Difference between a D4 engine & VVVti

mnim821

Hi there. Newbie to Toyota cars. Thinking of getting a RAV 4 and apprently there are 2 types of engines, i.e, D4 and VVVti. Been searching the net high and low but I could not get hold of the specs of both engines. Does anyone out there who can help to direct me to the right resource or kind enough to explain to me the difference?

Thanks!

VVVTi?? what's that? vvti izit?

anyway if i'm not mistaken the D4 means the engine is direct injection, which should be 1AZ-FSE.

again if not mistaken rav4 now only use 1AZ-FSE and 1AZ-FE, the former is D4 engine direct injection. both also VVT-i. 1AZ-FSE has higher peak torque output around 20.4kg-m, while the non direct injection engine pump out around 19.6kg-m, but both has 150hp@6krpm.

just some info collect on the net, accurate or not dun point finger at me :D

heard rav4 run on 3S too... anybody can confirm? i mean stock lar not someone plunk in a 3sg or something.

yup, me old rav4 - the 1st gen has a 3s-ge engine.

go for the vvti if u looking for lower maintainance..... D4 is better in power than vvti but rec running using 100 octane...... get the 2.0 vvti if u want the power....1.8 tends to be under power

Thanks for the tips guys. Will be on a lookout for a Rav 4 now. Wld probably go for the 2.0 vvti, considering the D4 runs on 100 octane.

By the way, how does it feel like driving a Rav 4. Any Rav 4 owners out there that would like to share some of your driving experience?

Write your reply...