which engine is hardest to maintain

guest18

among all engine out there ,which one is the hardest to maintain

Originally posted by guest18@Mar 22 2005, 16:38
[snapback]830822[/snapback]​

Question too general la.

I would say turbo engines from the 70's or something.

how about top fuel drag engines which require a rebuilt after every run?

Originally posted by guest18@Mar 22 2005, 16:38
[snapback]830822[/snapback]​

hardest? in terms of cost? or parts? or overhauling the gawd damn enjin after every oil change?

F1...
park to long engine boom
rev too long engine boom
down shifts to fast engine boom.....
sumtimes nuthing oso boom....

ok ok .. of all engine that is being transplatted here and there
like 6g63 b8 sr20det and l200

in term of cost to maintance it like cost for the overhaul timing belt etc to make the engine working

since the question is too general,
i can only give general answer -- old engine.

btw
heard that Rotary engine is kind of hard to maintain, any RE owner at zth can confirm that?

very troublesome engines, like mazda v6 yang leceh,need to take out intake to change plugs,

i heard subaru impreza,is also not so fun to service

Originally posted by BlackSamurai@Mar 22 2005, 18:19

btw
heard that Rotary engine is kind of hard to maintain, any RE owner at zth can confirm that?
[snapback]831149[/snapback]​

I believe that this is only true in Malaysia because of lack of good rotary mechanics (even though there are real good ones).

Look at it this way lah, take a somthing like the the old volkswagon beetle, air cooled, no efi, no ecu, definately a simple engine to maintain. Compared to that, every morden engine is hard to maintain?

New Mercedes-Benz engines .. my fren always curz one if come to servicing. He works at Naza Motors, nowadays Mercedes cars fully have electronics, summore wanna service the engine .. hand oso cannot put inside cause all units very tight in place ..

Source: My frens experience ...

hmm..i think here in malaysia, rotary engine is the worst engine to maintain ler, seal bocor, fuel cons. high, no mechanics, pricy parts..

Originally posted by sakuraguy@Mar 22 2005, 19:42
Grixism .. nvm larr.. roadtax cheap wat .. ;)
[snapback]831369[/snapback]​

compensated with high fuel consumption? :P :lol:

heard the rotary engines need to be overhauled every now and then cuz of petrol problems? (non-compatible or something)

there are actually quite a few RE drivers here in Zth and they are very technical equiped. in fact there are a few RE drivers who can rebuild RE here in malaysia in thier own back yard. maintance for any car is the same either u do it at the required millage or you spoil it eventually. oil change etc etc.

i'm running on the normal shell ( not optimax) and it runs well so far no probs. u guys can have a look at the RE club in the mazda section. its not really that scary beside there are plenty of support if anything happens.

Originally posted by BenWang+Mar 22 2005, 19:18 -->
QUOTE(BenWang @ Mar 22 2005, 19:18 )
--QuoteBegin-BlackSamurai
@Mar 22 2005, 18:19

btw
[snapback]831149[/snapback]​

I believe that this is only true in Malaysia because of lack of good rotary mechanics (even though there are real good ones).

Look at it this way lah, take a somthing like the the old volkswagon beetle, air cooled, no efi, no ecu, definately a simple engine to maintain. Compared to that, every morden engine is hard to maintain?
[snapback]831303[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

the beetle engine can get quite naughty at times...maybe it's just my experience ;)

hmm..i must say...for my expirience

new engine are difficult to maintain..hahah
EFi la...ECU la.....all computer stuff

just my oppinions

Originally posted by boonyloh@Mar 23 2005, 00:54
there are actually quite a few RE drivers here in Zth and they are very technical equiped. in fact there are a few RE drivers who can rebuild RE here in malaysia in thier own back yard. maintance for any car is the same either u do it at the required millage or you spoil it eventually. oil change etc etc.

i'm running on the normal shell ( not optimax) and it runs well so far no probs. u guys can have a look at the RE club in the mazda section. its not really that scary beside there are plenty of support if anything happens.
[snapback]832236[/snapback]​

ahhhh....of course this will ease my mind!really mind trumbling story i've heard about those REs before, and of course who knows better than those who owning it rite?? :D