Tips on Installing New ICE

JaSoN_6

dear sifus,
i just bought a new Myvi and i plan to install ICE in it. now, i dun plan to change my HU 1st. wat i wan is to change d component set n' a sub. i went to acc shops and they intro me soundstream 2 way component set powered by SONY XPLOD amp. and they oso intro me a cap ayam taiwan sub wit built in amp. they said the bass quality of tat sub is nice n' can be compared to other sub (definitely not the branded type la..). previously in my proton wira, i installed a Pioneer HU with mohawk 3 way speakers and alphine tweeters powered up with 2 chan amp. my sub is D'ameron (ever heard of it b4?) powered by Dynaquest 4 chan amp n' it rocks. n' i think cap ayam brand, if properly installed, will giv a good sound quality too. my budget is limited. i plan 2 spend not more than 2.5k for my sub n' component. any tips on this?? i dun plan 2 go for branded goods. cap ayam brand like D'ameron can compared with branded one like soundstream n' its proven. and is SONY XPLOD 4 chan amp enuf to power up soundstream 2 way component set? i m not someone who will go into branded goods as student's limited budget.. hehe.. help me sifus~~

id rather spend limited budget on branded 2nd hand products, can get something with higher quality components inside, last longer and sound better...

check out the buy/sell thread at gr8tunes.net and mycarhifi.com, lot of good deals in there..

but those things can be trusted or not?? ppl say the audio system performance will decrease as time passes.. so they advice me not 2 go for 2nd hand since we dunno how the previous user used it...

id rather go branded 2nd hand than cap ayam, sometimes last longer than new ones..

im using a 11 year old mtx amp, 9 year old phoenix gold amp and 8 year old rockford amp, with 7 year old JL sub, no problems till today..

eRm... just now i go and ask the acc shop owner.. he intro me a soundstream double coiled sub power up by av quartz mono amp. then memphis component set powered by any 4 chan amp. is tat okie?? n' one more, is pre-amp neccessary 2 tune a good sound output?? u will recomment JBL sub or not??

jason, i came from where u are right now. Sit down relax and find out more about ICE before putting ur money in. Firstly, pre-amp is a big no no. Most of the pre amp in the market are cap ayam ie meaning loyar/useless. They give u more noise than it to tune a good sound. Why they use pre amp is because ur HU has only one rca pre out which therefore u need a pre amp to hook it up ur 4 channel amp and ur monoblock. No use. What i would think, is that starting with a 2.5k budget, this is what i would do

(i) get a HU (for me eclipse cd2000 around 700 with 3 rca pre-out, then u dun need to buy pre amp)
(ii) The rest 1800, spend 800 on component set and 1 k on amplifier (4 channel abit hard to find).

then later on, save enough money to buy monoblock and subwoofer. If possible lelong off ur current ICE stuff, then use the money to buy better stuff. Seriously to go into ICE blindly and not knowing which one is good, u can really forsee where ur going. 2.5k to upgrade to cikai brand ICE stuff--> regret--> change again---> upgrade---> more upgrade.

So dun go into this vicious and really painful cycle. Ask around this forum, there are alot of sifu here to guide u. Or check out the ICe for sale section, there are alot of good sellers there who recommend good stuff (for beginner) according to their budget.

Spot on comment by bafukie.
Whitemouse is selling alpine type X comps for RM550 nego. Have a look.
If you're worried about originality and condition of 2nd hand item, deal COD. So you can look at the item first. And the seller might also allow you to test it.
If you don't want to change your HU, you'll need an amp that accept speaker inputs.
Pro: setup look down to earth. Doesn't attract too much attention.
Con: Garbage in = Garbage out.

as i mentioned earlier, i plan 2 use AV Quart mono amp wit soundstream double coil sub. and mephis comp. ever heard of memphis this brand?? anyone try setting these in their ICE?? due to financial prob, i plan 2 change my HU a little bit later. i aim on Eclipse CD2000.

eclipse cd2000 is a good start for beginner. I am currently using it now... not bad, good price with good specs. Heard of memphis before but never really audited it before. Why wanna go for av quarts mono? looks like a imitation of mb quarts...

may i know how much is the price for Eclipse CD2000? eRm... as i had told earlier, very hard wanna find a 2nd hand product since i m in Kedah now n' not in KL.. i found a lot of 2nd hands but most of them r in KL. if i wanna get a brand new stuffs, wat u ppl recommend?? Pegasus ok or not?? can u guys teach me how 2 make all those stuffs compatible 2 each other n' produce an excellent results?? bout the watts stuff n' ohm stuffs...

last time i got cd2000 was around 600+ in kl. Which part of kedah u in? im currently based in jitra? If it is in alor star then i know of one place. If ur in kulim & sungai petani, then its much easier to find good audio shops. To know more about ICE why not go surf Basic Car Audio Electronics. its quite a good website

i m currently in sungai petani.. so which shop u recommend me 2 go?? CD2000 new set for 600+ ar??? but i think if i get it here, will b much more expensive lar, rite??

id rather go branded 2nd hand than cap ayam, sometimes last longer than new ones..

im using a 11 year old mtx amp, 9 year old phoenix gold amp and 8 year old rockford amp, with 7 year old JL sub, no problems till today..

Ya agreed! old doesn't mean its no good, sometime it mean gold too becos u can't find them anymore and new one become like lower quality due to factory cost cutting exercise.

last time i got cd2000 was around 600+ in kl. Which part of kedah u in? im currently based in jitra? If it is in alor star then i know of one place. If ur in kulim & sungai petani, then its much easier to find good audio shops. To know more about ICE why not go surf Basic Car Audio Electronics. its quite a good website

well, can u intro 2 me which shop can b trusted in SP, Kedah??

SP im not sure... go look c look c and hear wat installer have to say... then come back here report... see whether they talk cock or talk sense. I known of one place in kulim if u dun mind travelling down for some advice and check out their products. They carry alpine, helix, mtx, sony, steg, arc audio rockford fosgate ...

i went to 2 shops d. one of the owner told me 2 install a sub wit built-n amp. he said tats very powerful n' can compare wit other sub wit external amp. then he said use soundstream comp wit sony xplod amp. he said no need pre-amp coz tat will cause the sound 2 b very noisy n' hard 2 tune since i m using lousy things. then another shop said monoblock actually is cooler than ordinary amp n' he said many ppl dunno tat. then he said must install pre-amp so tat the sound will b better. tat 1, i think he talk cock lar.. but he intro 2 me memphis comp. i heard tat memphis is not bad in SQ. he oso said i must belif him if i wan 2 modify my ICE. wtf..

i think go with the 2nd guy, he knows bit more, just hope he knows how to tune the pre-amp eq and make sure it doesnt bring noise into the system..

but then, since my products r not those good one, a pre-amp is necessary?? my frend's car when install a pre-amp, the sound sucks a lot. is this related 2 unproper tuning of-pre-amp?? he told me tat pre-amp cause the sound 2 b harder 2 tune.. tats y now i wanna find someone who's good in tuning pre-amp in SP,kedah.. wat makes u advise me 2 go for him?? but the 1st one, he won a few titles in audio competition while the 2nd one never win any...

depends la what competition, sq or spl, if spl no need story la, if sq then he got knowledge oledi...

the pre amp eq can halp u or make it worse, depends on tuning and other equipment u got...

wat other equipment u meant? i just wanna install a sub wit mono amp then a comp wit 4 chan amp. does tat oso need pre-amp??