Help:- Rav 4

b18c5

hi i have a RAV4 year 2000.....(pre face lift)

its running a D4 2.0 engine(auto)

well i have an idle problem, when the car is stationary the idleis irractic, jumps up and down, life want to die like that, sometimes engine also will die..... its find that it gets worst on really hot days...

i have gone to many workshops(good and bad ones not saying names), wasted alot of money but no one seems to be able to solve the problem..

i have,
1. serviced the TB(usual mechanic theory)
2. change fuel pump
3. change fuel pump sensor
4. use higher number plugs(TRD also got try)
5. use different type company petrol( usually use Vpower only)

so anyone there got similar problems that have solved it?... apparently this happens in most 2.0 rav4's and wish'es... using this D4 engine

please let me knoe where to go and how to fix it, any info will be helpfull thanks alot

vacumm hose and vacumm sensor got check anot?
then ur "check engine" light got show out anot?
mine seg last time kena like this..but got "check engine" light comes out only have this problem..
changed alot parts but still no progress until i changed the ecu... = =

same with me

AE101-Wong said:
vacumm hose and vacumm sensor got check anot?
then ur "check engine" light got show out anot?
mine seg last time kena like this..but got "check engine" light comes out only have this problem..
changed alot parts but still no progress until i changed the ecu... = =
im oso have this prob. after change ecu my car is fine. dont know for rav4

anuar_fadzli said:
im oso have this prob. after change ecu my car is fine. dont know for rav4

i think seg and rav4 using the familiar type engine, juz the cc beza only..
coz toyota wont develop too many type of engine to make the car costing too high...

no check light wor.... seg using 4AFE 1.6 single cam... but the rav4 is a 2.0 Twin cam

4AFE is twin cam, but look like single cam...but whatever
sometimes is the electrical stuff kacau it..try to exchange ecu with foreman see see got better result anot, if got better then only buy the ecu from him lar..