Tweek your tweeter

since u urself know every tweeter is different...... then??? depends lor

for me...i cross at 2.5khz, 12db, it sounded ok with my tweeter.... but it may not sound good to yours,

some cross at 1.5khz, 18db...and it sounded good.... but don't sounds good in mine system...

it also depends on ur matching mid as well..... and ur freq response of ur tweeter

For the 'cheap' tweeters, practice cautioun as many of them cannot take frequencies below 3kHz (3000Hz) without distortion. Won't want a broken tweeter do we?

Well, I don't know much on tweeking a tweeter with all the frequencies, but 1 thing I know is if the bass is too heavy from the tweeter I add a capacitor to it, if too sharp the sound then I put a condenser or a bulb to reduce power input to it.

kyheng said:
Well, I don't know much on tweeking a tweeter with all the frequencies, but 1 thing I know is if the bass is too heavy from the tweeter I add a capacitor to it, if too sharp the sound then I put a condenser or a bulb to reduce power input to it.

can u explain more on putting condenser or a bulb...
what is a condenser :biggrin:

howiechoo said:
actually my tweet just died....so i wan to know about how to tweak them...it's a denon old series..i tweak them at around 5k 12db ...but dunno why it just dead..
are you feeding clipping signal???
i tot you provide ICE installation to people?? you should know also rite?

fizzy15 said:
can u explain more on putting condenser or a bulb...
what is a condenser :biggrin:

You can see the photo attached, black is cap and white is condenser. Both of them have to put on +ve on the speaker and wire.

howiechoo said:
but i dun think i need those things since i use a active crossover..the bass already filtered ...

so do u guys still connect the passive crossover even in an active system?

So you mean you use 1 amp for your tweeter? I don't know, since you say you use active crossover, so this is my wild guess. If not bass blow your tweeter, maybe is your power input too big for your tweeter to handle.

kyheng said:
what is the differences between a capacitor and a condenser???
to my knowledge...they're the same

White 1 is condenser, as per my speaker sifu said, maybe other people got other name for it. Maybe is the same, you can confirm the name in electronic shop... Condenser or resistor is used for reducing power input into speakers, but it won't reduce bass input, where as the cap is storing the power temporary. This is what I gathered from my friend.

kyheng said:
White 1 is condenser, as per my speaker sifu said, maybe other people got other name for it. Maybe is the same, you can confirm the name in electronic shop... Condenser or resistor is used for reducing power input into speakers, but it won't reduce bass input, where as the cap is storing the power temporary. This is what I gathered from my friend.

read this http://www.bcae1.com/resistrs.htm

From an online dictionary

condenser

n 1: an electrical device characterized by its capacity to store an electric charge [syn: capacitor, capacitance, electrical condenser] 2: an apparatus that converts vapor into liquid 3: a hollow coil that condenses by abstracting heat 4: lens used to concentrate light on an object [syn: optical condenser]

a cap is for storing energy temporary....but when connect a specific capacitor to a speakers, it's acting as a high pass filter for it. Different value of capacitor will represent different cut off points for the high pass filter.

a resistor will increase your amp load if you connected series in the connection. Example the resistor is 4ohm, and your speaker is 4ohm also, when you connected series them, means Speaker positive to 1 end of the resistor, and the other end of resistor connected to the amp positive out, you're getting 4ohm + 4ohm, which is 8ohm. Hence, load increase, power decrease,

Get your theory correct my friend, I'm worried you're being 'kelentong' by your 'sifu'

Well, you are right for the resister. Anyway last time I use a low ohm and high watt to reduce it. Now I use bulb to reduse the power input to tweeter, this way is more effective. If put nicely it can light up our car also in the dashboard.

howiechoo said:
i dun think it produce clipping signal..cos i heard the tweeter sound just nice..maybe my tweeter cant stand the power of my amp..it should clip if over powered, but i didn heard it..

the tweeter now just dead 1 side..the other side is okay..
i do not think over powering your speakers will spoilt them (at least about 3x still ok, means rating is 100Wrms, 300Wrms to it still ok ),
only clipping signals will spoil them, or wrong frequency fed.....
sometimes clipping signal may not be heard, scoping must be done to see the clipping signal

kyheng said:
Well, you are right for the resister. Anyway last time I use a low ohm and high watt to reduce it. Now I use bulb to reduse the power input to tweeter, this way is more effective. If put nicely it can light up our car also in the dashboard.

what is the bulb you're talking??

i will still suggest a proper xover, where u know what is a crossover points, rather than you're trying and without knowing what points you're crossing.....
a electronic active xover or a passive xover will do the job

It is a 12V or higher bulb, it will only light when there excess power to the tweeter... So when you have more power, the brighter the bulb will be..

kyheng said:
It is a 12V or higher bulb, it will only light when there excess power to the tweeter... So when you have more power, the brighter the bulb will be..
wooooo.....this is cute

honestly....i think this is a wrong way to tune your tweeter

kyheng, wow ! new idea !

Who is your installer who did this creative thing for you ? Always interesting to talk to installer with ideas !! May I know ? Thanks !

http://www.mbquart.de/en/produkte/car/premium/

yeah....got the info correct...
yes...it's to protect the tweeter.....
learnt something new today