Thermostat . Use or just throw out??

mamatAE111

I want to ask all sifu out there if thermostat should be used on our car?
Some radiator shops say just better throw away.
But after doing so, I've noticed that the engine temperature does not even reach 1/5 at the temp gauge, when I'm traveling the same route to work( 1+ hour on mostly highway).
I'm afraid that the engine is not reaching its optimum working temp, and thus causing more friction and wear on the internal part.

Any automotive engineer out there who can settle this issue??

Any views appreciated.

who's design engine, mechanic or engineer. thermostat need to use because to control heat in engine with same temperature.

no... Benz was the 1st design the engine. (just kidding, don't take serious ya) :thefinger:
Thermostat can be use and can not be use as well. Only different at: With thermostat, will easier up to start up the engine, but more heated; Without thermostat, engine will hard to start up especially at morning start, much cool than with equipped thermostat.

does all thermostat are similar design?I meant can swap with other vehicle?

i want thermostat that slightly cooler than stock any suggestion?my engine 7AFE

Should be some cars same design, My 4age is using another car's thermostat, opens at 76.5C instead of 82C. My mechanic found it for me so I dont know which car is it.

use the thermostat...if not,u are killing ur car "heart" slowly...

For ECU engines, it's much better to use thermostat..actually better for all engines..:biggrin:

if you're experiencing over heating and you take out the thermostat, you're not solving the prob but adding one. In the long run, you'll see what i mean..

recently bought a stock thermostat from sparepart shop...abt rm40..coz i suspected my cooling not too good.. i boiled water in a kettle and checked the temp level...waited for it to cool down (adding normal temp water) to 84C (stock thermostat is 82C)..than i put in both old and new thermostat (old thermostat black and brown colour)..the old one didn't open at 84C...replace water and put more just recently boiled water at 90C, old thermostat opened only at 90C...new open full from the 1st test..so i changed it..hehe

TRD ones you can get from Win Hing at abt RM280...opens at 72C...

Hello i got some question here.. Before my bt not installing any thermostat and the temp always low.. but now already ask the foremen to install back the thermostat.
The problem that i faced is my car need long time to heat up,when cruising the temp drop.. Is tat thermostat problem??

I got a new thermostat after its busted ... engine take dam long to heat up during morning .. which means high idling during cold start .. very annoying ... genuine toyota japan imported cost me RM140 ...

xmika, after you changed new thermostat izzit easier heat up?? I also encounter this problem, high ilding, waste alot of fuel..

One more problem if you thrown away your thermostat... your ecu will not turn on the VVT due to "engine not yet warm up" :biggrin:

ya easier to heat up .. around 3 minutes of driving heat up to normal temperature already .. last time need around 5~8 minutes maybe ..

Cause my foreman lost my actual thermostat and dont know what thermostat he get and install it.. I need at least 10min to heat my car up.. Any advise? Should I get recond one or new?

u NEED the thermostat so dat ur engine can warm up asap, DONT throw is away. the engine takes a long time to warm up maybe because the thermostat isnt closed completely when i shud, get a proper one for ur engine model

just get new one bro...how much d thermstat?i tot it cost around rm50...correct me if me wrong..long time i buy spare part..as now driving car free from problem..

u NEED the thermostat so dat ur engine can warm up asap, DONT throw is away. the engine takes a long time to warm up maybe because the thermostat isnt closed completely when i shud, get a proper one for ur engine model

YES YES definitely i know what its like sitting around and waiting for the car to warm up :banghead:
use THERMOSTAT :top:

well u could try this as well, run ur fan on automatic...as in when the water temp hot than only the fan on... this also works out to be the same... but not to exactly how a thermostat works...