Tweek your tweeter

Well, this is not the right way to tune the tweeter, and the bulb actually serve 2 porpose, 1 is to protect the tweeter and 1 is for control the power input. My Pioneer max volume is 60, when turn on to 30 the bulb never on and tweeter got sound. When turn to 40 and above and the tweeter still got sound but the bulb start to light. Last time without it the tweeter will start to crack when the volume above 40, now with the bulb it won't crack anymore....

howiechoo said:
but i think no need to use until 12v bulb gua..i measure my sub voltage when SPLing...the voltage about 2.++ only..erm, will tweeter use more than 2.+ volt?

of it mean if i use lower voltage bulb, then it will light up easier if i open loud? then the warning will be more sensitive..?? so we can see it ore clearly..maybe..

Yeah, it will light up more easy, but at the same time will burn more easy. Anyway you are right, no need to use a 12V bulb, maybe use a lower one will do, I don't know. Have to check again first.

another thing that i know is.....
over power by around 3x to 4x of the rated power to the speakers will not spoil the speaker

Clipping and distortion signal will

maybe when you turn to 40/60 of your volume, your signal already clip/distort, hence kill your tweeter???

Nolah, the tweeter start's to crack when I turn the volume higher. Maybe you are right, but last time I tried original speakers there is no problem even the volume is at the max. So is actually the tweeter cannot take it.

if u turn your amp gain to minimum and then turn up your HU volume got any more crackling sound or not....?

Well, I'm not that type of rich man that just use an amp to power the tweeter, so before I power it using my Hu, I power it using amp with other speakers, the problem is the tweeter almost take over the midbass sound and the pitch is too high. So 1 installer teach me to power it using Hu.

u r correct kyheng, i have done the same setup for my tweeter. sound nicer as u can adjust ur tweeter level using HU.

kyheng said:
Nolah, the tweeter start's to crack when I turn the volume higher. Maybe you are right, but last time I tried original speakers there is no problem even the volume is at the max. So is actually the tweeter cannot take it.
i believe the tweeter cannot take it not because of power, it's because of distortion and clipping signals
you can ask your installer to verify this by scoping the speaker output from the HU

Well, anyway this is not important to me anymore. I'm happy with the current settings.

kyheng said:
Well, I'm not that type of rich man that just use an amp to power the tweeter, so before I power it using my Hu, I power it using amp with other speakers, the problem is the tweeter almost take over the midbass sound and the pitch is too high. So 1 installer teach me to power it using Hu.

got no passive crossover meh? he ran the tweeter full range from amp ka?

Sometimes buy the cheaper tweeter where got passive crossover, when this happens, we try to make 1 simple xover

Just my 2 cents,

When you say the 'problem' was fixed when you use you hu to power the tweeter, it shows that you are giving to much power to it right? Because you HU power would only be around 22W RMS max. So, the amp is actually giving it more power?

What tweeter are you using? Why doesn't come with passive x-o?
If you are powering your tweeter with HU, doesn't your other speakers, that's connected to an amp, overpowers you tweeters (everything else louder than tweeter)? Unless you put fader setting max to front?

My current setup is using a stock Hu with cap ayam 2 ch amp powering a component set. Hu powering my 6X9 at the back. When i turn the vol up, most sound comes from the front. since front connected to amp. but back, not much sound cause hu is driving the back speakers. (this comment come from rear passanger, cause he ask me "why no sound from back?").

any sifu can help
my tweeter sound is slighly too high n noisy
i plan to use a ceramic resistor to cut it down
may i know how many ohm n watt i need to use ?

hey bro, ur c-over there can adjust -3db is it? try it...if not then come to me..i help u see if i can help or not..

btw, the ohm u really need to test with diff value..cos every component's c-over come out diff current level.....test it with a few value from 300-1k ohm ..then see if any suit u..

Or...you can adjust the treble setting in your HU to a lower point.

Anyway how much is the tweeter cost? Normally from the money we can know how good is it....

kyheng said:
Anyway how much is the tweeter cost? Normally from the money we can know how good is it....

infinity brand
come in package
2 speaker n 2 tweeter
cost rm6++
i dun think itz the cheap 1 la
right

Infinity, but where's the passive crossovers? Anyway can I know what is your ICE setup? How do you power your infinity speakers? Using amp or power from HU only. If you are using amp to power the speakers then is more easy to solve the problem. You can use your HU to power your tweeter, but you have add a capacitor 250uf and a 3volt bulb. This is my car setup. The cap is used to cut down the bass going to tweeter and the bulb is used to control power input to it... Hope this help. Some of us sometimes don't want tweeter to work too much as the pitch can spoilt our ears..

Thanks guy
i am using amp to power up it
now itz ok (used 3.3uF 100V capacitor and 47ohm 5W ceramic resistor)
now solving the rear site louder problem.
used the 8.2ohm 10W ceramic resistor to try
but the sound become front louder
so want to try 5R6, 3R3, 1R2 soon