmmm:
and u say u're using 7AFE wit BOT? is it?

yup, im running on 7AFTE

scottwrx : sorry lah,i dunno how differentiate the pulley lah,always got mixed up wan...so when u wan to start the project?

normality78 : wow...u bought the whole half cut ah??

Haha.. I'm gonna sit back a bit and let you all try 7A first.
No money to do a conversion at the moment.

Wahh... dyno figures at 218whp?!? Quite shiok le...

Wat size turbo you using bro normality?

i heard b4 7a conrod broken....7AGE with blitz turbo kit on vios done by viswork johor....conrod went thru the block.....the owner of the car increase the boost too high.......heard they rebuild another 1 using custom australia con rod......

i believe the original 7a conrod should be good enuf.... if i have a budget i'll rebuilt 1 7AGE engine n keep for my future car...

tom's... the vios guy you mentioned.. his car appeared on hypertune right?

The 400hp turbocharged vios with blacktop inside?