VR4 n MIVEC which 1 better?

VR4 n Mivec

Mayguy,
I got the same dilemma as you before I put on my engine. I was deciding between the VR4, GSR and Mivec.

VR4,
You got the power of turbo on a very good engine block, some say, even better than Evo's block. Able to modify to boost up until 1.5bar with 400 horses ( sdf ). But the downside, the engine is old. Around the 15+ yrs.

GSR,
Only 1.8cc, but able to do quite an amount of boosting too. No matter how it's done, if done similarly, the GSR will be slower than VR4. But, the engine is newer, around 10 yrs old. But the block is not as solid as VR4.

Mivec,
N/A. No doubt about it, will be slower than both the above. But the reliability of the car is better. Lesser maintenance, mileage higher. Engine newer, but price is expensive.

It all depends on what you wanna do. If you want to play turbo, be prepared for high maintenance. Then go for VR4 or GSR. But of you're going to use the car for daily driving, with the occasional high revs to try n potong jalan, then the Mivec is suitable for you.

Think about it. I'm using a VR4 today and I made a good choice.

VR4 n Mivec

Mayguy,
I got the same dilemma as you before I put on my engine. I was deciding between the VR4, GSR and Mivec.

VR4,
You got the power of turbo on a very good engine block, some say, even better than Evo's block. Able to modify to boost up until 1.5bar with 400 horses ( sdf ). But the downside, the engine is old. Around the 15+ yrs.

GSR,
Only 1.8cc, but able to do quite an amount of boosting too. No matter how it's done, if done similarly, the GSR will be slower than VR4. But, the engine is newer, around 10 yrs old. But the block is not as solid as VR4.

Mivec,
N/A. No doubt about it, will be slower than both the above. But the reliability of the car is better. Lesser maintenance, mileage higher. Engine newer, but price is expensive.

It all depends on what you wanna do. If you want to play turbo, be prepared for high maintenance. Then go for VR4 or GSR. But of you're going to use the car for daily driving, with the occasional high revs to try n potong jalan, then the Mivec is suitable for you.

Think about it. I'm using a VR4 today and I made a good choice.

if u really into turbos.. my advise is.. as along u maintain everything inside

the engine in stock.. and do servicing on time... dun worry my fren.. u will

have a healthy engine that can last for many years.. trust me.. stock GSr

or VR4 oso very nice oredi .. just make sure.. check the minor things like oil seal

head seal..turbine service .. etc.. all this are very very importang things u need to

highlights in your record book of servicing..

i had practice this for 4 years since 2000 until last year when i sold my car..with stock GSR eng on wira 4 doors .. result:-

outstanding n very efficient eng with no brakedown at all .. use as daily driven car from north to south..

so proud of it but cant stand listening of vtec's roar ... hehehe

oh i c...thank you for all ur opinion...actually i love high rev n try to potong ppl...i like that kind of feel...damn jun!about mivec...mivec got how many version?how to know what version is that?which 1 better?what;s different with these mivec?i duno about this la!1 more thing..its got 1 thing call APEXI AFC something,what is that...if no mistaken r this thing for mivec?what function is that?got for mivec or not?if i out mivec to my engine i thinig i will MOD this to my car:apexi air filter,2.5inch exchaust,computer(apexi...) thats all...any thing can mod on my car again?opinion pls ^_^ thanks

aja said:
Guys,
Most us here in M'sia comparing the 1st gen Mivec (wira chasis) Vs. B16A Vtec with few generation (B16A1/2/3/...).

But, thru my previous experience owned a 2nd gen mivec (mivec terbalik, E4-E6 chasis) & current Accord Euro R CL1, i would say this.. If compared again FACTORY STOCK Mivec 2nd Vs. FACTORY STOCK B16A Vtec with few generation (B16A1/2/3/...). again, Vtec will really hard time again this 2nd Gen Mivec. Donno why mits. never come-out with 3rd gen Mivec (expect for mivec turbo). The ratio.. hmmm. Hopefully whoever else drove the 2nd gen mivec here could here their experience here too!!

Trust me!!. :D

Sorry, a newbie here..
what is Mivec 1st Gen and Mivec 2nd GEN??
How to differentiate?? what are thier engine code? from which year?
possible to get Mivec 2nd GEN fom halfcut? how much will it cost comapre to 1st Gen Mivec???

VR4= Stick chair and more things to mod...

Mivec= REasonable power on tap, lesser things to mod...

mayguy said:
oh i c...thank you for all ur opinion...actually i love high rev n try to potong ppl...i like that kind of feel...damn jun!about mivec...mivec got how many version?how to know what version is that?which 1 better?what;s different with these mivec?i duno about this la!1 more thing..its got 1 thing call APEXI AFC something,what is that...if no mistaken r this thing for mivec?what function is that?got for mivec or not?if i out mivec to my engine i thinig i will MOD this to my car:apexi air filter,2.5inch exchaust,computer(apexi...) thats all...any thing can mod on my car again?opinion pls ^_^ thanks

lolz mayguy i also like to potong ppls with high rev~ dont know la maybe when i drive my friend's b16b always rev till 9k rpm +++ after paying toll gua haha... the feel is wow so nice when u see the rpm reach 9k n it stop there shaking around 9k...dong dong dong dong the engine sound like tat... but must fast fast change gear lor if not later engine blown my fren goin to kill me haha~

VR-4 also can do high revs what...8500rpm enough for you or not? :D

but of course must see turbo size la...stock TD05 you rev no point also mar.

in the end it's up to the owner...

you want the sucking power and grunt of N/a?

or you want the screaming external wastegate (nowadays a must!) and scare all the small kids beside the road? :D ahhahaa...

Cheers, and the choice is yours. Mine? a full blown turbo, of course.

daze said:
Sorry, a newbie here..
what is Mivec 1st Gen and Mivec 2nd GEN??
How to differentiate?? what are thier engine code? from which year?
possible to get Mivec 2nd GEN fom halfcut? how much will it cost compare to 1st Gen Mivec???

daze,
1. Mivec 1st Gen on wira chasis, Mivec 2nd Gen on Lancer Evo4-6 chasis.
2. How to differentiate?. : The 2nd Gen Mivec is transverse engine. Timing belt is on the right side driver. VIce versa.
3. Engine code still same : 4G92. Year is 1996 above. 1st gen is from 1990-1995. But if u noticed the 2nd gen, the block is a bit taller compared to 1st gen, sharing the same clutch pressure plate as Perdana 2.0 sei manual. Heavy gearbox (as heavy as evo 1-3 gearbox!)+ nice ratio:p . Compression 11:1.
4. Look for a halfcut for CK4A or CJ4A. Standard rpm redline around 83++. Possible to get one, but be prepare to pay around RM6K or more, a bit higher than 1st gen. cause it's very rare. But first, make sure u driving either waja or Gen2. Last time, at Speedwork got 1 gen2 with Mivec 2nd Gen Mivec. Can call Speedwork for more story. CAN'T FIT INTO WIRA CHASIS

MIVEC is improving, from a convetional 1.6L and 2.0L which lost to 1.8L VTEC Type R, till now the Evo 9 MIVEC turbo.

Frankly speaking, not many successful stock MIVEC converted turbo I heard. But VTEC turbo which power around 320-450hp, yes.

All the best.... ;)

Too bad. mine are only Satria can get a 2nd GEn MIVEC...
maybe a GSR or MIVEC 1.6>1.8 ...
What's wrong with GSR hybrid wit MIVEC..?? really a lotta trouble?? what really happen? just curious and like to know more.

so mayguy... which one have u decided??? the sound of wastegate is quite nice and if u're using the ball bearing turbine even syok~!... but depends la... but if u like the high rev thingy... go for mivec loh... and if u wan power then go for turbo.... hehehe like me i just like the sound of it.. so i choose turbo with no regrets... and it's also my daily car... no problem with it...

haha....i think i more like high rev punya sound....ong.......ong.....rev until 9k rpm that soung makes me high ...damn jun,....but i also like boost sound la...now mivec is my choice^_^haha...i know what to do...but i need some recommend...i need to know where got cheap price h/f, garage nice in service...actually im a mechanic...im working as a foreman too..actually i wanna DIY my self to my car de..but i hv no time for it...so no choice lo...have to pay for the labour...so now i need the information lo...who can help?thankx

Revo said:
Seldom heard of GSR MIVEC hybrid. GTi MIVEC hybrid has a lot. ;)

Boss...how do u actually hybrid GTi Mivec? ---->Mivec Head GTi block? or anything else?
how would this hybrid perform? can out perform standard Mivec?
What bout reliability?

taking about maintenance...is all depends on how u take care ur engine...thats all..
if u rev here rev there and never take care...any engine also die la...give u the latest evo9 mivec turbo also die la...if get older engine, may be u need to replace more parts during ur transplant...thats all...

keep ur engine stock and trouble free? i dun agree with this...if u know wat u doing, shouldnt be much problem...

Mivec & Vr4

If I may give my humble 2 cents here..

I've used VR4 RS before, and yes as some of you said, petrol consumption is quite high, but POWER ALSO HIGH!!! Wooooow! But downside is, of course, car very hard to drive la. Spin here, spin there, counter here and there. The wall of torque is SCARY STUFF! Tyre also wear faster coz of heavier engine up front. Futhermore, I think since VR4 is intended for a 4WD gearbox to distribute the engine's rotational force, using the locked 2WD gearbox increases wear on yr clutch & driveshafts... correct kah my theory?
U'll also be forking out some dough here and there as a compromise for the wear and tear and any other unforseen things taking place when you race the engine. Just watch out for these.

MIVEC... of course when u talk abt comparing this to VTEC, it's nothing lah. VTEC punya surge and power when it 'opens' is something else. MIVEC one is quite gradual and linear la. Unless of course, you've got some hi-cams! hahahaha! Then I think taking on a B-series VTEC shouldn't be a problem... I think! I dunno! If the Honda's running cams as well then it depends on the woksyop / tuners' and driver's skills only lah.
Comparing to VR4, MIVEC is significantly easier to look after, easier on the wallet and all that I guess. But track day time in SIC sure DAMN best lah! hehehehe!

MIVEC rojak-ed

The comments abt hybrid MIVECs.. all I know is there's NO 1.8L MIVEC. The 4G93 series only produced were NAs and the famous turbo versions from the Lancer GSR start 1992 model.. what chassis ah? CD9A ke? 4got..long time ago members posted some very comprehensive info on this car. Look around for it lah.

1.8 MIVECs are achieved utilising a 4G93 block and a 4G92 MIVEC head. Tats all. You benefit from the Innovative Valve timing and lift Electronic Control which is also a cleaner burning and more efficient & powerful engine thanks to the valve timing thingamajig... oh, and it also bumps the displacement to the nominal 1834cc, instead of the MIVEC's original 1597cc.

There are also instances of MIVEC headed GSR's running around. Utilising the 4G93 turbo equipped GSR bottom blok with the MIVEC valve timing feature, produces something like what the EVO IX has achieved. But yes, with no factory backup, ppl going along this rojak route found the system rather hard to combine. But supposedly, it works well... depending on how it is done I guess. I'm not the pro here, and some members can stand up saying that this thing is very do-able...but this modification has received a lot of criticism for its reliability. I oso dono y. If any1 can explain, pls do!

THankS!