Tunku's driver, a reminisce

satria_95

Extracted from The Star Online.
====================
Tunku’s driver recalls trip to stadium

Story and picture by TUNKU SHAHARIAH

KULIM: It was just a five-minute drive 50 years ago but R. Kalimuthoo will cherish the moment forever.

Kalimuthoo, 82, was the man behind the steering wheel of the Cadillac that carried Tunku Abdul Rahman from his residence in Bukit Tunku to Merdeka Stadium on Aug 31, 1957.

Shortly after arriving at the stadium, the country’s first Prime Minister’s voice rang out loud and clear as he proclaimed “Merdeka” seven times.

Precious memories: Kalimuthoo looking at an old photograph of him and Tunku in Langgar, Alor Star, in the late 80s.
“I drove Tunku to the stadium where thousands of people were waiting for him,” Kalimuthoo said with pride as he recalled the momentous event during an interview at his home at Taman KTC here yesterday.

“There were four of us in the open-air Cadillac – Tunku, his wife (Sharifah Rodziah), his aide-de-camp and myself. We were surrounded by police escorts throughout the drive.”

Kalimuthoo, who served Tunku as his driver from 1957 to 1982, said that he felt honoured to share that historical moment.

“The Tunku was a true Malaysian leader who treated the Malays, Chinese and Indians equally. I felt sad and devastated when he passed away in 1990. It is hard to come by such a leader again,” he added.

After Tunku’s retirement as Prime Minister on Sept 22, 1970, Kalimuthoo continued to serve him at his Air Rajah Road residence in Penang.

Kalimuthoo said that Tunku had an uncanny gift of “saying something which would eventually turn out to be true”. The Malays call this special gift having mulut masin.

Kalimuthoo has 16 children and 27 grandchildren and spends his time planting vegetables and ladies' fingers on the tiny plot in his garden nowadays.

He does not believe in selling the vegetables but would share them with his neighbours and children when they visited him.

“Among the things that Tunku taught me was to lead a simple life and to be generous and kind, even when you only have a little.”

yes, even UMNO don't support Tunku in the late state. License for The Star Newspaper revoked once mainly due to Tunku's column that criticize Government.

back diff now diff lo.. even those roads in kl.. name got changed.. my mom complained.. n how to recognize wif those road hell of a long name..n those road name my mom hav been using for yrs den now they change to duno wut kinda name..sigh........

pr1mo,
hahaha they probably bang their own children too. buahahaha

Yes, I would agree that those were historical times, and now is the present times but we can now clearly see how the govt mentality has degraded to that which is worst than a pig. Missing are humane values in many people especially those who runs the country. They care not about the citizens but only themselves. Worst still, they care not even for the country.

I'd say that although Tun Mahathir in his days of rulings had made mistakes and such, it was obvious that he brought some visible improvements to the country. Look at Pak Lah now. He doesn't seem to care about the country and the country is going down like shit being flushed down a toilet bowl.