0-100

Feb 20, 2005
SElanGOr
hi all.
i just got myself an EG6 last week
the car is kinda beat up and not perfect..
my intentions are to give it a new life..
was thinking of modding the engine and also the interior..
and suggestions on where to go and how do i start my lil project of mine?

i am thinking of an 18c5 conversion
and also stripped interior full rollcage
and also need to buy some body part too as
the previous owner hit the front of the car
and did not change the panels..

Do advise me on where to and how to pls...thanks alot !

jdmdevil

Mar 28, 2007
it all depends on what kind of mod r u looking 4...
if ur intention is to have a good machine (normal convertion), more power than a standard single cam 1.6, i suggest :-

-buy a standard 94 eg6 halfcut -standard b16a, all the other stuff from the halfcut u can reuse back, stripped everything from ur local interior(dashboard, wiring, crossmember etc)and put in everything new from the halfcut that u bough.

but if ur looking for a bigger mod (drive to work on weekdays, race on weekends, manage to pick up chicks on saturday night) i suggest :-

B18CR :adore:... no doubt bout it.. u still can use the DC2 dashboard, but have to mod the door panel to give space for the new dashboard..

pm me if u need to know more info bout it... :biggrin:

fobs

Apr 6, 2007
hi all.
i just got myself an EG6 last week
the car is kinda beat up and not perfect..
my intentions are to give it a new life..
was thinking od modding the engine and also the interior..
and suggestion on where to go and how do i start my lil project of mine?

i am thinking of an 18c5 conversion
and also stripped interior full rollcage
and also need to buy some body part too as
the previous owner hit the front of the car
and did not change the panels..

Do advise me on where to and how to pls...thanks alot !
heh! eg6 with b16a big V???

0-100

Feb 20, 2005
SElanGOr
jdmdevil...mine is an ori eg6 wif bigg vtech already..:)
fobs..yes it is..:)

do u think its gonna be easy for me to sell the
bodyparts on the integra?i just want the engine and
gearbox...

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
it will be cheaper for you to do a B20B conversion.. 85mm x 89mm. If you still insist on the B18C, well, your choice.

Roll cage wise, there's custom ones (or true roll cages, as some would call them), I can recommend you the fabricator, if you need it. He's in USJ so it may suit you just fine. There's also the bolt on roll cages like cusco's. which is a little more than those strut bars on the cars. The advantage is that they're removable, as to being as hard as welded on rollcages, I'm not sure. One friend with rollcage said it's JPJ approvable, one friend says the new(er) regulations don't allow rollcage on street cars, so I don't know how legal rollcage mods are ATM.

I can tell you that bolt on rollcages means drilling holes in the floorpan, and if you don't seal it properly, rust will form easily there.

Accident front, you can swap front radiator/headlight panel instead of beating it back to shape though the legality of that can be questioned. If the job is good, there'll be no questions on that though.

interior wise, EG6 parts not so easy to find nowadays, esp since the proton wiras started cannibalizing the front bumper as well (>_<). Aftermarket is still pretty easy though, if you have the money. C-west, Bomex are some of the choices, though the design they have for the EG is not really to my liking, bomex EG6 kit is a little ricey.

There's a few other japanese companies still making parts for the EG6, so you might have to do some legwork in terms of finding parts that are already brought in by some of the tuner shops locally.

I'm thinking you're probably heading down that route, because if you're restoring it to the standard EG6 look, then I think it's cheaper to buy a completed base model and swap the B18C in, and the DC2 brakes. Using the stock brakes on a B18C/B20B is pretty laughable. I wonder how those people swapping in B18Cs can actually stand using the standard eg6/ek4 brakes. The stopping power isn't really good at all for the power, even after swapping pads.

The Voltex Carbon GT wing for the EG6 is also pretty cool-looking, if you have seen it. I drool each time I look at the one my friend has.. but at 5-6K each.. Ouch!..

0-100

Feb 20, 2005
SElanGOr
bro
the car used to be a b20
i opted to a b16a bcos it was running illegally
now with i was thinking of selling the b16a
and changing it to a b18c..
or is there any other options
i have pls....advise..

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
bro
the car used to be a b20
i opted to a b16a bcos it was running illegally
now with i was thinking of selling the b16a
and changing it to a b18c..
or is there any other options
i have pls....advise..
i think what shiro said is quite true. b20 has higher torque hence u will feel more power. furthermore, it would be cheaper as compared to buying a dc2r halfcut.. which don't cheap... 12k last i heard... 1.5k for installation... and perhaps another 1-1.5k for wear/tear parts... that puts the bill at 15k....

b20, not too sure, but hell it wont be anywhere near 15k i think. pretty much use back the b16a head. others not too sure. :hmmmm: perhaps shiro can explain further.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
If your concern about B20B running illegally, then I'll say this:

B20B can be approved legally, even if on a 1.3 chassis. You just have to supply information to the technical department of the JPJ about your modifications, and they will specify any requirements you will have to meet before approval.

Usually the requirements are, but not limited to, brake modifications (must be discs on all fours) and higher suspension rating. Depending on place (AKA THE OFFICER), they may want 'more' mods to make it harder for you, but the procedure remains the same.

If you do not have a friend that knows how to do it, then you can read the details of the procedure in the JPJ website.

B20B should be in the region of 10K below, depending on parts, and how much modifications. If using forged rods and pistons, new aftermarket injectors and misc, that number can be easily exceeded.

Actually WHETHER B20 is cheaper/or more expensive will currently depends on how much you can get a DC2R engine (THE B18C GSR makes a lot less power than the B16A, although with more torque at 1-5K rpm), and how much you pay for workmanship and parts replacement. If can get a good condition engine and plug and play, it will still be cheaper than B20B setup, I mentioned it earlier because the word HALFCUT was mentioned.

But fixing up a car will always be more expensive than seeking out a car that's been converted. As such, usually people that do stick to the same car to fix them tend NOT to modify it back up to standard setups, mainly because it's a good EXCUSE to buy MORE performance parts that are NOT the standard type R spec, like for example, with the standard manifold costing around 700-800, might as well step up to aftermarket manifolds around 1.2K. :biggrin:

Lol.. "Standard type R spec" :smokin: For some, the TYPE R spec is enough.. lol.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
where can i find an lsd gearbox? how much will it cos me to change it?
Halfcut shops, or any shops that have them in stock for that matter.
should be around 3K and up for the gearbox+LSD, depending on ratio. If the type R double synchro, be prepared to pay a heftier price.

But if aftermarket LSD into current gearbox, should be around 3-4K.. incl installation. (that's NEW lsd). but clutch pack LSD need to be seated, so have to find a big area to do figure 8s for half an hour to get them seated/broken in properly. (common brands you can find is KAAZ)

Helicals, like type R, don't think available as aftermarket. only the stock honda ones.

Semi helical/clutch pack setup (OS Giken superlock, Cusco RS, etc), a bit expensive, around 4K and up. These are some of the best feeling LSD around. They lock really well under power, and they still feel like standard honda LSD when cruising around town.

Then there's my personal favourite, at least technically on paper, the TORSEN LSD (Quaife comes to mind), because I haven't gotten to drive a car with it. Seems popular for autocross cars in the states, but at 4K and up when it reaches here, hmm.. not going to be soon, lol.

But then comes the necessity part:
LSD actually a bit overrated for daily driving, unless you drive to the point where you tend to 'lift' one of your front driving tires often, or spin your tires at EVERY traffic light :P.

cat77

May 5, 2006
where can i find an lsd gearbox? how much will it cos me to change it?
bro, please call afis at 012-6378140.... he is eg6 specialist located at pandan indah behind underground shop......he also have the b18cR halfcut....thanks

fobs

Apr 6, 2007
bro, please call afis at 012-6378140.... he is eg6 specialist located at pandan indah behind underground shop......he also have the b18cR halfcut....thanks
cat77 original racun hole

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
0-100,
whatever budget you have, just do what you want to do. legal or illegally, however you mod it, if this is a daily driven, do remember roadblocks are everywhere these days.

there are no best advice in your case. you have to build your own personal spec rather than having someone else's dream setup. if you fear u will keep modding and changing parts, just keep it as it is, b16a.

buy another eg6 halfcut as a backup and keep it. as honda used parts are as expensive as a mummy's tomb from egypt.

i suggest you go around, get some prices comparison and grow as you build.

dont forget to have fun with your car. modding it until it becomes unreliable is no fun anymore.

good luck.

0-100

Feb 20, 2005
SElanGOr
Guys thanks for all the advise and time..appreciate it!
well now over the weekend i was in a workshop on Subang
this is my 1st time going into the docs..So
while i was on my way there my car felt funny...all of a sudden it sounded like
a Subaru..Anyway when i got there the workshop guy checked the car,took out a plug
to check only to find out there was oil in it as the thingy has over flowed..:(
Ok OK thats not the serious part...when my mech took a look in the engine
he noticed it was not a B16a EG engine but an Ef engine instead..even the clutch is
running on cable and not hydraulics.SIghh...there were also alot of leaks all over and there was no point saving the engine anymore as it needed alot more work and money.So right now i am in a dilemma,should i get a half cut like some of u suggested or should i just get a bigger Cc engine?the lower arm and all are also screwed..practically the whole car need a make over...and i only have a budget of about 7k..pls advise on this matter..thanks again....... :confused:LOST..

fobs

Apr 6, 2007
aoyo,... eg6 in that condition? EF engine somemore,... u reg card didnt state/indicate any engine change???

7k? juz enough to purchase a b16a big-v manual hafkat,... that also have to bargain like hell,...

more civic sifus pls help our bro here,...

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
ori EG6 with EF engine (small v i assume?) kinda of weird.
You can see on your car registration card. Should tell you if the previous owner change ti new engine.

7K ? just enough to get eg halfcut. a long way to get B18C5.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
7K, probably enough for new hydraulic transmission conversion and some minor bodywork only.

I don't really mind the small vtec, as the basic parts are there, the only difference is probably the TB and manifold design (the head is similar the same PR3 casting as the big VTEC engine, dunno about the cams)

Your budget a bit small for your earlier goals, because even rollcage work will be somewhere in the region of a thousand or more (metal isn't cheap now) and depending on design of the cage, that could go up even more.

But now that you have a budget, I'd start with getting it to run well first, and concentration on other mods as the parts wear.

If you don't have deep pockets, then it's best to keep it running well first, and then beginning to mod as you get better salary or that year end bonus you've been waiting for :P.

If it's your second car, and you don't plan to daily drive it, then strip it down, take out windows, rubber and all, end scrape every bit of tar and sound deading material out. It will take months, and after that consider the rollcage and other body work done, and finally working on replacing all the chassis bushes and plastic knobs covering the holes in the chassis (if you're handy with a putty, you can shave the holes (means closing them up), then reapply the body paste (that white thingy that ensure the sheet metal don't creak against each other) and send it for paint (or paint yourself, if you have the resources and a friend's paint oven)

But before beginning, ensure that you're committed to finish it, because it won't take a while, and even if you send it to the pro's, the difference is only the time. They can do it a lot FASTER.

Sorry, but it needs to be said that when you buy a cheap honda, it's a given that most parts on it will need to be replaced, it's OKAY if you're expecting to do so, but for most budget minded people I've met, it's a source of endless trouble. If it's returnable (eg. bought from own family member) I'd suggest to return it and get a better example. The rubber seals and stuff will be old and hard, and most parts will be well, OLD, but most of it will still be pliable and reliable enough for a few years worth, enough for use while scrounging/saving money up for that 'overhaul' you've always wanted.

I bought a spare cheap EG chassis myself, and I can honestly say that repairing it has costed it's original purchase price once over, and it's still not done at this stage, and it's been like nearly a year. I don't mind though, because I expected it, and it's a personal project I undertake in my own spare time, so it's not likely to be seen anytime soon.

0-100

Feb 20, 2005
SElanGOr
ok ive decided to drop the engine...
now the question is 18cR ,b16bengine kosong and gearbox or b16a halfcut?
i can stretch my budget a lil as i think i can sell the current engine to
cover alil fees....can u all pls intro me to a reliable workshop to go to...

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
bro, i personally think, 7k budget is way too lil to do a conversion... an eg6 b16a manual halfcut would already cost 6.8k now, if possible u can find some for 6.5k... (if u are hardworking).

not to mention, labor fees and replacement of wear/tear parts are not included yet. if u are really really lucky, the engine will run without any problems, however, i doubt that will happen because of the age of the engine itself.

i myself have been spending on repairs and replacing parts such as the air cond compressor.

total i've spent so far... touches nearly 15k... and i haven't even begun modding my engine. it's still stock standard.

just my 2 cents.

First of all, thank you for coming in.

Please share;
1) What spark plug brand you are using?
2) What is the code?
3) Fuel pressure?
4) Injectors?
5) Fuel pump?
6) Boost pressure?

Today, i downgraded from Denso Iridium IK24~heat 8 to NGK BKR6E-11~heat 6 (standard)~ I am so affraid to boost although with standard pressure~ :adore: Consider everything stock standard~ I'll post pictures of the new spark plug installed after a few runs soon~ :bawling:

Please help~ :bawling: