HeLp Me oUT ...

SYeNi69

i own a 1996 EK4 (A) which i brought back from HK ... it comes with both front airbags ... SRS / ABS and more ... front and rear Disc brakes ... it comes with a 1.5 VTi engine ... according to the sales person this car has like Japan Specs ... at the gear is a switch 'E' for economy and 'S' for sport ...

not to talk big but i always hang around at subang ss13 on saturday nights to test the cars potential ... i find it easy to beat a stock Putra and Several Corolla's ... if im not mistaken the engine is not a B-series ... but a D-series ... almost the same like V-tec ... RPM starts going crazy starting from 5500 rpm all the way till 8000 rpm ...

it's not a V-tec ... but i can keep up with V-tec cars ...

problem is after a couple of rounds at subang .. i and some friends with a waja(stock) and a satria(mivec) went into Kesas highway ... we tested our topspeed ... the road was empty . As we all started to push the gas ... the mivec went 1st and i was tailgating him all the way ... we both left the waja for about 1-2 lamp posts ... until 180kmh i saw the waja getting closer ... and at 190 he was next to me and then passed the mivec ... all the way till he reached 210kmh , he left us by like 2 lamp posts ... i can accept loosing to a Mivec since my engine is not a V-tec ... but a stock waja ??? im sort of embarrassed ... we tested 2x and the result was the same ... :(

What are some bolt-ons or simple mods besides swapping engines that i can do to shorten the time to reach my top speed (i/ve reached 210kmh)??

Can i just change the head of my engine with a V-tec head ??? Will the V-tec work ??? if so plz give me more info ... if possible im willing to do it ASAP :) ...

Does my engine have any potential of being modded or is it not worth it to mod ??

Does "SURBO" have any effect on Honda engines ... does it even work ???

THx for reading and if u can help me out plz do ... thx 4 reading ... :)

What are some bolt-ons or simple mods besides swapping engines that i can do to shorten the time to reach my top speed (i/ve reached 210kmh)??

- gearbox gear ratio

Can i just change the head of my engine with a V-tec head ??? Will the V-tec work ??? if so plz give me more info ... if possible im willing to do it ASAP :) ...

- of course......cannot la.

Does my engine have any potential of being modded or is it not worth it to mod ??

- turbo it...

- get a turbo not surbo....not any of my frens recommended surbo

xxxx said:

- gearbox gear ratio

- of course......cannot la.

- turbo it...

- get a turbo not surbo....not any of my frens recommended surbo

TuRBo ??? as iN this engine ??? where can i get the turbo kit if its available ???
will the engine even be able to support turbo ???

SYeNi69 said:
TuRBo ??? as iN this engine ??? where can i get the turbo kit if its available ???
will the engine even be able to support turbo ???
ek4? not ek3...3 stage vtec...no vtec sign on the rocker cover...

nope not a V-tec ... if im not mistaken the engine is D15Z7 ... so can i turbo it ??

Bro,

Anything is possible. U can request for a custom made turbo for ur car. U can only go low-boost (i think) and besides that u might hav to replace the internal parts to make ur engine more reliable. Happy modding.

e-jump said:
the waja is auto or manual?
how bout change to manual gearbox or dump in b16a? :p
better, reliable and cheaper than installing turbo...:regular_smile:

Hmm.. if japan spec, doesn't the speed cut come in at 180kmh?

Even my B16a with stock ECU has the speed cut at 180.

Stock waja? Are you sure it's stock? I don't think the waja's are that fast.

Maybe he overtook you while going at 240kmh? That would be a reason you got left behind, and the fact that you were still accelerating would mean that of course he would appear faster. But going at more than 140kmh on public roads... you must be crazy.. one tiny bump on that highway and your rear end would lift, bye bye traction! On track nevermindlah.. smooth mah!

From my experience with my old non-vtec 1.6 litres engine, The first three gears would offer quite a good pickup, then the fourth and fifth would really suck a$$, so much so that a friend in a toyota SEG would pull away in fourth gear. Something to do with it's short rod ratio (just a bit longer than the Taip-R) and it's gearing I think.

But seriously.. you expectations a bit high I think...
B16A, if you screw up on the launch, you can even kantoi with a 1.8 satria GTI..
with a turbo'ed wira with Evo engine (dunno what gen, not a fan) also will
'makan' a B16A setup.. The only difference is that which engine will last longer under such conditions?

If you want power to play, B20 setup is a cheap way to go... although I can't vouch for the lastability of the engine.

ask akuma, he tapau'ed all wiralution, gti la, turbo engine la.....even a porche! haha....with his almighty 7.5...... on the new kl kuantan highway.....

yees, there are turbo kits available for ur engine, all the hongkong fellas turboed their SOHC engine. most powerful setup for ur car n engine. go find more sources on the turbo.
US ppl boost up to 400hp on a SOHC honda....