V-Tec, engine to beat!!!

hi guys,

i'm just wondering..y almost in other thread they're very irritated with VTEC machine... n one more thing always want 2 compare turbo/supercharged vs VTEC... just compare NA with NA it should be fair (what i meant 4 stock engine) .......unless it's using for racing/ drag battle or something like that..... any comments from other VTEC sifus...........

vtec_1088 said:
hi guys,

i'm just wondering..y almost in other thread they're very irritated with VTEC machine... n one more thing always want 2 compare turbo/supercharged vs VTEC... just compare NA with NA it should be fair (what i meant 4 stock engine) .......unless it's using for racing/ drag battle or something like that..... any comments from other VTEC sifus...........

iam no VTEC sifu, in fact iam no sifu whatsoever. but, saying sumthing like dis is like suggesting VTEC engines r ordinary NA. THEY ARE NOT!! VTECs r special engines made by honda to compete wit all those powerful engines out there, keeping in mind fuel efficiency in the low region of its revv operation and high output on its higher end. the B16 can do 145mph std, what more can u ask for from a 1600cc engine? what other engine can be revv skyhigh year after year and still sound sweet like when it came out of the showroom? there r sum other engines out there as good as any VTEC, but they rnt many of dat kind. so, u know the technology thrown in the VTEC system is one of the best around. now, there r even a 3 stages VTEC, whatever dat means, but i know sumhow dis latest design gives out better high end output.

i never tot and never will understand y a VTEC cant be compared to a charged engine, y? as if boosting std 170-ish isnt enuff to take them down? cant u even compete if not demolish them? iam telling dis wit the best intention possible, most honda VTECs i see out in the street werent moded to increase their response, but rather increasing their top end. y? bigger piping means higher top end power, straight flow wit bigger zorst pipe dia means even more higher top end output, BUT can the highest hp possible be harness wit the std ecu? ive seen std VTEC engines fitted wit a 2.5 inch zorst pipe dia, ive even seen worst, wit a 3 inch!! yes, bigger zorst lets ur engine harness higher top end output, but wit what kinda FC, and most importantly, at what rpm max power and max torque is achieved? FYI, a 1.6 daihatsu deto, 4 throttle, giving out almost 200 mustangs, flies the 1/4 mile in 13+secs, only uses a mere 1.8" straight thru zorst system, following the original pipe route, wit an oval muffler!! dat car was a sleeper indeed, even my ride cudnt get near to it while it was having fun around klang valley. now, dat car's owner gives response sum serious thoughts, and achieved what he wanted to do. just a light touch of the throttle and the engine red lined, and no special valve lifting system, VTi, what-so-ever were fitted in, just an SAFC 1 button wit d std ECU. now, dats an ordinary NA!! now, its even faster!!

what i wanted to say is, most VTECs out there were moded the wrong way, rather then giving attention to the response, they just make the exhaust louder (bigger dia zorst, staright through muffler, etc) so dat everyone knows they own a VTEC under the hood. again, yes, dis allows the engine to gives out good power figure in the high end (which most of the time cant be obtained wit a std ecu, revv is limited), but dat isnt what gives u good pulling G. high G comes from high torque readings, espeacilly if its max reading is in the low region of the revv range, even better if the torque curves flat (VTi is supposed to help wit dis). the std close ratio gearings is supposed to be good enuff, but witout good torque reading and curve, its sumhow useless. ive read sumwhere dat a std CTR can sprint out of sight in just barely 7 secs, the same as my ride, but its B16 can do 145mph std!! so, can sumbody tell me, how in the world a moded EK9, wit fire breathing straight through zorst cant even forced me out of 3rd? i dunno what speed dat EK was going, but my speedo showed a mere 160-ish kmh. and, to my disappoiment, dat was all it cud do. i gave the driver sum time and space to accelerate, wit all those flames coming out the pipe, but dat was all. uptown and KJ is quite far apart, and dat was the range dat i gave d EK to left me, but it cudnt. i stayed behind it, and may have been going through if i wasnt boosting below std. FYI, wit 0.65bar of boost, my engine only churns out 133 ponies. dat nite, i was only boosting 0.56bar due to my farked up turbine. do the math and guess what was dat EK's power output? the engine's setup farked up the monstrous high end power, dat a mere starlet can even be a hard challenge on high speed pursuit, which is supposed to be the VTEC's prime(??).

i hope u guys rnt taking dis d wrong way, again i have respect to the VTEC engines, and u guys. there r good VTECs out there dat demolished me dead, but they r very rare and those sleepers (they were quiet, wit zorst piping going thorugh the original route, seemed like an S-flow muffler, std-like setup) r very hard to find on the street nowadays. however, it is sad to say dat most of the hondas who revved me for a quik-game rnt dat exhilirating. i alwiz waited for the VTEC to scream out, but alwiz got disappointed.
there s dis voice inside my head dat tells "VTEC AINT ANY REGULAR NA!! GIVE IT A RUN AND SEE HOW IT FLIES!!" :) just few dat flew skyhigh, i just wish there were more.. hearing them scream and go is like.. whoaa!! :)

totally agree with you xtremeleo ppl got scared abit if they heared if ur car is equipped with vtec engines apa lagi if you say you got all that money spending tools dumped in ur engine. but the tuning and settings always ruin the power and that straight flow noise really irratate me although it's a honda i still hate them.

orc : thanx for the backup bro :) i was afraid my statements annoyed anybody in here, but they were all true.
yes, i know mugen guarantee its aftermarket parts will increase performance, but i dont think they were refering to a single product ie bigger dia zorst alone will difinitely increase power drastically, especially in an NA engine. VTECs r NA, but they rnt ordinary, so whichever theory regarding power upgrades in an NA engine applies to it. imo, its better for u to upgrade other things such as fueling, airflow characteristics, etc rather den to change the zorst, because zorst is supposed to compliment ur engine behaviour. it is supposed to be one of the last mod u shud do in power quest, changing them with std internals, std fueling setup, etc., is like a waste of money imo. money is wasted in doing dat kinda mod, fuel consumption, etc. dont u think honda tot d about zorst flow before letting the VTEC into the market? i think so.. yes, d std setup also takes into account many things such as zorst emission, FC, noise, which will limit its FULL potential, but a decat and a slightly bigger zorst will give u better overall results rather den farking up everythin like dat EK i wrote above. i wonder how much fuel it burnt dat nite, considering all the fire came out of the zorst. my fuel meter gave a slight twitch, lol. and i still think a 2 inch is a lil too big for my engine setup.
oh, i think u guys shud come into the toyota forum, to see results from zorst diameter experiments on the 4AGE. its a good read guys!! i have the same note on 4efte, from 1.8" to a hefty 2.5" dia, which i conduct myself, on my engine. the experiments were very expensive indeed, but worth all cents spent :)

For me, I will never go above 2". It's way to big for me. I would take 1.75" to 1.8" diameter. That is more than enough for me. Bigger diameter does not mean better, of course unless you have very hardcore modding on your engine. :regular_smile:

SimonsayZ said:
For me, I will never go above 2". It's way to big for me. I would take 1.75" to 1.8" diameter. That is more than enough for me. Bigger diameter does not mean better, of course unless you have very hardcore modding on your engine. :regular_smile:

ha..ha... it's try n error for me last time...but 2.5" on a std B16A engine is a bad idea...

at last, the conclusion on my last experiment on a B16 is finally concurred!! thank you guys!!! :) i alwiz tot dat dat 2.5" is just WAY TOO BIG for a std B16, ive proven it in the past but there werent much who believed me. they told me dat, VTEC's power can cope wit the big dia zorst, FC is improved, etc. but, when i asked what was the accleration time, top end, dyno sheet, FC readouts, they didnt give any response. i didnt know if they were annoyed or just being arrogant. well.. i needed those facts for personal note, IF i ever want to own an EG or sum other honda VTEC equipped :)
if there r sumbody out there who had 2.5" zorst dia on a std B16, do tell what r the results? good, bad, whatever.. :) bro oderf? what was ur results?

hmmm...to be frank, i was having the feeling that 2.5" on my b16a will do better in term or performance..i dun really care about FC at that time.... but after installing the 2.5" piping for sometime,...i realize that it has made my car a bit slower n less torquey. no power on 3rd gear n above....accelerating on the highway when i'm already cruising on 5th gear was also frustrating (this is really noticeable). now i'm using 2.2" diameter piping n i'm happy with it..:_:

haiya sure laaa those vtec fella wanna put a big 'ekjos' cos they wanna tell that they have a'vtec inside' to the whole warung mamak ppl and the police especially when they pastby hahahahhahahahaha

orc3368 said:
haiya sure laaa those vtec fella wanna put a big 'ekjos' cos they wanna tell that they have a'vtec inside' to the whole warung mamak ppl and the police especially when they pastby hahahahhahahahaha

cant say that way bro...its not only honda vtec (i think this has been discussed over n over n still people wanna say the same thing) ...u can see many other makes n models having ridiculously big ekjos.....end of the day its their money to spend on their car....the have the rights to do so....y we even bother ? :Not_Impressed:

for a b16a, using 2.2 or 2.25 is good enuff.
it's not simply the muffler size, extractor also need to be suitable for the whole length and that includes centre bullet if fitted

so far i'm using 2.25 for the whole piping n no complaint yet, besides my aim is not for loud sound. that's why i'm using s-flow muffler n centre bullet.

so at the end of the day.... it depends on the owner and his money.... what he wants to do with his dollar is his own preference....

ha ha.. more info!! goodie..!!
iam not againts human rights but, just making a statement dat big dia zorst isnt the only thing dat makes an engine more powerful. ive discussed dis wit VTEC users, not only in hondas, but in protons as well, but sum of them talk corky, ie "back pressure tak penting!! VTEC dah cukup kuat" as if his engine is powerful enuff to left a small starlet.
harpoon : wit the setting u mentioned, i know ur ride gotta be fast. what other mods have u done to harness extras from ur setup ya? :)

of coz la bro, most of us should know this...dun mess up with exhaust diameter..small changes could make a big difference.....u can always try urself the sizes from 1.8",2",2.2" n so on...an try to feel which is d best for u...best is get it dynoed each time u change ur piping...ha..ha...

extremeleo, pls dun get offended, i just would like to know wht's ur engine setup..sounds like really powerful......

as i know, what we can do to help engine produce more power
is to let exhaust exit more easily.
this meant we should make straight piping for our engine.
eerrr....straight piping i think the back pressure is less than s piping la...
as we know...back pressure also important....eeehhhh....pening la...:confused_smile:

hattech-v said:
back pressure really important to vtec....
i've tested it before...

hehehe... i know "back pressure" is soooo important to u.... dat y u still crave for crower.... no need to tell people laa u tested it before muahahahaha!!!

LoRiTaNaH said:
hehehe... i know "back pressure" is soooo important to u.... dat y u still crave for crower.... no need to tell people laa u tested it before muahahahaha!!!

u always into this aaaa... yarkkkk....