VTEC turbo

zaki said:
does anybody know what is the pressure for oil?

According to the manual, at idle should be 75kpa, and at 3k RPM should be at least 375kpa. Just happen my oil press gauge is in kpa, for PSI or bar, you need to find some calculator to convert the values.

Recommend that you guys use the B20 or ITR oil pump

Bro, still thinking twice actually....
Lemme run 2 more weeks w/out it and see anything wrong or not..

NP, Im always there waiting...LOL

I think it should not be any prob as Im running without it for about a year...touch wood, have not touched the engine yet, as no prob occured.

What oil return hoses are u guys using?? I'm using heavy duty rubber hose, but still have to changed every few months.
Anyone running steel braided?? What other alternatives?? Can we use silicon hose??

EGfan said:
What oil return hoses are u guys using?? I'm using heavy duty rubber hose, but still have to changed every few months.
Anyone running steel braided?? What other alternatives?? Can we use silicon hose??

Im using the heavy duty rubber hose too, but why do u need to change it every few months?? leakage?? I have not change mine for the past 1 year, no leakage just some normal oil dust..:) how big n how long is your return hose? how bout anyone else??

im usin very thick silicon hose (orange colour) but its very short roun 2-3inches only... den connect 2 modified steel pipe from oil sump... i oso jus dirty frm oil dust, dats all...

steel braided is da way 2 go but there a few types... da best wud teflon but there r sum rubber inner hose 2.... or u can modify flexible steel pipe like standard turbo cars r using....

EGfan said:
According to the manual, at idle should be 75kpa, and at 3k RPM should be at least 375kpa. Just happen my oil press gauge is in kpa, for PSI or bar, you need to find some calculator to convert the values.

Recommend that you guys use the B20 or ITR oil pump

from my converter..
75kPa = 0.75 bar = 10.87783 PSI
375kPa = 3.75 bar = 54.38915 PSI @ 3000RPM (i've seen few car manufacturers use idle pressure & 3000RPM pressure as a guidline)

that's for the engine requirement, cannot be less than that....
if i can remember correctly, Garrett turbo needs ~ 60psi...

EG6SiRT? said:
Im using the heavy duty rubber hose too, but why do u need to change it every few months?? leakage?? I have not change mine for the past 1 year, no leakage just some normal oil dust..:) how big n how long is your return hose? how bout anyone else??

Funny...my rubber hose seems to be expanding every 3 months...
I can't wait for it to blow one day rite?? So as a precaution i change it whenever
it is expanding. Its just around 1 feet long only.

jep3003 said:
im usin very thick silicon hose (orange colour) but its very short roun 2-3inches only... den connect 2 modified steel pipe from oil sump... i oso jus dirty frm oil dust, dats all...

steel braided is da way 2 go but there a few types... da best wud teflon but there r sum rubber inner hose 2.... or u can modify flexible steel pipe like standard turbo cars r using....

bro, where to get the silicon hose??
easiest way for me now is change the hose to more durable one...

You know any place that custom make the flexible steel pipe like standard turbo cars?? Dun feel good seeing oil leaks underneath my car..

if u want something like steel braided hose i have a place in mind, but they can only follow samples for the connector for the braided hose, if u know wut i mean...

EGfan,

which part of da oil sump did u connect da oil return hose?? da hose i got it frm my foreman... 1st wen i ws fixing da turbo kit, i used da rubber hose.. yala at dat time ws fixing it wit frens n i had little knowledge bout bolt-on so i went 2 c my foreman... he told me wat i did wrong n corrected it...

he cut a part of a standard turbo oil return hose n weldded it 2 da oil sump using da shortest route 2 da turbine... dats at da deeper part of da oil sump, not da shallow part... still got leakin but abit only, ya lor steel braided 2 expensive...

EG6SiRT?,

hws da pricing?? im thinkin of changin my oil cooler hose 2 steel braided but dat depends on da pricing la...

jep,
I think the price goes by meter n not as expensive compared to on-shelf sale at shop. furthermore they will follow your existing sample of hose connector. maybe if we all go and do a lot then more discount can be offered by them.

Wut u mean the deeper part and shallow part? is it upper part of the sum or the lower part?coz i know that ppl sez that it should be higher and closer to the turbo so the return hose will be shorter.

EGfan,
hows ur turbo manifold??no more probs i guess?? how much it cost u ? wut external wgate u re using??38mm??

sorry, dats what i meant... so da steel braided hose connector they will do it rite??

yup, they will do , but u need to bring sample for them to follow...if not they wont do...

Egfan, Lilvee, Jep3003, Patrick_EK + whoever wanna join, I have a proposed date on 8th Jan to go for TT?? Just hang around and know each other better...wut say??

Lilvee...bring along ur frens...

Update here...

Propose date : 8th Jan 07
Propose Venue : TTDI Mohsin...or anywhere else nearby...or u can suggest...

8th Jan 07 is monday bro... why not week end? and what time?

I'm on... need to check with other members... see how many can come...

Hope can see everybody on that day... cheers

jep3003 said:
EGfan,

which part of da oil sump did u connect da oil return hose?? da hose i got it frm my foreman... 1st wen i ws fixing da turbo kit, i used da rubber hose.. yala at dat time ws fixing it wit frens n i had little knowledge bout bolt-on so i went 2 c my foreman... he told me wat i did wrong n corrected it...

he cut a part of a standard turbo oil return hose n weldded it 2 da oil sump using da shortest route 2 da turbine... dats at da deeper part of da oil sump, not da shallow part... still got leakin but abit only, ya lor steel braided 2 expensive...

EG6SiRT?,

hws da pricing?? im thinkin of changin my oil cooler hose 2 steel braided but dat depends on da pricing la...

jep3003,
Connect the oil return to the nearest point on the oil sump, dun know if its the deeper part or not..will take a pic and show u..

Just got back my oil cooler steel braided hose, will go over to a hydraulic shop and get some quote...I think they need sample...