What's going on at LowYat plaza?

i can't believe no one has mentioned this yet.

but it looks like the they are bringing Japan's Harajuku district culture to Malaysia

haha this thread go off topic liao.. shud rename to "What's going on in KL?" haha

Wahahahahaha....the emo payung pics make me laugh like hell.....Wahahahahaha...idont dare to go out with those stuff on me...hell no !!!....all like attending funeral...

satria_95 said:
xtracooljustin,
Dude, you straightened your hair already (as in the avatar?). hehe just kidding, dude. Kinda didn't see your post for quite a while now. hehe

Honestly, I can tolerate anybody of any style as long as they're hygienic (no body odour or breath odour or any kind of odour) and don't behave like they have no parents. So long they are nice people, then it's alright. I just feel that it's not all that fair to judge people just cos they wear worst than jar jar binks. hehe

By the way, what's the word "emo"? What does it mean?

heh heh... all these while i hav always been using Amber's pic as avatar wat...

im currently adjusting back to da hectic life of being an architecture student in JB. Haiz... always miss my working days.

i've taken my computing business to other place like Midvalley as those places are more civilised. Really scared of going lowyat liao. damn crowded n da expensive car park fees.

From what i see, read blah blah. Gothic culture is not that nice. Partly because it is quite related to satanism. If anyone were to dress like that ghoulish girl shown just now, you think it would go down well with Malaysian public? Now you guys just shown pictures of Malaysian youths description of gothic or the likes. Unfortunately none of us are into gothic culture. Including me. But at least i know what they are trying to do.:regular_smile:

If you notice carefully the gothic look they did is derived from cartoon shows like Nightmare before Christmas and Corpse Bride. Both cartoons features suits, umbrellas and some form of facial makeup. The other things like sneakers are derived from Japanese Manga/ anime. You guys read manga and watch anime right? I'm sure you can see the how these guys get their looks. I mean if i look at it in another way, its good to play dress up for them la. Rather than the mat rempit look of t-shirt and jeans beside their mean machine.:shades_smile:

Anyway gothic look. No one noticed how the guys in Green Day look? How about Good Charlotte? Music videos and music awards. Look carefully how they dress. How they make up. Don't they look somewhat similar to the guys pictured earlier? Of course Green day and Good charlotte can afford 5000 dollar suits for the look. You just can't compare what you can afford just to get the look. You browse girls magazine like CLEO, they always show you the seasons hottes looks from Gucci, Armani, D&G, blah blah and cheap alternative look alikes from cheaper brands like PDI, SEED, Giordano, blah blah. So whats the big deal?:_:

Punks are are quite hard to be accepted, even by me. I mean partly because the skin head (army cut) and the spiked hardo. Tight jeans with some rocker t-shirt and denim jacket. Some spiked accesories and cowboy style boots or converse sneakers.:X-:

Lets not forget those harajuku girls. Long colorful stockings, pretty anime look dresses and shoes. And many little tiny cute cartoon accesories.:angel_smile:

These 3 clans can easily be seen in Bukit Bintang area. I believe no where else.:_:

In the end my point is, you guys dig Nike, but you don't play basketball, like Adidas but you are no rapper. And people still buy bucketloads of shoes which defies function, just to get the look. Sometimes, its just so boring to look at people with the same waxed hairdo you know?:Not_Impressed: BTW i'm just a regular guys with a keen eye for the unusual.

And my most important point is.... WTF has gothic, punk and harajuku people do with Low Yat plaza anyway?:confused_smile: They don't dictate how Low Yat plaza runs!! The tenants does!!!

Woo..i saw alot of this "alien" in UK...but those looks better than THESE ppl...hopeless..

netmatrix, you are seriously ignorant if you think that that is all there is to the goth culture or even the punk culture.

pick up an encyclopedia or try wikipedia before you comment on something that you have minimal knowledge of, which apparently you have mostly derived only from the media.

analogous to what you are saying would be, all people who frequent snooker clubs are gangsters and troublemakers. so i suppose Jimmy White and James Wattana were bad ass thugs in their day?

nonsense.

and grohl, your definition of the goth culture is completely off. again you are making uninformed decisions based on speculation, filled in with imagination and nonsense.

H.R.Giger who is widely attributed to having designed the "Alien" is a style called bio-mechanoid, nothing to do with goth.

Goth is a post-punk subculture which leans heavily on the "dark" aspect of life, of which Death is a favourite topic. it also delves into androgynism and victorianism as inspiration.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Goth

Satanism is religious movement that advocates the worship of Satan and within itself has many denominations. Church of Satan, LaVeyans, Order of Nine, etc.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satanism

as for those umbrella clowns in black, they can dress however they want as long as they are not hurting themselves or anyone else.

they can very well have better moral values than a lot of us in here for that matter. we have our loud exhausts and GT spoilers, they have their black eyeliners and holed umbrellas.

it's no different when our parents had their 15 inch bell bottoms, 6 inch platform shoes and 35 inch afro.

to each his own & judge not less ye be judged.

But differ i'm not against them!!! Unfortunately u DIFFER from what i posted about them. I didn't say they were 100% goth. Did i mentioned manga/ anime? Unfortunately for goth fans, there are people who practice satanism, worship somethings, blah blah. There is no true gothic like u wanna say. If there is, is it just fashion? Hello!!! Did anyone forgot the culumbine shooting incident? Black trenchcoats don't make gothic people. But then again, did the gothic community got scared? You tell me!

I think i pin u up when i said i can't accept punks. I didn't say i loathe them!! I had friends during schooling days that dresses like that weekends! I could live with them, but not the style.

Anyway i don't really car for whoever wanna live the style they choose. Even if they wanna dress like donald trump, who am i to judge? I WASN'T negative in the first place.

I did mention i had a keen eye for the unusual. Meaning i like to see difference. Anyway are you 100% into goth, punk or something? I would care to say at least i know something rather than nothing. Unless you can provide proof 100% goth people around the world including malaysia never dabbled in cutting up animals for fun, then tell me!!

But still then i dun care for their culture. Only their looks. hahaha. Unfortunately i'm not gonna look like them. Ok probably closet culture. Thats me!

Oh yeah when those pictures was taken i happen to be around that day. There was quite a huge gathering or something. And i did saw some girls use camera phones to take pictures with them!!! Nowdays police wanna catch them for dressing that way. If they dress 100% like those ghoulish goth looks sure kantoi liao.

THE GOTH CULTURE:
Its history, stereotypes, religious connections, etc.

http://www.religioustolerance.org/goth.htm

-------------------------------------------------------------------

what a Goth TRULY is.... and what it means..
http://www.answers.com/topic/goth-1

http://www.answers.com/topic/ostrogoth
http://www.answers.com/topic/visigoth

it is said that the goth culture came from these goth clans (which some refer to as pillagers, plunderers, murderers bla bla bla)....the last 2 links above would be the 2 most significant clans in history.... however, the umbrella girls (and so-called guys) on previous pages are just people whos trying to make it as an F1 pit girl/umbrella girl.

the pic munky posted would be a MUCH better and true representative of what the current gothic culture/dressing/attitude is like. and as u can see.... the pic munky posted doesnt have an umbrella in it

again, goth culture has nothing to do with satanism. death and satan are two complete different ideas/entity.

you bring up columbine, but what has got to do with anything? it is not a trend of the goth subculture to go around sporting black trenchcoats so i really don't see the connection. that tragedy was perpetrated bunch of psycho-american-brats called themselves the trenchcoat mafia. gun crazy rednecks with emotional/psychological problems, maybe... but definitely not Goth. again, no offense but you have zero idea on what you are talking about.

speaking about punks, i used to work with a guy who was the lead vocal of a quite famous underground punk band in england. imagine my surprise when i found out that he was a vegan, not just vegetarian, VEGAN. he says he cannot stand the thought of hurting a living creature. :?

cutting up animals for fun? it would be good to know that a lot of surgeons i know used to actually enjoy animal dissection in class, way over than the acceptable level of fun. these ppl are now respected in the medical community and charge an excess of rm5000 to take scalpel to your lumpy body. there's another who used to study for his medical exams in the mortuary's waiting room because he feels more comfortable around the dead. he's a doctor now.

the point i am telling you is this. you are generalising an entire culture based on a few loose strands thrown together with exaggerated media exposure when in actual fact you have close to zero knowledge about. i'm not asking you to "care" about their culture or even embrace it. but do open your mind and liberate it from the shackles of egotism, read more and understand something before coming on to a public place to make your comments.

you might as well say, "all malays on motorbikes are mat rempits, i dun care for their culture". same difference.

like i said, ignorant people in malaysia and amongst these people are politicians and the police. they would rather spend their time/resources to nab these ppl for "dressing different" as to let's say, catch snatch thieves or shut down the syndicates behind organized theft.

why? dunno. *shrug* maybe cos it's easier to catch non-criminals.

so if i attended a Halloween Party in KL and dressed up as Jack Skellington, i would get arrested? for what? on suspicion that i'm going to kidnap Sandy Claws or perform some necromantic ritual to raise the dead in the KgBaru cemetery?

oh and to answer your question, no i'm not a punk, neither am i a goth. i am a geek who spends too much time on the computer and PS2, who spends too much money on his car.

good sources Madman, especially the site on religioustolerance.com

but a mistake is that the Goth culture did not derive from the Goth race, same word different meaning. erm, if you played Age of Empires II, you would have come across the Goths as a playable race.

the word Goth here is more correctly derived (or rather, assumed to be) from Gothic literature which themes around darkness, mystery and horror.

damn bengs with J-pop style come to KLCC, sit at Gloria Jeans and talk so loud like it's Bentong kopitiam.

my client was so irritated and cursed all the way through our discussion... luckily he's Singaporean and admit the coffee beans there much more worse in whole KLCC cafes combined... hahahahaah

xtracooljustin,
You in johor meh? shoulda pm and asked for your number cos i was in jb twice last month. Stayed at new york hotel on first trip, at puteri pac on second trip. hehe the chicks who work at the lobby restaurant quite nice looking ler hehe

I know what i am talking about. I read just as much as you do. But you don't listen and look as well as you talk..... unfortunately.:_:

I took out columbine because of the dark nature of the events. Did you know after that, the police and almost every parent did a check on kids that wear black all the time. Goth, rockers, blah blah. They were scared. They didn't understand. What about the so many blogs and stories about the event? I didn't read them all. But it sort of generalize the whole black clothes wearing people doesn't it? I didn't do that. I read about it and seen it on tv. I wasn't there. My point it did affect the goth community. I didn't say they were related. Ok probably i didn't take much time telling why i took out columbine. I thought many would be smart enough to see some similarities.:sad_smile:

There are so called goth fellas practicing cutting up animals, drawing pentagrams in abandoned buildings. Unfortunately, you didn't see and read those too. I believe these peope only make up 10-20% of the whole goth community. I DIDN'T generalize everyone. I did not say every goth must be a surgeon too! I'm not talking about kids future either! I'm not talking what they are gonna be! If they can be succesful even if they are maniacal now, their choice. Why do you keep going off topic? And we are off topic enough already!!:Not_Impressed:

I said i can accept punks (looks). But i canot live with them. Probably i'm scared that their hairdo and acesories might be fatal to me! hahaha. Anyway what does a VEGAN pun have to do with this anyway? I know a non serious monk who is secretly a meat eater. Should i kick him in the butt? No! He makes his choices. I'm not God! I don't make choices for them. They do and accept the concequences. Like us talking about them. Out of topic again!!:Not_Impressed:

HELLO! Malays are generally mat rempits? You said it, not me! My place got a lot of mat rempits, from Indo, Bangla and Myanmar also. hahaha. You crack me up. Such shallow mind when you made degrading remarks like those. I didn't care to look at races. People no matter from where they are, bleed, have sex and die. Colour and race no issue. I never want to mention races cause i know the consequences. Its Merdeka month baby! And if you wanna degrade races, you could hang out at Yahoo forums under Negaraku header. Those are for somewat DIFFERent people.:angel_smile:

Oh yeah about those umbrella jokers you called them. I defend them. Because they can't come out no more because the authorities are cracking down on them. U know what the dates on the pictures, i was there that time in Times Square. I think one of their gatherings. It was Saturday. They were walking in a big group. They took pictures. And some passerby even took pictures with them!!! Where is that cute girl with the camera phone? I thik after this no more these kind of people. Some say good riddance. But i say i was there. hahaha.:_:

Anyway BACK TO TOPIC. I seriously think that the management of Low Yat Plaza should enforce the no cigarette issue. Its that bad, just being there for 30 minutes and you end up smelling like you were in the arcades in Sg Wang. And if we wanna get a good deal on stuff there, should learn their slang. hahaha. That is talk laced with profanities. hahaha.:X-:

didnt go to klcc for ages

didnt know they turned it into circus playground LOL