What would u guys think about this setup?

skullbocks

Wud really like your thoughts and opinions/advice for the following.

1) Alpine CDA-9847
http://www.satellite-radio-news.net/Products/Alpine_CDA-9847.asp

2) Alpine SPS-171A
http://www.alpine-usa.com/en/products/product.php?model=SPS-171A&lang=en&tab=F

3) Eclipse SP8994 (6x9" 2-Way Point Source)
http://www.eclipse-web.com.au/point/sp8994.html

What do u guys have to say about this entire setup/individual products? In terms of SOUND QUALITY or anything else?

What is the best recommended amp to go with this setup? What to look for in an amp for this setup? What kind of AMP ratings/specs/functions shud i look for?

thanks.

Cheers.
skullbocks.

cant say from equipments only. The installation is very important. If it is not good, even the expensive stuffs sound bad.

i suggest u dont get that 6x9 speakers and use the money saved to get a good 4x50w amp. Use 2-channel to power the comp. set and bridged the other 2 channels to power a sub.

hi kippo,

y is it tt u suggest not to get a 6x9? dont we need to have speakers for the rear as well?
is 4x50W suffiecent enough? Or do i need to get around 75/100W RMS?can u name a few please. I really dont know which one to get.

talking about getting a sub, man i really dont know which one to go for? I'm most worried about box enclosure as if i dun get it write, even the meanest sub can sound the lamest.

Kippo said:
cant say from equipments only. The installation is very important. If it is not good, even the expensive stuffs sound bad.

i suggest u dont get that 6x9 speakers and use the money saved to get a good 4x50w amp. Use 2-channel to power the comp. set and bridged the other 2 channels to power a sub.

bridging the balance 2 channel to power subwoofer most likely will not be enough power for most subwoofer.

I would recommend him to use a 4 channel amp with power rating of 75 rms at 4 ohm like Phd 4075 to play active and get another 2 channel amp Phd 2200 bridged mono to about 500 rms would be nice to power any decent 12" subwoofer like Alpine Type R.

btw equipment is 30 percent and tuning of ice is 70 percent of the sq.

i maynot be able to buy good new amps. I was wondering if there are any decent 2nd hand amps around. As for the SUb, is it true that JL subs are the best & expensive? (many seem to claim). I dunno much about subs.

Ok, one easy way here......i'm not very certain about my budget as of now. What you'll can suggest is, (for an AMPLIFIER & a SUB), the CHEAPEST & yet DECENT at the SAME TIME for the setup mentioned in the 1st post???

I'm more into SQ for R&B, HIP HOP, REGGAE & TRANCE. I love the kinda bass "SQ" producess (clean & direct) for these kinda genres & not how the SPL produces. I'm not really into THE LOUD BOOM BOOM BOOM which i presume its called SPL.

So, based on what i want, is there anything out there catered for me? I dunno wer to start & i believe, asking those knowledgable would definetly be a great headstart.

THANKs to all.

skullbocks said:
i maynot be able to buy good new amps. I was wondering if there are any decent 2nd hand amps around. As for the SUb, is it true that JL subs are the best & expensive? (many seem to claim). I dunno much about subs.

Ok, one easy way here......i'm not very certain about my budget as of now. What you'll can suggest is, (for an AMPLIFIER & a SUB), the CHEAPEST & yet DECENT at the SAME TIME for the setup mentioned in the 1st post???

I'm more into SQ for R&B, HIP HOP, REGGAE & TRANCE. I love the kinda bass "SQ" producess (clean & direct) for these kinda genres & not how the SPL produces. I'm not really into THE LOUD BOOM BOOM BOOM which i presume its called SPL.

So, based on what i want, is there anything out there catered for me? I dunno wer to start & i believe, asking those knowledgable would definetly be a great headstart.

THANKs to all.

well JL subwoofer is good, try get the JL W6 its a gem. Another place to search for cool second hand ice is www.mycarhifi.com u might get 2nd hand decent stuff.:regular_smile: