Wana ask abt HID.Noob here.

gen.2

Hi all,

I m a newbie here. :)
I m plannng to install HID for my car but i m not sure the different between the low beam,high beam and hi low beam.
Can someone explain to me ar? :)
Sorry if this question sound stupid ya. :P

Any help will be much appreciate.Thanks in advance.

:)

HIDs come in 2 variants. Tne ones that give only low beams are installed to give you only low beams like what you can do on, say a Waja, which doesn't share its high beam with its low beam. Both are separated. So all you have to do is install 2 low beam HIDs and have the reflector of the high beam adjusted higher, which should already be done.

A hi/low beam HID is used on cars like, say the Wira, which shares its hi/low beam. If you notice, the high beam also come from the same bulb which the low beam is coming from. This, you would have to get the hi/low beam version of the HID. Ask your dealer and he should be able to tell you which is only low beam and which comes with both.

I hope that helps, just my 2 cents. One more thing, you might wanna consider your JPJ inspection for HID installation. Unless you can't be bothered, you might wanna give it a thought.

astalavista_baby said:
HIDs come in 2 variants. Tne ones that give only low beams are installed to give you only low beams like what you can do on, say a Waja, which doesn't share its high beam with its low beam. Both are separated. So all you have to do is install 2 low beam HIDs and have the reflector of the high beam adjusted higher, which should already be done.

A hi/low beam HID is used on cars like, say the Wira, which shares its hi/low beam. If you notice, the high beam also come from the same bulb which the low beam is coming from. This, you would have to get the hi/low beam version of the HID. Ask your dealer and he should be able to tell you which is only low beam and which comes with both.

I hope that helps, just my 2 cents. One more thing, you might wanna consider your JPJ inspection for HID installation. Unless you can't be bothered, you might wanna give it a thought.

Thanks a lot for ur usefull and detailed info..:)
But may i know tat my car is Gen 2 so if i m goin to install low beam HID do i still can use my high beam light ar?

hi.. i'm also a newbie.. may i know wat bulb size is use for my perdana headlights? one more thing, jpj doesn't approved HID? but how come i can see alot of cars are using HID on the road, especially those big cars like BMW, Benz, Harrier.. etc.

hid

hid really look good on cars.....not the really-really bright ones....

ctquah said:
hi.. i'm also a newbie.. may i know wat bulb size is use for my perdana headlights? one more thing, jpj doesn't approved HID? but how come i can see alot of cars are using HID on the road, especially those big cars like BMW, Benz, Harrier.. etc.

u didnt read newspaper? HID is not approved unles u sent it to puspakom for inspection....

perdana use wat headlamp bulb not sure...go n check it out la...take it out n see...got written on the bulb..H4,H3,H1....etc

gen.2 said:
Thanks a lot for ur usefull and detailed info..:)
But may i know tat my car is Gen 2 so if i m goin to install low beam HID do i still can use my high beam light ar?

Gen 2 is using H4 bulb as well mean both HI/LO in same bulb. so if you still new ur high beam later need to install the HI/low HID. else u can only use low beam......city road no need High beam lah.......

Evo48 said:
Gen 2 is using H4 bulb as well mean both HI/LO in same bulb. so if you still new ur high beam later need to install the HI/low HID. else u can only use low beam......city road no need High beam lah.......

Oic...like tat ar?Hmm...But now i changed mymind already,thinking to get the Philips Crystal Vision 4700K bulb.
Previously i was using Philips Crystal Vision 4300K wit my old Satria but gave it to my bro already.
Since i pla to change the fog lamp bulb to white colour oso i think better i get the Philips bulb cuz it's cheaper.Budget mah.hehe.

gen.2 said:
Oic...like tat ar?Hmm...But now i changed mymind already,thinking to get the Philips Crystal Vision 4700K bulb.
Previously i was using Philips Crystal Vision 4300K wit my old Satria but gave it to my bro already.
Since i pla to change the fog lamp bulb to white colour oso i think better i get the Philips bulb cuz it's cheaper.Budget mah.hehe.
Bear in mind that the Crystal Vision is just another of those white bulbs where the bulb is coated blue. It does give you a very cool effect and is any time better than those from Taiwan, read Philips, but then again, you don't get the brightness of HIDs. Of course the Philips Crystal Vision is anytime brighter than the Taiwan ones. I am a satisfied owner of one now. :D

I'd rather save up for the HID but due to the hassle I might have to reconsider again but I still think it is worth it. :D

astalavista_baby said:
Bear in mind that the Crystal Vision is just another of those white bulbs where the bulb is coated blue. It does give you a very cool effect and is any time better than those from Taiwan, read Philips, but then again, you don't get the brightness of HIDs. Of course the Philips Crystal Vision is anytime brighter than the Taiwan ones. I am a satisfied owner of one now. :D

I'd rather save up for the HID but due to the hassle I might have to reconsider again but I still think it is worth it. :D

Yeah u got the point there...well,if only i got extra money then i m sure will go for HID.
I got to know sum1 selling HID H4 Low Beam 4300K for RM399 only but i doubt abt the quality even they are giving 3 months warranty.
I think the Philips bulb will do and since the Gen 2 reflector is better than my previous Satria so i think i'll satify wit tat. :)
Fren,do u have any good HID to recommend?Good in quality and money as well.Hehe...

gen.2 said:
Yeah u got the point there...well,if only i got extra money then i m sure will go for HID.
I got to know sum1 selling HID H4 Low Beam 4300K for RM399 only but i doubt abt the quality even they are giving 3 months warranty.
I think the Philips bulb will do and since the Gen 2 reflector is better than my previous Satria so i think i'll satify wit tat. :)
Fren,do u have any good HID to recommend?Good in quality and money as well.Hehe...
To be frank, I myself am thinking of going for the Philips 6000K but those are selling for somewhere RM2.5K. Blardy expensive but that's the sacrifice for good quality.

I have heard of someone selling Taiwanese HID for RM900++ without installation but I won't dare to gaurantee the quality. I have seen previously in the Hypertune magazine that some company is selling its HID at an introductory price of RM700-800, no? If you are looking for cheap HID, you might wanna enquire about that one? I am not too sure about the quality though. hehe. Sorry my friend, want something good, go for Philips anytime. They are the pioneer and leader in HIDs. ;)

gen.2 said:

my advice don change the for lamp bulb to white color. i know it look nicer. but normal yellow light will help the visible on raining @ night since u plan to change ur headlight to white. just my 2 cents lah.

erm, just change it if u wan, but if really cant see in raining, just add 2 small yellow spot light..or change the fog light to colored lamp..

taikosss, need ur advise.
can anyone tell me which brand and model of halogen bulbs produces the light almost as white as HID? i wanna know which is the whites and brightes..
thankz

ctquah said:
can anyone tell me which brand and model of halogen bulbs produces the light almost as white as HID? i wanna know which is the whites and brightes..
thankz

Cannot compare normal halogen with HID.... prev i have use the michiba 4350K one. still acceptable lo. i still have the bulb with me...u can get it try from me.....if gam your requirement take it lah RM 10 or treat me a dinner. I am using HID now. :) from my experience...if u wan white and bright save your money and go for HID. i am HID user now.....

astalavista_baby said:
To be frank, I myself am thinking of going for the Philips 6000K but those are selling for somewhere RM2.5K. Blardy expensive but that's the sacrifice for good quality.

I have heard of someone selling Taiwanese HID for RM900++ without installation but I won't dare to gaurantee the quality. I have seen previously in the Hypertune magazine that some company is selling its HID at an introductory price of RM700-800, no? If you are looking for cheap HID, you might wanna enquire about that one? I am not too sure about the quality though. hehe. Sorry my friend, want something good, go for Philips anytime. They are the pioneer and leader in HIDs. ;)

Wow,RM2.5k?Tats darn expensive.Not affordable.Hehe.
I got to know tat there are people selling Philips HID for RM990(Low Beam)...the price is ok lar but since i juz got my car there are lot of things i wan 2 do..need 2 save some budget. :(
But u r rite,i think Philips is the best brand for those HID or bulb...will go for Philips always. :)
Once again,thanks a lot for ur usefull information.

ctquah said:
thankz

Always go for Philips bulb.I think the Philips bulb quality is the best among any other brands and yeah...it's a bit pricey compare wit other brand.
Previously i used Philips Crystal Vision 4300K on my Satria,but after i sold my Satria i gave the buld to my bro and now using on a Myvi.I can tell u tat the light is darn bright.
Wat car r u driving?For the brightness sumtimes it's depends on the lamp reflector also.Like like time when i use the buld wit my Satria it's not tat bright but when the bulb use wit the Myvi it's very bright.If u see from far u'll think tats HID.
The Myvi lamp reflector is darn good n big.

My 2cents

after fix in the HID, must go for puspakom to get the approval?
any 1 done it b4?

gen.2 said:
Wow,RM2.5k?Tats darn expensive.Not affordable.Hehe.
I got to know tat there are people selling Philips HID for RM990(Low Beam)...the price is ok lar but since i juz got my car there are lot of things i wan 2 do..need 2 save some budget. :(
But u r rite,i think Philips is the best brand for those HID or bulb...will go for Philips always. :)
Once again,thanks a lot for ur usefull information.
Haha. No worries, mate. Just helping as I can. Yea, Philips is the best. At least the quality is guaranteed. I mean some Taiwanese bulb manufacturers claim to have this and that but eventually end up with just some business gimmicks.

Philips produces high quality bulbs. They are bright as well. The light beam emitted is also consistent and do not disperse where it shouldn't. :)

Write your reply...