venting BOV to open air

Originally posted by Danny@Sep 25 2004, 22:14
here's the 2nd dyno after Evo 3 airflow sensor was installed :-

Dyno done at DMT ( calibration to compare with previous N1 dyno :- results x 6.5% = N1 dyno)

Previously at 0.9 bar / Now at 0.9 bar
172 / 191.7 hp

Previous at 1.2 bar / Now at 1.0 bar (cannot go higher coz fuel pump insufficient power ie. too lean
187 / 200.2hp

vestax, I was correct, approx 20-30hp increase awp. At a lower boost I managed to get higher hp, if I were to run successfully at 1.2 bar with a better fuel pump, the estimate hp would be 218-220 at wheels.

* met bujang hansem at DMT today also, not bad his perdana vr4 similar setup but twin fin td05, 175 at DMT with 0.8 bar(approx 186hp N1 results), and thats with clutch slip.. if not it will be 10-15hp extra.

joshua, I need a better fuel pump first, currently too lean even at 0.9 bar (13+ afr)

Btw, what needs to be done in order to increase boost beyond the fish tank controller? (currently max I can adjust is 1 bar after some pipings were done).
e3 airflow gives 20hp extra ? not bad well what happen to your 4G93 airflow ?. :lol:

damn gila wei Joshua's car.

was scared that the safety harness couldnt hold it down, like the car wanna fly up. ^_^

Danny,

Congrats man!! Yeah, the maf sensor is rather restrictive to air flow. THe EVO sensor flows much better than the stock VR4.

Tats why hi performance cars remove the maf sensor and run map sensor with standalone management

true 2G / evo's airflow has 50% more airflow then the 1G/vr4 sensors , but then without an afc , 510cc injector , fuel regulator , i doubt it would give 20 to 30hp just like that .

alucard, yea still using the evo3 pump but insufficient fuelling, will need to source for another one

ruhaz, thanks for the link, where to get the re-circulation kit for hks ssqv?

joeker, hows your testing with your bov?

vestax, 4g93 airflow sensor will be passed back to my friend la... since already upgraded to the evo3 one. Quite surprising that the 1.8 air filter still fits the evo 3 airflow sensor though.

wah all thread stealer man =( so so

rx7 can do the same or not? i want to try venting the ssqv to open air la

u can always try first, if u face some problems there's supposed to be a recirculation kit for the SSQV.

Originally posted by Zeroed@Sep 22 2004, 19:34
Mind if I ask... so does the original bov vent the pressure back to the turbo's intake turbine, allowing it to re-draw the compressed air and run it in circles while the throttle body is closed, instead of drawing air through the air filter (hence avoiding additional fuel injection)? Or where does it vent the air to?

If this is the case, wouldnt the air become very, very hot?
yup, this is wy u feel that atmo bov gives better performance... it discards hot air and allows cold air from outside to be drawn. some geeks claim atmo dont make any diffrence in performance, thats just too bad for them.

hot air is been cooled again by the intercooler mah , its recycling the compressed air . by right there won't be any performance gain by using after market bov or standard bov . its consider a part of emission control , where it plumbs back air same thing like your pcv valve , it plubs back the oily vapour into your air filter intake and your manifold intake .

my thinking goes like this;

normal cycle:

-outside air (cool air, 5)
-then it gets compressed (becomes hotter, 5+7=12)
-but intercooler cools it down (becomes cooler but still warmer than outside air, 12-4=8)

air return from bypass:

-temperature starts at '8'
-gets compressed (sinse it was warmer to start with, now its even hotter 8+7=15)
-goes tru intercooler (cooling effect is constant, thefore the heat reduction is the same 15-4=11)

contrast 8 and 11

atmo BOV, more power

bro ,
you take your car go dyno la , i`ll sponsor the standard bov & after market bov , we see if there is any difference in terms of hot or cold air like you said . how ?

the BOV war :)
i guess BOV is just for the sound..
if my understanding , some amount of AIR from the Recirculating is better than NOTHING...
unless u are a pro la.. Change gear fast and rev for some air in :P
if not its kosong wor.. sure la engine mati and run rich :)
if no Piggyback or some advance ECU..
i dont tink can overcome this wor..
true or not.. hehe.. just my thinking la :)

btw...why dont you guys check on references? do the WRCars use recirculating BOVs? u hardly hear any antilag in the newer WRCars. i also noticed many recent worked-on turbo engines in japan now use recirculating systems.

Originally posted by vestax@Dec 16 2004, 19:52
bro ,
you take your car go dyno la , i`ll sponsor the standard bov & after market bov , we see if there is any difference in terms of hot or cold air like you said . how ?
gimme ur number. i intend to go to sunway for a dyno soon. but i already know the answer. there is a diffrence, for the better.

if u wanna chellenge make it abit interesting else it would be boring and it shows that u lack confidence in your standing.

if atmo bov proves to be more powerful than using standard recirc valve then u have to pay for my dyno. else i pay for my dyno.

zzzz boring la like this bai , we in here share opinions , no one is challenging each other , im just saying if you were to go to a dyno run , let me know i`ll supply the blow off and then we see the difference thats all before & after , cause we both don't have prove so from there we can see la if there is any difference . if i were to pay for your dyno , might as well i bring my own car for dyno right . :rolleyes:

interesting bet, I wanna know the answer also. The only reason why I'm using re-circulating bov is coz I can't stand the pssst pssst psssssssssssssst sound it gets irritating after awhile when every gear change also got psssss