everything about EG6

Small correction - the only time a B18C is called GSR is in USA. B18C non type R engines we get here are JDM versions which have no code other than B18C like type R engines in Japan. Which is why they are usually distinguished by the P72 stamp or P73 stamp.

GSR B18C engines output lower hp than their Japanese counterparts. I believe the numbers are as follows:

B18C1 GSR US spec 170hp
B18C from an SIR-G or SI JDM spec 180hp

yo bro, not referring the code of B18C... but the Engine Code which starting with 2, non type-R staring wit 1.... thats the blind spot which most of the ppl wouldn't know that...
GSR is commonly using for those not really top notch version which non-race version of some makes...

okay im getting very close to it.
but on a easy words,
to determined a TYPE R or A Big small V
for TYPE R the cover of the engine is red colour la?
and for BIG V the VTEC alphabets is larger?

but on a easy words,

actually wat u can do is, join some vtec guys for TT, slowly get con & slowly getting more info from anywhere & grow ur knowledge then...

yo bro, not referring the code of B18C... but the Engine Code which starting with 2, non type-R staring wit 1.... thats the blind spot which most of the ppl wouldn't know that...
GSR is commonly using for those not really top notch version which non-race version of some makes...

Which 2 and which 1 that denotes what is and isn't a type r? The engine code of a B18C is B18C.

GSR is much like calling something a GTI or SIR-G or SIR etc etc. I was discussing in terms of engine spec.

but on a easy words,

Oh boy... Most of all B series engines are big Vtec. It is a common misconception that there are many small Vtec engines for sale.

Here is a list:
EF9 B16A small Vtec (black cam cover)
B18C type r (red cam cover)/SIR-G (black cam cover)/SI big Vtec (black cam cover)
EG6/Ek4/EG9 etc etc B16A big Vtec (black cam cover)
B16B type r (red cam cover)
B20B/B20A no Vtec (black cam cover)

Just some friendly advise.....

1. If your not use to driving cars with VTEC's power range and you like like to drive fast, try going for standard spec engines first....B16A or B16B...learn to drive to the full potential of the standard engine first.....then you can go all out crazy with engine mods...

2. Safety

- whenever converting make sure you take all the suspension / brakes components are in good shape. You might want to change you bushings also & get a good set of suspension (if you love cornering it really makes a huge difference).

- Check that your chassis is in good condition (no tears or bending)...It'll get worse when you convert the engine.

- Get a good set of tires (neova,potenza,azenis....etc) Don't go too cheap!

3. Drive according to your skill level, however good you think you are there's always someone better....don't try to follow faster cars if your not confident about yourself & you car (especially in corners)....

GOOD LUCK!...

*note - there are a lot of Ori EG6 around....it's just nobody really wants to sell theirs...huhu

but on a easy words,

YES,type R coming with RED cover head,
and also YES,for type R, VTEC alphabets is BIG!!
there is NO such thing like small Vtec for type R,
unless somebody already swap repaint the cover head with small V.

Like Jin said, u should get u self in TT sesion,
spend ur evening in halfcut/workshop,
get to know some basic id of this machine,
then what have been told here will make more sense to u..

becoz if not, u might be thinking something that u not really sure bout it,
at the end of the day, u might putting CAMPRO CPS in ur EG6!!!:rofl:

p/s: new CAMPRO CPS come with red plug cover!!:rofl:

---------- Post added at 01:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:24 PM ----------

Can u tell me the diff in this 3 pic??

SmallV.jpg

BIGV.jpg

typeRengine.jpg

if u can answer it right,then go ahead with EG6,
if not, u might wanna booking for EXORA then..hehehehe

Which 2 and which 1 that denotes what is and isn't a type r? The engine code of a B18C is B18C.

GSR is much like calling something a GTI or SIR-G or SIR etc etc. I was discussing in terms of engine spec.

yo dude, seemed like u still not really understand wat i'm saying, trying to hint u but u not really know how to differentiate B18C Type-R & GSR...
one day, when u get the hint, then u'll know the 'Real" Type-R...

JDM B18C engines come in 2 forms.

One has a red cam cover with P73 stamp.

The other has a black cam cover and dual stage intake manifold with a P72 stamp.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honda_B_engine#B18C

"Question: There is a B series engine with the marking "B18C" with no numbers that follow, is this a Type R engine?

Answer: Not necessarily, the 96-spec and 98-spec JDM Type R has a red top engine and the DC2 DB8 JDM Integra SiR-G has a black top engine with dual runner inlet manifold. The red top engine has been hand built with forged pistons so produces slightly more power and torque than the black top engine.

On the JDM motors they could be a GSR or Type R. In the United States and other country are stamped with numbers after B18C."

Only in other countries, not Japan, do B18C engines come with numbers behind them.

For clearer verification see below.

B18C found in:
96-98 JDM Honda Integra Type R DC2 197hp
96-98 JDM Honda Integra Type R DB8 197hp
93-95 JDM Honda Integra Si (DB8, DC2) 178hp
95-98 JDM Honda Integra SiR/SiR II (DB8, DC2) 178hp
98-99 JDM Honda Integra SiR-G (DB8, DC2) 178hp

B18C1 - USDM spec Integra GSR (How do you know? Because the DC2 was only released in 1994 for Americans.)

B18C2 - Integra VTI-R AUDM (Read: Australia domestic market) VTI-R is their version of GSR which outputs less HP than both the black top JDM B18C and USDM B18C1 GSR motor.

B18C3 - Integra Type R for what country i don't know.

B18C4 - Civic VTI/S 169hp for the UKDM and EUDM.

B18C5 - Integra Type R 1997-2001 USDM.

B18C6 - Integra Type R UKDM and EUDM versions.

B18C7 - Integra Type R AUDM.

thx thx for all advise so happy unlike those proton forum lol
wow hondas are really complicated huh.
dislike mitsubishi engine
arhhhh Vtec big small v type r GSR also aiyo
errr... ummmm.
for the 2nd pic black cam cover with big VTEC alphabet
so its a b16a BIG Vtec?

and for the 3rd pic with red cam cover its a TYPE R engine
so its rather is a b16b or b18c am i right? yay i guess im right?

so what about the 1st picture?
blue? custom? lol?

and thx for the advise allto. but eg/eh chassis is very old liao.
should be some common problem with it right?
so it wont be 100% perfect. so is that really matter?

Oh boy... Most of all B series engines are big Vtec. It is a common misconception that there are many small Vtec engines for sale.

Here is a list:
EF9 B16A small Vtec (black cam cover)
B18C type r (red cam cover)/SIR-G (black cam cover)/SI big Vtec (black cam cover)
EG6/Ek4/EG9 etc etc B16A big Vtec (black cam cover)
B16B type r (red cam cover)
B20B/B20A no Vtec (black cam cover)

I think you misunderstood Jin. Pop up your hood, there are numbers below the "B18C" , (about 7-8 digits). The numbers that starts with "2" denotes a Type R block.

Dont get too concerned about all the technical details.....you'll slowly learn what there is to know about VTEC ...If your buying a halfcut, just look at the chassis plate code (blue one near grill)

1. B16A= EG6-xxx..,EG9-xxx..
2. B16B (Type R)= EK9-xxx...
3. B18C Type R = DC2 Type R-xxx..

Other than these codes, its probably some other type of VTEC......try to bring a friend or pomen along that knows a bit about VTEC. If you dont have any friends....just take lots of pic of the halfcut and post it here to verify what type it is..easy right.:smokin:

If you find an EG to your liking, first of all check that its not a "kereta sambung"....then check the bodywork for any accident repairs (look around the near the engine compartment)..usually if the cars chassis is bent you can notice gaps larger than normal (door,fender, front....etc)..

Of course you wont find a 100% perfect condition car, a little kemik here & there is ok...but ripped chassis (koyak) is big no-no..

You can always strengthen back the chassis with strut bars & fender bars & etc....or spot weld the whole car for some real piece of mind....

Take the car for a tests drive and see how it feels & sounds...

sorry steal thread a bit.

can ask all the gurus here, what's better on either b18c-r & b20

1. Jun stage 3
2. skunk2 stage 3
3. Toda C
4. BuddyClub Spec V
5. Crower Stage 2

what valve spring retainer to go along? Anybody using supertek? Any comment?
And cam gear. thanks !

I would definitely swap the block to a B18C block whilst keeping the b16a head. The b20b/z blocks are nice but I seem to like the b18c better hehe.

thx thx for all advise so happy unlike those proton forum lol
wow hondas are really complicated huh.
dislike mitsubishi engine
arhhhh Vtec big small v type r GSR also aiyo
errr... ummmm.
for the 2nd pic black cam cover with big VTEC alphabet
so its a b16a BIG Vtec?

and for the 3rd pic with red cam cover its a TYPE R engine
so its rather is a b16b or b18c am i right? yay i guess im right?

so what about the 1st picture?
blue? custom? lol?

and thx for the advise allto. but eg/eh chassis is very old liao.
should be some common problem with it right?
so it wont be 100% perfect. so is that really matter?

dont said like that la,
other forum also ok wat,
one malaysia ma..
help each other lor..:proud:

for 2nd and 3rd pic u r right,
but how bout d 1st pic?
can u spot the diff?
blue coverhead summo!!hehehe

---------- Post added at 11:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 PM ----------

sorry steal thread a bit.

can ask all the gurus here, what's better on either b18c-r & b20

1. Jun stage 3
2. skunk2 stage 3
3. Toda C
4. BuddyClub Spec V
5. Crower Stage 2

what valve spring retainer to go along? Anybody using supertek? Any comment?
And cam gear. thanks !

acctually it depend on ur setup,
what is ur goal acctually?street used? trek ? drag?
first u should know what u want?
from that only u can select,

in general, 1st 3 cam are gud,
other i never use,so no comment on that,

---------- Post added at 11:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:44 PM ----------

I would definitely swap the block to a B18C block whilst keeping the b16a head. The b20b/z blocks are nice but I seem to like the b18c better hehe.

100% correct!! b18c R are the best!!!:adore:

Here to give some advise to those new comers, if u really wanna gain the knowledge, not only search from net, cos some info will not on net due to some reason.... so, if just tot u can just read from net, then u become expert, u'r dead wrong... u can just refer from net, but not talk big wit follow the net. as in Wiki, those info r just some1 who got some knowledge & free time to wrote it & edit it, and somemore, just playing the Number's Game...
If u think u can just copy & paste the net info then talking big all around, then u just a kid that telling every1 around u that ur father's cock bigger than other's father's cock...

Goto workshop, join the TT or join the Experts Clan such Avantech or Sasuke Racing or mayb those pro racer that race wit Hondas.... cos they do know the engine from top to toe by split up everything, not just talking big wit net info...

Honda forum do appear a lot of this kind of ppl b4, hope that kind of lazy culture won't last long in here... thats really unhealthy.

If some1 here not like how i'm saying on the above, then just continue ur Net Searching & keeping Talking Bullshit in anywhere...

Thanks.

Here to give some advise to those new comers, if u really wanna gain the knowledge, not only search from net, cos some info will not on net due to some reason.... so, if just tot u can just read from net, then u become expert, u'r dead wrong... u can just refer from net, but not talk big wit follow the net. as in Wiki, those info r just some1 who got some knowledge & free time to wrote it & edit it, and somemore, just playing the Number's Game...
If u think u can just copy & paste the net info then talking big all around, then u just a kid that telling every1 around u that ur father's cock bigger than other's father's cock...

Goto workshop, join the TT or join the Experts Clan such Avantech or Sasuke Racing or mayb those pro racer that race wit Hondas.... cos they do know the engine from top to toe by split up everything, not just talking big wit net info...

Honda forum do appear a lot of this kind of ppl b4, hope that kind of lazy culture won't last long in here... thats really unhealthy.

If some1 here not like how i'm saying on the above, then just continue ur Net Searching & keeping Talking Bullshit in anywhere...

Thanks.

AGREED!!!
Jin,letgo yamcha :tee:
cool a bit

AGREED!!!
Jin,letgo yamcha :tee:
cool a bit

anytime bro... cos i dun have to work 1... ahahhahaa:rofl::rofl::rofl:

seems like i have to bring the BuddyClub Spec VI cam to prevent rempits & Mugen Air Filter for H1N1/H2N3 & mayb Spoon N1 Muffler to keep the Mosquito out of my area..... hehehe:rofl::rofl::rofl:
just PM me la..:adore:

anytime bro... cos i dun have to work 1... ahahhahaa:rofl::rofl::rofl:

seems like i have to bring the BuddyClub Spec VI cam to prevent rempits & Mugen Air Filter for H1N1/H2N3 & mayb Spoon N1 Muffler to keep the Mosquito out of my area..... hehehe:rofl::rofl::rofl:
just PM me la..:adore:

hahahha...
talking bout H1N1, today total fatality is 60++ already,
how to TT??Need to used my K&N airfilter la for face mask!! hahaha