what u think about VVT ???

Do you think VVT is waste money for 4AGE 20v to have it.

• 4 throttle is special made for high rev, why we still need VVT???

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 20v cams too much overlap for lower end, i need VVT !!!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Netmatrix,
i totally agree wif ur statements. Look at the market improvement of VVT-i technology enhancement now.. its a continuous effort of technological wise in automobile and economy boosting as well for the car manufacturer.. :)

Lee,
ur car mcsb ar? i dengar telinga kiri keluar telinga kanan.. hahaahahahahaahahahahaahaha.... ur car is GT-300 series liao lar :D :lol: :ph34r:

Regards,
Mike

i thought only GT90 ? :lol: .

because my car is only 1600 cc maa...

hmm lets see, vvt-i was develop to enhance the induction timing by changing the cam phasing from normal to advance and vice versa. with this a normal engine could breath better at both low and high rpm where engines without vvt-i will start to choke.

the vvt-i system has always been evolving like the most recent the vvtl-i, which can be seen in the new celica and mrs.
this system works almost the same way the honda vtec system. most of the modern cars uses vvt-i or vvtl-i but each manufacturer will have its own name for it. bmw-valvetronik, honda-vtec, daihatsu-dvvt ect.

basically the vvt-i is an automated adjustable pully that will optimise the cam setting according to engine speed and load. so you dont have to stop the car and adjust the pulley whenever you want power or just to drive economically.

to get the best out of an na or naturally aspirated (all non turbo or supercahrged) engine you have to rev, the higher the rev the more hp you make. revving a 12v engine feels lighter and easier than an 8v engine, this is because the more valves you have the easier the engine to breath. so engineers have calculated without sacrificing strengh and other variables that the most efficient number of valve per-cylinder is five.

now for the throttle part its the same case as the valves, the more throttle you have the better the flow.

by taking out the vvt-i the 20valve is still technically better than the 16v. this is because the 20v was develop for high revving applications and the 20v cylinderhead was actually develop with the help from yamaha as it is the same with all 4a-g engines. hence why the 20v behave more like a bike engine.

in order to develop more power in the 16v, you have to lighten and ballence the internals, slot in high compression pistons, fit a high duration cams (272), fit individual throttle bodies, port and polish the cylinder head, all of which the 20v already have from the factory. infact the 20v is basically a detuned race engine.

going back to taking out the vvti system is actually not a good idea. this is because the 20v is designed to have loads of power at high revs, it suffer on the low end output with a high revving cam. that is one of the reason why the vvt-i was included in the development of the engine although.

i got more but type later lah, sleepy already.

ps: i'm sadly taking out the vvt-i because it have develop a serious problem which actully can be fixed but not in malaysia because nobody have the knowledge and parts to do it. :(

FYI 20v doesn't come with VVT-i .. only VVT ... and also 20v cams are no where considered high cams don't know can consider mild cams or not also .. hahaha

VVT retards intake/advance cam by fixed 5 degree

VVT-i retards intake/advance cam by variable 15 deg depending on situations/load hence the term intelligence

Both using same cam profile no switching of cams this is done by VVTL-i

Originally posted by buck-7@Feb 18 2005, 00:16
most of the modern cars uses vvt-i or vvtl-i but each manufacturer will have its own name for it. bmw-valvetronik, honda-vtec, daihatsu-dvvt ect.
I thaught everybody pay license to toyota to use their VVT-i except change name. So it's all VVT-i in 100%

basically the vvt-i is an automated adjustable pully that will optimise the cam setting according to engine speed and load. so you dont have to stop the car and adjust the pulley whenever you want power or just to drive economically.
yolk basically pointed the mistake you made here.

now for the throttle part its the same case as the valves, the more throttle you have the better the flow.
Ha, is it ah? but I thought 20v has bad intake velocity at low rpm compared long intake runners, which most other cars have ..........

by taking out the vvt-i the 20valve is still technically better than the 16v. this is because the 20v was develop for high revving applications and the 20v cylinderhead was actually develop with the help from yamaha as it is the same with all 4a-g engines. hence why the 20v behave more like a bike engine.
Ya lor, technically better.

But I kena tapau beefore by 16v, stock some more, so don't lah, I think back also phobia now :( meh he heh eh hehe heh eh

20v behave like bike engine, that I don't know lah, I don't know how to ride bike. I only know their performance engine minimum rev to 14k rpm and some times 19k rpm. Wah like F1 - I like :)

yolk- FYI 20v doesn't come with VVT-i .. only VVT ... and also 20v cams are no where considered high cams don't know can consider mild cams or not also .. hahaha

=sorry, so use to just typing vvt-i according to the toyota press release. my bad.

yolk- Both using same cam profile no switching of cams this is done by VVTL-i

= thats what i said what. cam phasing not profile.

acoustic- thaught everybody pay license to toyota to use their VVT-i except change name. So it's all VVT-i in 100%

my bad again, its not vvt-i. i meant variable valve timing.

acoustic-Ha, is it ah? but I thought 20v has bad intake velocity at low rpm compared long intake runners, which most other cars have ..........

=err i'm talking about high rpm application for maximum power output.

in order to develop more power in the 16v, you have to lighten and ballence the internals, slot in high compression pistons, fit a high duration cams (272), fit individual throttle bodies, port and polish the cylinder head, all of which the 20v already have from the factory. infact the 20v is basically a detuned race engine.
But hor in www.club4ag.com forums allot of people are saying, if a 20v owner spends RM5k and a 16v owner spends RM5k the 16v owner will get more power than the 20v owner wor.

Some how I believe them........ further more I lost to 16v before, so I very phobia 16v :(

ps: i'm sadly taking out the vvt-i because it have develop a serious problem which actully can be fixed but not in malaysia because nobody have the knowledge and parts to do it. :(
aiyah, replace of the VVT solenoid and the VVT pulley only mah. Order from Alvin @ tom's kau-tim lor :)

when arrive, just install, 30 mins enough :) sure cun one :)

don't give up ler :)

Originally posted by Acoustic+Feb 18 2005, 09:46 -->
QUOTE (Acoustic @ Feb 18 2005, 09:46 )
--QuoteBegin-buck-7
@Feb 18 2005, 00:16

aiyah, replace of the VVT solenoid and the VVT pulley only mah. Order from Alvin @ tom's kau-tim lor :)

when arrive, just install, 30 mins enough :) sure cun one :)

don't give up ler :) [/b][/quote]
not everyone willing and want to spend more than RM1k just to get one damn vvt pulley <_< :lol:

ok then..
anyone willing to test?
put both stock 20v with VVT and without VVT together to run in 1/4mile???
some say with VVT the engine so good, and without also so good...
prove it.. kekeke

Originally posted by Acoustic+Feb 18 2005, 09:33 -->
QUOTE (Acoustic @ Feb 18 2005, 09:33 )
--QuoteBegin-buck-7

Ha, is it ah? but I thought 20v has bad intake velocity at low rpm compared long intake runners, which most other cars have .......... [/b][/quote]
thats what i heard too.. and tauhutauhu last time told me somehow 16v have better low end torque :blink:

read from some other forum who fight over which is better 16v vs 20v (wah~ perang saudagar :( ) and got report on same car same amount of mod quater mile 16v won by half a car length.. probably just the driver tho...

eh.. bill sherwood got say 16v can gain more power right? something like "max hp you can get from a 20v is less, 30hp less than a good 16v..." if i'm not mistaken...

Originally posted by Acoustic+Feb 18 2005, 09:33 -->
QUOTE (Acoustic @ Feb 18 2005, 09:33 )
--QuoteBegin-buck-7

Ha, is it ah? but I thought 20v has bad intake velocity at low rpm compared long intake runners, which most other cars have .......... [/b][/quote]
aiyoyoooooo

since u already know the 20v 4 throttle flow bad at low rpm then why u still looking for the low end maxinum power?? 20v is built for high rev engine, all race engine power band is looking above 4000rpm-9000rpm.. u want faster car u need better top end power, u want street car go for long intake runner + low duration single cams maybe small port 16v 4AGE or small valve angle 7A-FE, 4agze also good for low rpm but not on a 4AGE 20v

u want have both, throw away 4AG and get V8. i dont get the reason why u want transplant 20v into your car and still asking for streetable low end power. everyone looking forward to improve the engine but u looking forward to built a more streetable 20v..
apa apa motor bike engine theory, 4 throttle bad low rpm velocity la, cams duration not ngam for low rev reason also come in already kekekeke

may i know what the reason why u put 4AGE 20v into your KE70 and done so much research on the factory setup?

go for stroker kit 9AG, keep the stock head and VVT. sure satisfied u to drive at street.

Originally posted by rollakid@Feb 18 2005, 15:43
9AG?? whats that???
u take a 5A and put it in a 4A then u get 9A lorr .. hahahaahahahaa .... :P