Super-Charge

yo bro, thanks for takin time out to yamcha wif my friend and i ....
very informative and very fun.... thanks for the short spin oso man...

will definately consider it in the not too distant future...first step first...convert the siemens...

dun worry...will be gettin in touch wif u soon with regards to that...

thanks bro, anytime free wanna yamcha in k j area, juz buzz me...

Originally posted by johnson_goh86@Mar 12 2005, 11:49
er.. sorry to disturb.. haha.. but approximately when will the r&d for kelisa SC be ready.. and mine is auto.. will it be a problem? and how much HP gains are we talking about for such a small displacement car?
Bro,
There seems to be many kelisa fans out there like you who is game on SCing your pocket cute ride.... :D

It will a while before this kelisa sc kit is ready, reason being, still sthinking of ways for sc mounting, getting the right sc unit alone is difficult plus others minor challenges ie the injectors and piggy back management...Then if all fall well, then time for testing parts, mountings, fuel & timing mapping over a certain poeriod of time and when all is fine and holding on well, then that will be the time for it's launch...Meanwhile, have loads fun with this pocket rocket and wish us well..

On the hp figures, we are looking at a minimal of 25hp gains plus loads of torque at the low rpms..Thats where all the funs begins ya... :rolleyes:

On the gearbox issue, Guess you will have to take care of it, especially on the launch in 1st gear and constantly remind yourself that you are riding on a auto tranny.. :P

Regards
gerard :lol:

Originally posted by tombstone@Mar 12 2005, 17:15
yo bro, thanks for takin time out to yamcha wif my friend and i ....
very informative and very fun.... thanks for the short spin oso man...

will definately consider it in the not too distant future...first step first...convert the siemens...

dun worry...will be gettin in touch wif u soon with regards to that...

thanks bro, anytime free wanna yamcha in k j area, juz buzz me...
Tombstone,
That was a great time meeting you and your friend, since you live so close, yum cha anytime, just buzz when you are in the area and see if time permits..

Glad you and your friend liked short test drive.... ;) .....Let me know if you need my help in getting the complete set of wiring for the transplant, remember, do need some time to get the complete set to do the necessary change over..

Hope to see you and your ride with the sc kit in the not too distance future.. :P

Cheers & best regards to you and your friend..
Regards
gerard :rolleyes:

bolt on additional supercharger kit is very expensive, cost and labourcharge already around RM6000...then i rather go for transplantation of other turbo engines.

if i wanna supercharge 4G93, any idea to do it?? any modification can be done such as use other cars' supercharger or something like that?? (serious)
anyone has done it b4??

thanks!!

Hi Gerard,

Just to get more information on the SC unit you are using. I know it came from a Toyota but what type is it - centrifugal, roots or twin screw?

I just read it somewhere that some are reliable than the others.

Originally posted by risyia@Mar 14 2005, 17:34
Hi Gerard,

Just to get more information on the SC unit you are using. I know it came from a Toyota but what type is it - centrifugal, roots or twin screw?

I just read it somewhere that some are reliable than the others.
risyia,
The ones we are using is from the toyota family and no doubt it's re-condition, these buggers are built hardy and does last a long time with no complaints..These are from the roots type..The centrifugal ones are good for high hp gains, especially on the high rpms but tend to have lag and are very expensive and rare items to get...

Twin screw type is also good as they generate less heat as compared to roots type but again, rare and expensive...

All superchargers are low in maintenance and gives very good response from very low rpms but some does run out of efficiency earlier then others, so it's tough to get best of both worlds.. :D

Regards
gerard :rolleyes:

Originally posted by sycay@Mar 14 2005, 11:13
bolt on additional supercharger kit is very expensive, cost and labourcharge already around RM6000...then i rather go for transplantation of other turbo engines.

if i wanna supercharge 4G93, any idea to do it?? any modification can be done such as use other cars' supercharger or something like that?? (serious)
anyone has done it b4??

thanks!!
Bro,
Replied you by PM, call me when you are free and will take you for a short test drive and then you will get a feel of how the sc kit is..

Cheers
gerard

It is good that your SC is of the roots type, read it somewhere that the centrifugal type is problematic and prone to failure.

By the way to mount your SC unit to the 4G93, is it just a straight bolt on or does it require any welding to the engine block?

Originally posted by risyia@Mar 15 2005, 18:14
It is good that your SC is of the roots type, read it somewhere that the centrifugal type is problematic and prone to failure.

By the way to mount your SC unit to the 4G93, is it just a straight bolt on or does it require any welding to the engine block?
risya,

Cannot comment much on the centrifugal type as I have only tested one so far, which is too big for our 1.8 application thus creating loads of lag but once it spools up, rather impressive but sad to say the lag...What I want is instant responce with healthy high torque at low rpms..

So far the roots type had served me well over the span of 4 years with minimal or noine in relation to problems, something which I can appreciate... :D

All parts fabricated is custom made to fit with no welding points on the engine be it block or elsewhere..So you can remove everything with no tell tale sign of any added goodies, good if you are selling the vehicle..

BTW,. what car do you drive, is it the 93P, and if yes, which model???

Regards
gerard :D

possible to put a bolt on supercharger on a 1.3 soch carb saga engine? will you change internals with the kit? eg. low com pistons.

but the 1st question is can you do non efi engines?

pimpin323,

Bro, unfortunately no!. We have tried it on a 1.3 carb with sc, power wise is good but there is limitations on tuning ignition timing as the revs goes higher thus we drop this project as engine unreliability would suffer in the long run...

Changing to lower compression piston would help but again the cost involved in all these necessary steps would also be very much higher thus not much value to hp in this sense and it wouldnt be called a bolt on sc kit anymore..

Best regards
gerard :P

Originally posted by gerard@Mar 20 2005, 18:34
pimpin323,

Bro, unfortunately no!. We have tried it on a 1.3 carb with sc, power wise is good but there is limitations on tuning ignition timing as the revs goes higher thus we drop this project as engine unreliability would suffer in the long run...

Changing to lower compression piston would help but again the cost involved in all these necessary steps would also be very much higher thus not much value to hp in this sense and it wouldnt be called a bolt on sc kit anymore..

Best regards
[snapback]825022[/snapback]​

Gerard

How r u brader? Long time dun see u post here? Hows ur latest range of SC kits coming along? If it's ready do post up some pics including dyno charts, better stll get local mags do a feature.....for us to better appreciate. Thanks

Hi Gerard,

You mentioned earlier that the SC unit is engaged via a magnetic clutch and that for your system you have installed an on/off switch in the cockpit.

My enquiry is - for normal driving do you keep the switch always on the 'on' position or is it possible to drive the car with the switch turned off.

If possible, is there any problem with for example rough idling, high fuel consumption etc.

Regards

Shah

Yo Bro, razaksa

How's life down south?. Been very busy on the testing and development of some products and kits..

Worry, not I will definately post dyno's and constant update when I feel the kit has pass our simple test... :P ....Magazines too, if any..lah... :)

Nice to hear from you again..Remember, do drop me a call when you are down here ya..

Best regards
gerard

Bro, Shah

The switch is there (optional) in case you would wnat to use your orginal car engine power for cruising where you do not intend to push the car hard thus while engaging this switch, you can save fuel and prolong the life span of the sc belt and sc unit....

You can excelerate hard with the switch off and then engage while in the middle of it and you will notice a sudden pull (tiny nos) feeling...No damage on the engine or the sc unit at all... :P

Fuel consumption - A lot depands on how heavy your right foot is and your driving style....Bro, power has to come from somewhere and in this case, it's from petrol..Under normal driving you should reap in good mileage.. :lol:

Best regards

Originally posted by gerard@Mar 22 2005, 23:01
Bro, Shah

The switch is there (optional) in case you would wnat to use your orginal car engine power for cruising where you do not intend to push the car hard thus while engaging this switch, you can save fuel and prolong the life span of the sc belt and sc unit....

You can excelerate hard with the switch off and then engage while in the middle of it and you will notice a sudden pull (tiny nos) feeling...No damage on the engine or the sc unit at all... :P

Fuel consumption - A lot depands on how heavy your right foot is and your driving style....Bro, power has to come from somewhere and in this case, it's from petrol..Under normal driving you should reap in good mileage.. :lol:

Best regards
[snapback]831924[/snapback]​

Gerard

So u mean that when the SC is switched off the car will just be NA, what about the A/F ration and ITC? will it be back to NA settings and when SC is switched on it goes back to Foreced Induction settings?

WHat about electronic throttle or drive by wire systems like Gen2 do you foresee any problems in tuning these type of ECU? Thanks

Regards

Sazali aka razaksa

Originally posted by gerard@Mar 22 2005, 23:01
Bro, Shah

Best regards
[snapback]831924[/snapback]​

Yup, you can say that, as we tune to our best ability for all sorts of driving conditions and driving methods and under various loads and temperature, for optimum power and fuel consumption.....Certain vehichls may require minor adjustment for this purpose...This part is not inclusive with the kit but an optional item / request in future after the sc kit is installed...That's one beauty which I loves most, on and off... :P

Regards
gerard

bro gerard,

may i know the upcoming SC kit that u mention for Perdana, its for Sei model or V6?

Hi Gerard,

I'm just wondering- when the SC's not kicking in, how does the air from the air filter bypass the SC so that the SC is not suffocating the engine?