venting BOV to open air

Vestax, cool down lo..... some ppl k not accept the facts .....

last time, i also crash and change spring of the OEM BOV..but still leak...hohoh...so i change back to OEM BOV then until i find a suitable BOV that i;m using right now....hehehehe

Evolution wrote :

if u had experience an an atmo bov that gives no diffrence, say it out and be humble enuf to ask 'why' not just draw ur own conclusion without some brainstorming. becos i think i can tell u how u can solve this puzzle. as i understand where u r comming from. i too had experienced no diff in performance after installing an atmo, but i found the cause of it. and it became great after rectifying the problem. i was just waiting for someone to pop this question...

This post has been edited by E V O L U T I O N on Dec 17 2004, 00:25

vestax wrote :

well frankly i`ve never thought of changing my stock bov , cause no point , im not the type who fancy the bov sound , and im happy with my stock bov cause , while gear shifts i don't have thick black smoke puffing out from my exhaust . and for your information , if you do a search on the net check for 1G crush blow off , its a stock vr4 bov which has been crush to take up to 17psi before it leaks . if without crushing it , it will hold up to 12psi . so i don't see the point of changing mine , cause it can hold up high amout of boost and the best thing its quiet .

oh yea i`ve been runing stock bov close to 2 years aready and im happy with it

here are some additional explanation on the net .

If you plan to "dump" or vent your BOV to atmosphere (instead of recycling into the Turbo) while using your stock MAS, you will encounter some problems. The DSM MAS senses air going thru it and the ECU (car's computer) calculates the amount of fuel to add. If you "dump" this air instead of re-circulating it into the intake, the computer will add too much fuel and you'll probably see a puff of black smoke behind you. Also since the RPM drops FAST, if you leave the clutch in too long, your ECU may not be able to pick up idle and the engine may die.

Evolution wrote :

let me get 1 thing strait, bov leak is NOT equal to bov release a.k.a "pisssh"

the so called leak is actually a safety feature to prevent over boost that is harmful to ur engine, just like internal wastegate.

assuming u have an engine that is super strong and will never ever blow no matter how high a boost u run on. then there is actually no point in having pressure release valves like waste gate and bov 'leaks' becos more boost simply means more power and thats always a good thing.

a leak hapens when ur trottle is open while a pishhh happens when the trottle is closed. both serves a diffrent purpose therefore leak is not relavant in our discussion. im sure u know this.

im using atmo bov and i also do not have a thick black cloud of smoke when i change gears. and my engine does not stall either. and i dont have an safc to cut off fuel supply when trottle is closed either.

why is it i dont experience the bad side effects of atmo? on top of that, i enjoy power gain.

what u quote in the article and the bad side effects is true, if:

-u have a non adjustable atmo bov and it does not suit the engne u put it on
-u have an adjustable atmo bov but did not make use of its adjustable feature to adjust to suit ur engine correctly.

what do u think the adjustng screw is for? volume control?

evo 3 ,
no la im cool and always be , but some people , get work out for notting .

anyway evolution , you ask me to be humble enough to tell , so i did , i told you my reasons for not using an aftermarket bov , cause the standard bov can sustain high boost also and i`ve explain the term crush in there but you don't accept what im trying to tell u insted you tiu kau me for talking about leak , and you say leak is not relavant in the discussion , then you had just teach me that the leak is one of the safety fetures to prevent over boost :rolleyes: , if leak is the safety feture then what is boost cut for ?

if a BOV leak mean that that BOV CANNOT subtain high boost OR NOT suitable for ur car.... BOV leak is not a safety measure lo.... :D it FAULTY or NOT SUITABLE ...

i have a friend who bought a HKS SQV and put it on on his EVO, thinking that all HKS SQV is the same (but actually all HKS SQV is not the same) and when he change gear even tho he is not boosting ...it will go "chiiingggg" ....while mine HKS BOV still not yt open and all i heard is the CHUK CHUK sound from the powerflow... and when i see the BOV, it is actually for L200 engines...hehehe :P

well... hehe.. atmo BOV also cool... stock BOV also cool.. hehehe..

the difference is stock BOV is made of plastic casing.. atmo aftermarket is made of steel... muahahahaha... ves and evolution.. actually u two are correct la.. problem solve. ;) the manufacturers are so stupid and due to cost control they have to install the plastic re-circulating BOV... aftermarket BOV is da best.... long live "pssshhhhh" or "chhhiiinnggg" :lol: cheers...

FYI .. most 4G93T doesn't suffer engine stall (with atmo BOV) compared to 4G63s or the 1.6L Turbos :) I've bloody seen it myself.. after 2 years of lepaking at my mechs place.. :lol:

Evolution's argument is that an Atmo BOV increases performance by bypassing the intercooler, hence cooler air. A recirculating one would only keep re-heating the intake air.

This is wrong.

While the intake air is being re-circulated, it is also being re-cooled because the car has to be moving = airflow thru the intercooler and the intake air is continuously cooled.

Evolution's argument is only correct if the car is stationary. Then again, stationary car how to pish pish??

A recirculating BOV increases the turbo's response time compared to an atmo BOV, thereby a slight gain in performance. Also, no rich condition while the BOV is venting ;)

Here's why...

ATMO BOV:

(filter) > > > >(turbo) > > > >(throttle body closed)
low pressure ---------- low pressure

Recirc BOV:

(filter) >>>>>>>>(turbo) > > > >(throttle body closed)
high pressure -------- low pressure

With a recirculating BOV, the air entering the turbo when it vents is slightly pressurised. And since air always wants to move from high to low pressure, this helps the turbo to spool.

In conclusion...

Best: Recirculating BOV. Better turbo response because compressor blades maintain speed. No compressor surge.

OK: Atmo BOV. No compressor surge, but compressor blades are slowing down during venting.

BAD: No BOV. Compressor blades even start to backspin due to surge.

now.. that is even cooler explaination.. hehehe... batu.. u go design la the atmo bov can increase performance wan.. sure u can rite? :lol: can name it BatuBov ... cool name oso.. sifu... plastic case BOV better rite? coz lighter mah... can use carbon fibre for the BOV case ah? that will be awesome.. :lol:

the Sifu had spoken.......http://www.vplustech.net/others/worship.gif

ehhh...mine OEM BOV is made of steel le.... :lol:

evolution ,
i just looked tru what u wrote with a new edited lines , that u wanted to bet with me by going on a dyno and then u say i back off cause im loosing ?. bro , im not backing off , cause there is no point on going dyno , dyno run's on 5th gear with WOT , you won't know if there is gain cause your not shifting gears / letting the throttle off . i guess you didn't see it coming ? .

and now all the sifu has spoken , thanks darly for the write up , i guess that will make it clear to him .

ez ,
you go design your own blow off la , which can make it as a safety feture so that you won't over boost :lol: :lol: :lol: .

anyway bro , do you have springs for the stock 1G blow off valve ?. cause besides crushing it , there is another way of doing it .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/4G63/bov1.jpg

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/4G63/bov2.jpg

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/4G63/bov3.jpg

dun need spring la.. IMHO waste of time only... drill a small hole at the top of the BOV.. include a valve (like washer) inside.. add an adjusting screw to set the spring height... and u are ready to go.. akekeke just like the greddy type-s BOV already.. RM3 for sticker and u are ready to go..

Vestax,

Forget that EVOLUTION dude man. Dun even waste your time man. This guy changed his engine for a few months and think he's god of the mechanics. Next time he put down smart comments like these, just let him be man. No point wasting time and effort in replying his stupid comments. The dude is famous in Penang, all the mechanics shun this idiot. Just let this egotistical idiot do his thing and we just avoid talking to him.

BUt hey, I do love his quote though: check it out:

im using atmo bov and i also do not have a thick black cloud of smoke when i change gears. and my engine does not stall either. and i dont have an safc to cut off fuel supply when trottle is closed either.

This freakin guy has eyes at the back of his car coz so many people wanna whallop him. Oh btw, I'm with u vestax. I've used 2 different BOVs. The blitz DD and also currently the HKS SSQV and I totally agree with u. It has NO performance gain whatsoever except idling problems and noise...yea..EVO don't even know what a freakin DYNO is so no point explaining to him. How the heck u gonna even gauge anything on the BOV on a dyno on 4th or 5th gear. w/o changing gears.

eh.. chanl55 u so bad... cannot say people like dat la... i only ride Modemas Kriss nia... 3 yrs already.... service carburator also i dunno la.. send to mechanic.. mahai he charge me RM4.. i also pay ma.. i ask him can install BOV to my kriss or not.. he told me install kriss mia sarung better la.. ;) :lol: everybody learning learning ok? chill.... drink ice coke or sumthing la..

mayb he dyno by runnning thr 1st gear till the 5th gear.....psssh and pssshhh and psshhh ...... :D then i think the dyno chart will go up and down and up and down...heheheh

Peace.....

vestax
clammed the BOV can meh....most ppl tell me to change the spring or crash it....never heard of clamned it....learn new thing today..thx.... :D

chanl55 ,
ahah chill bro , i was kind of stress too last night trying to put some words into evolution's mind , evolution has this kind of mind set which doesn't accept opinion's / facts from me , thats why he say im loosing out cause i don't have facts / theory like what he did , and he can say that its a win win situation :lol: . so if he insist of wining this argument let him be , we are not going to lose anything insted we gain more info since alot of people had posted up .

ez ,
yeah we all also still learning , but then evolution said , the don't care if he posted the correct or wrong info , cause he know got people will correct him . but when people try to tell him the pro & cons , he tiu kau me mah . sad sad :lol:

EZ,

Good to c u again bro!!
Me bad only to idiots.....but I'm not a guru unlike vestax. I have some experiences however with the Mitsu engines. Even though I haven't the in depth knowledged like vestax, I'm driving the same engine like EVO has for more than 2 years and my car has been in the garage more than enough times for me to know a few things. But that guy is an idiot man, go track his postings. He needs to grow up man. Anyways, like I said. good to c u again bro!!!

Vestax,
u are correct but that doesn't change the fact that EVO is an idiot. Just an reiteration of my point: ignore him pal. no point arguing with losers.

me? idiot? :angry:

just joking...i know which geek u guys pointing at...hehehe
out of curiousity, what engine are u guy using? 4G93T or 4G63T?

Originally posted by evo3@Dec 17 2004, 15:19
mayb he dyno by runnning thr 1st gear till the 5th gear.....psssh and pssshhh and psshhh ...... :D then i think the dyno chart will go up and down and up and down...heheheh

Peace.....

vestax
clammed the BOV can meh....most ppl tell me to change the spring or crash it....never heard of clamned it....learn new thing today..thx.... :D
evo3 ,
yeah you know la all this mat salleh , they like to DIY here & there so they find for other alternative insted of crushing the bov . so got the info on dsmtuners.com

yeah they clamp the bov , cause they had cut open the bov and change a harder springs inside it , so that it can sustain higher boost .

http://www.vestax.fivio.net/4G63/bovcut.jpg

chanl55 ,
i also get alot of info by reading all those vfaq.com , dsmtuners.com , galantvr4.org , lancerregister.com and much more , basically they all talk about the same stuff as we do , but they are much more productive as in doing research and trying out new stuff . we can't be like that cause we don't have the proper tools and time :lol: . but i share out stuff based on my experience with my own engine , other then that i just read & listen so im not a guru la , guru like sdf , eclipse they all old timer on this 4G63 engines , so hands down to them :lol:

chanl55.. nice to c me again? ahh? u dreaming ah? me always in ZTH la.. talk about real life meetings.. we never did oso.. :P

evo3... me using 4G93T... transplant baru 3 days :P i only know how to add oil catch tank and fish tank valve to increase boost... (at the moment) and a little bit of ricer lighting wirings.. :lol: if u gimme 3 more weeks... i can design an ECU with Intel Pentium 4 to control engine management... muahaha.. dat time micotech can close shop.. muahahahaha.

chan.. what say u? steal some P4 2.6Ghz for me yeah?

Originally posted by Battousai@Dec 17 2004, 12:38
Evolution's argument is that an Atmo BOV increases performance by bypassing the intercooler, hence cooler air. A recirculating one would only keep re-heating the intake air.

This is wrong.

While the intake air is being re-circulated, it is also being re-cooled because the car has to be moving = airflow thru the intercooler and the intake air is continuously cooled.

Evolution's argument is only correct if the car is stationary. Then again, stationary car how to pish pish??

A recirculating BOV increases the turbo's response time compared to an atmo BOV, thereby a slight gain in performance. Also, no rich condition while the BOV is venting ;)

Here's why...

ATMO BOV:

(filter) > > > >(turbo) > > > >(throttle body closed)
low pressure ---------- low pressure

Recirc BOV:

(filter) >>>>>>>>(turbo) > > > >(throttle body closed)
high pressure -------- low pressure

With a recirculating BOV, the air entering the turbo when it vents is slightly pressurised. And since air always wants to move from high to low pressure, this helps the turbo to spool.

In conclusion...

Best: Recirculating BOV. Better turbo response because compressor blades maintain speed. No compressor surge.

OK: Atmo BOV. No compressor surge, but compressor blades are slowing down during venting.

BAD: No BOV. Compressor blades even start to backspin due to surge.
for me

Best : Standalone engine management system. use MAP sensor.... can pish all i like and how loud i like to the atmosphere... hehehe

chill la everyone.... anyway i would think if vent to atmosphere , that .001 of re-spooling time doesnt matter that much .... and honestly there is a tuning shop here which use a laser detector to cound the rotational speed of the turbo with and without a bov.... the results came out to be no difference...

you guys can approach tony5050 from speed D to get this fact... he is an automotive engineer.

cheers.

btw: in all the jap cars i see in drift tengoku , i see no bov also , even the signal twin 180sx drifters.....