Vacuum Gauge Installation

ajnone

Hi all,

Anyone use the vacuum gauge for their 20v? What is the guideline for installing the vacuum gauge? Where is the best place to tap in the vacuum hose? Please advice....Thanks

Hormally just tap off anywhere convenient to you. However certain points are more volatile than others and may not be giving a stable reading.

for 20v AFM - tap of throttle 1 & 4 using 3 Y-joints

for 20v MAP - tap of the Vacuum Sensor using a T-joint.

Actually for 20v MAP the Vacuum Sensor is a electronic device and hence anyone can buy a 5V DC volt meter off the electronics store and read from there. If there's none make one.

When it's zero volt means atmospheric, when it's 5V means 30 In.Hg.

I once bought a 10V DC volt meter and changed the internal resistor so that it reads 1V DC when it's pointing at 10V and plugged it onto the O2 sensor and it works :)

It swings from 0.3x V to 0.8x V fluctuating and all. But I already bought a 10 LEDs AFR meter, so gave the analog 1V meter to the maker of AFR meter for further experimental purposes.

Analog 10V DC volt meter off Jalan Pasar - RM13
resistor replacement = RM0.10

old skool AFR meter at your service :)

[last sentence copyrighted by EFN :)]

Sifu Chin,
Thanks for your advice. Can the factory vacuum pressure gauge do the same job?

A gauge is a gauge regardless of it designation. I am using Winter's Canada Industrial Vacuum Gauge in my ride....but no illumination laaa hahahahaha