newbie ask for opinion~!

sorry....i mean around 1 k for the HU and speaker lor...bcoz i do not expect much lar...hehe...so how?which HU and which speaker?no need amp also ok right?

Hi kawan.
Here's my experience. Just sharing, me not sifu also, also noob like u.
Well, my budget also 1k last time. But end up i spend 1.3k. But 1.3k for the whole set.

2 component sets
2 2 channel amp
1 normal jvc cd player
1 barrel sub.

I guess for this price.. this is set is consider very normal for ICE enthusiast.. what to do, income not big so went for it. All normal brand. Turns out ok lar, dun compare to sony explode, alpine or infinity.

But if given the chance to turn back time, i would spend on a good cd player first with one good component sets. Then save up.. slowly build up. Of course at first u wont have the bass.. but later on when u build up.. get an amp and sub. on the another componet for back. Either way lar how u play around.

So its up to ur choice. Either get a real good set ( but longer duration to complete it) or a one shot budget set (like me). Or best.. save up till 2-3K get a reasonable set one shot.

Originally posted by cylung8132@Jan 25 2005, 20:24
sorry....i mean around 1 k for the HU and speaker lor...bcoz i do not expect much lar...hehe...so how?which HU and which speaker?no need amp also ok right?
i think u should opt 4 pioneer HU...mayb at a mere 300+...

n the fron component set...wat about Helix Blue?mayb at 450+

n get an amp 2 drive a sub woofer....

wah....thanks for so many useful opinion...i think i will try to build up slowly then...seem that now chinese new year is coming...so i just wait lar...see the angpao can get how much...and if can win some extra money in gambling...then most probaly will get some better stuff lar...if not i will just get a HU and change the speaker 1st lo...but actually how many speaker needed for a car actually? :blink:

its dangerous if you have small budget and try to buy everything. you will regret if you have the extra moo.

like me, last time i tried to buy cheapest HU which play mp3. but now when i have some extra i asked myself why the hell didnt i wait another 3 months.

Originally posted by appleyard@Jan 27 2005, 20:26
its dangerous if you have small budget and try to buy everything. you will regret if you have the extra moo.

like me, last time i tried to buy cheapest HU which play mp3. but now when i have some extra i asked myself why the hell didnt i wait another 3 months.
same same.. damn.. why didnt i get a 4ch to drive my speakers.. now got left right, no back front.. seems missing sumthing.

wah, it seems alot people recommend pioneer horrr, sony really not good ar??cause i saw one sony (CDX-F5500) damn good looking with nice features also, butthen some say this HU got problem worr, so can anyone help me here plz, cause i dowan invest in something not good marrr, and if lets say this player lousy larr, what other player got function like this sony one? cause i thought wanna match my car interior also marrr, all blue blue, so this sony also blue blue with alot nice function also, can sifu here help me plz..... :D

hailat lo....yesterday car kena hit abit...the rear right door go inside abit already...so sakit hati lar...even it's an old car but now look ugly with the hole lar....anyone can tell me around pj here where got shop can repair it for me ar?is it can katuk balik?the paint nvr come out...just calar abit bit lor...so anyone can provide any suggestion?thanks thanks...

Sky.....

I wanna sell my ICE.....Interested??

Cheap cheap sell.....

1 pioneer head unit (Quite new model..bought at RM890).
1 1200watt Restek 4 channel amp.
1 pair of 12'inch hollywood subwoofers.
4 6'inch kickers 2 way mid.
1 pair of tweeters..

Note: All those thing i only use for 4 month.

The price i still dont know...anyone want to give me a price?

Aiyah..ur car kena a little bit onli ma.....

Ketuk balik la....5 minit job.

Originally posted by sky_lor@Jan 29 2005, 15:18
hailat lo....yesterday car kena hit abit...the rear right door go inside abit already...so sakit hati lar...even it's an old car but now look ugly with the hole lar....anyone can tell me around pj here where got shop can repair it for me ar?is it can katuk balik?the paint nvr come out...just calar abit bit lor...so anyone can provide any suggestion?thanks thanks...
yo bro, sorry to hear bout your car bro, in PJ i dunno klar butthen in sri muda shah alam i know lorr, he do ketuk and also spray, got do fibre also :P ehehhe, butthen leh, im not so kam ching with the fella lar, so dunno how lorr.....

owh yeah, why no one help me with this HU?? good anot?? the sony CDX-F5500?? any sifu,tai lo here can help me plz.....?? :D thankx thankx

If i were U, i'd save more money and get better stuffs because there's no point doin ur ICE half-heartedly(no offense) i understand money is a big problem for all of us especially if u've got a craving for Audiophile but if u still insist on doin it for round 1k here's my suggestion:

HU: never get 2nd hand-especially if u want cd/mp3 player cos u wont know how's the condition of the optical reader. Few months back i went to brothers and saw a JVC cd/mp3 player for rm399 w/o remote (remote selling for bout 40 bucks) but sadly i cant remember the model. [RM 399.00]

Speakers(front): I have tried a few brands ranging from rm100- rm2000 and here's my opinion if u have the money go for really high end but if u dun here's my recomendation, cambria cax-600, these speakers was develope by cdt speakers but consider this as an OEM, this is a coaxial system therefore ur HU's mini amp would be sufficient to power these "miracle speakers" and u wouldnt really need an amplifier for that. Size of it is 6.5"/165mm in diameter, it has 90 watts rms handling power and the design is very practical beacuse of its tweeter placement(u can choose to point it upwards,downwards or which ever direction u may desire) best thing for this model is.. it also comes with 5" or even in 4" configuration. Or if u may.. u could opt for a component system by cambria, model:CA-60 http://www.cdtaudio.com/i-car.htm for a review on it(see how MB Quart sucks..hehe) but with this configuration u might need an amplifier which is really difficult for u to fork out for (not to mention the hassle of u really getting a good deal for it). ok now for the best part of these speakers is the price.. BELIEVE ME OR NOT!! the CAX-600 is bout rm200.00 only, CA-60 goin for rm 280.00!! and all this is available at any COSPLUS outlets round malaysia but last time i checked there werent many left so u'd better hurry!!

Speakers(back): hell.. with the price being so bloody cheap why dun u just get 2 sets of CA-60..lol

so ur total expanditure would look as such: HU = RM399.00
SPEAKERS = RM 280x 2 = RM560.00
TOTAL = RM 959.00
*note: 1. u still have RM41.00 for misc expanditure
2. come down to malacca i might get u a slight discount since i know the branch manager there.
3. this post is solely based on my own XP and opinion.
4. need more clarifications msn/email me at [email protected]
5. need more info on cambria speakers go to :http://www.cdtaudio.com/supercomponents.htm

i hope me writing this post has some benefit for you my fren and good luck on ur choice.. and remember a hundred ppl can suggest a million things but do wut ur will tells yea to, because at the end of the day that thousand ppl wont be in ur car at any given time.

p.s pls pardon me if there r any spelling or grammatical mistakes..(look at wut time it was posted LAA)

i get my HU and comp set d....2750 for RM530 and the kenwood ...dunno what model for RM550....at brothers...em...i noe mayb is abit expensive...but what i get is what i paid...so i satisfy with it...thanks everyone

Originally posted by luxi@Feb 1 2005, 11:12
any idea where to get the cambria in kl?
well luxi fren.. u could get it at any cosplus outlet in malaysia.
btw the cambria cax-600 really matches the speakers u have at the back of ur kancil. No need to bore or modify ur original back speaker hole.

word of advise.. never put a 6x9"(three way) in that section as it will be noisy like hell..(in the 1st place i dun really know y speaker manufacturers even bother to come up with a three way speaker system- they r bulky,noisy and hard to power them)

eh...6x9 i think 4 ppl who is not very deep into ice...

if lets say i have a tight budget of 1k 4 the whole system...
i'll get a cheap pioneer hu...front component set n 6x9...

use the hu built in 50x4 watt mosfet 2 power....