thermostat issue

Spoonz

hi there all honda sifu...
need ur opinion here...
my foreman just took out my thermostat to increase my cooling sysytem effeciency....he said that we do not need one due to our hot climate....
izit true...???:confused_smile:
so why the oem engine use thermostat....?
how the engine will warm up faster and operate in its ideal temp without thermostat?
what the diff between oem and racing thermostat???:Not_Impressed:

honda engineer spent their valuable hundred hours doing the rnd for the termostat n make it as one of the parts for the engine but here m'sian foremen simply throw it n say we dun need the termostat.. haha

oem n racing termostat diff is the degree (temp) before its opening the door to flow the water.

true hattech v..!
and spoonz... u've already asked the key question...
"how the engine will warm up faster and operate in its ideal temp without thermostat?"

thanx a lot....
I think malaysian foreman take short cut lah...
to solve overheating problem....throw away thermostat....
Looks like I have to find a new thermostat for my engine...
any suggestion....racing or normal one...
price...anyone??

try to replace thermostat, that rating temp as low as possible. some shop will hav 78°C. mostly, spare part shop selling 84°C i think.. for oem la.

hehe.. i draw in word first. then, copy & paste..

that rating, i agak2 aja. low temp one will easy to open thermostat door for water flow. try look for japan oem! ..also can get it fr JDM hafkat!

japan spec is low temp coz there always cold!

edy7311,
thanks alot ar....
ya ka...jdm temp is lower?
japan climate is cold...so the engine must be warm enuff....

hattech-v,
oem opens at 84 c
jdm at 78 c
racing one?
must be higher or lower?

juz 2 share, i m usin a b16a jdm version but it still opened at 85c..... i know itsa jdm bcoz the 1/2 cut i got is direct fr japan n it was straight plug n play.........

Write your reply...