things to check when buying used e46

pac_jb

Hi broz,

Im planning to get a used e46 , just wondering what's the important things/parts to check on the car before buying it. Your advices are highly appreciated ...tq

Hi broz,

Im planning to get a used e46 , just wondering what's the important things/parts to check on the car before buying it. Your advices are highly appreciated ...tq

It'll be a good idea to test drive the car both street and highway to ensure pleasant experience free from substantial noise, vibration and harshness.

It is also a good idea to bring it to your trusted workshop (that knows BMWs) to get 3rd party assessment if the owner allows. That way the mechanic can advice what's needed to be fixed or if the car is a bad specimen to purchase (accidents / major engine issues)

Then you would probably need to ensure the interior its air con, car functions are all in working order

if the owner can provide you with serivce log / parts replacement receipts that'll be the best

Ya bro, planning to get another ride, abit confused on which engine type to take the 1.9 or 2.0, i scared if take the e46 1.9, will be under power

which 2.0.... 6 or 4 pots? forget it if its the 6 potter, not much difference anyway... unless you go for the 2.5

Yes bro, was thinking about the 2.0 6potter, btw which is the best engine for the e46, the 1.9, 2.0 or the 2.0 6potter

i considered these things when i was looking for a car. basically owners told me.... a 6 cylinder bmw is much nicer than the 4 cylinder cars BUT the 2.0l models are just a pain in the arse.... similar power as the 4 potter but cost quite alot more to maintain.... fair to say since generally 6 pots would result in some parts costing yoou 1.5x more (coil plugs, sparkies, injectors blablabla)

they do however looooove the larger cc ones...... they highly recommended the 2.5 models which they said are very reliable and cost about the same to maintain as the 2.0 (heck its generally the same engine)

Yup, maintenance higher but the silky smooth engine of the 6 is really nice.......hhahahhaha

- 6 cylinder. Sound good too for 2.0/2.2. Good enough for cruising (120km/h at 3k rpm)
- Engine wise, evaluate the radiator spare plastic tank. Tends to dry up and brittle.
- Interior, look for clean interior as many out there are not well-maintained (Seats, roof cloth, garnish)
- Plenty of e46 out there, try to get those with carbon bits.

1.9cc is much easy to maintain, 2.0 4 potter engine is just like princess need to take extra care on her. if ur budget is enough go for 2.5 much reliable and powerful

I was thinking of getting 1.9 too at first, but when I check , there is nearly 30hp different compared to the 2.0, is it really hard to maintain the 2.0, I have heard some bad reviews regarding that engine too. I scared if I get the 1.9 , then really cant enjoy the ride

go for the 1.9 or head straight for the 2.5's.... extra work to jaga the 2.0 not worth it lah... 2.5 baru ade torque:driver:

Never buy basic spec beemer which usually comes with smaller engine coz it'll give u the taste of 'Banyak Masuk Workshop' experience.....get the 6 cylinder above but if u looking at 4 potter, better look at other makes which give u less headache..

How bout 2.0 6 potter compared to 1.9..its either 1.9 or 2.0 6potter for me now...i not going for 2.5...cause got 2 more cars to maintain

drive it around ... go uneven road to see if the steering pulls aside or any top absorber mount sounds appear..reason being ..the e46 common wear and tear parts are the front control bush and the absorber mounts... and also the brakes...u accelerate and u hard brake it ...see for judder... disc is also another e46 wear n tear parts... all this is not expensive to replace.. but check first so that u need to know wat u need to spend to refresh...

regarding the choice... go 2.8 or 3.0 if u can find one.. i currently own e46 330ci ...gotta love it.... but even its a 3.0 couldnt expect too much in the hway as theres aloooot of much faster cars out there... hehe

Don't forget to check all the coolant and oil hoses. When these things fail, they usually will cost you dearly. I learned it the hard way when I bought a second-had car some time ago.