Super-Charge

gerard,

you mentioned that the SC SGTI performs better in terms of fuel consumption in the phuket trip compared to stock SGTI. would you mind explaining further how it does help save fuel?
since it is a belt-driven SC that needs power from the engine/crank, some power(generated from petrol) will be loss to the SC in order to for it to compress air right? means reduction in overall engine efficiency.

another benefit that caught my attention is the instant response you mentioned. i assume that you refering to instant pick up during cruising right?
but how about from standing start/idling? is the SC working at 800rpm ~ 1800rpm?
or we will have to wait for it to kick in like turbo above 2000rpm(just that it is much earlier)?

the car i am planning to install SC is a 1.5 liter mmc sohc engine which you didn't mentioned that there is any in testing yet(you did mentioned 1.6 and 1.8 only), so would like to clarify with you. i do know that you will only release it after thorough testing, but would like to know that is the test for 1.5 commenced already?

basic modd like exhaust/intake/electrical

hi gerard,
I understand that the SC needs some mods to be done as a pre-requisite like exhaust n open pod filter to fully optimise the SC. Would it be advisable to also include in TT to cool the engine after use of SC in daily driving?? Of coz, this is just an option. Prob u can elaborate more.

protnoss,
The 1.5 is in testing right now but will need time to registere some miles before its ready..Our SC car was better in fuel at Phuket simply becos, it didnt need to pull high revs compared to the na cars and hilll climb, we didnt need to down shift as much as the na too...The sc unit does have a clutch, engage when in need and dis-engage when not in need, save fuel again.. :)

Instant response, it will pull in any gear, any rpm, any time & anywhere..as low as 1000rpm in 3rd gear.. ;) ...If you could, we should meet up and take you for a test drive and you will probably get a better picture of what i'm talking about..

Regards
gerard

Originally posted by zronix@Mar 28 2005, 11:52
hi gerard,
I understand that the SC needs some mods to be done as a pre-requisite like exhaust n open pod filter to fully optimise the SC. Would it be advisable to also include in TT to cool the engine after use of SC in daily driving?? Of coz, this is just an option. Prob u can elaborate more.
[snapback]846446[/snapback]​

Bro,
It is recommended to use open pod air filter and complete exhaust system as any force induction method hate being suffocated, with the sc, it will choke at 4000rpm onwards..That is to gain optimum performance from this kit....Pls note too, that sc with full exhaust system tends to be on slightly louder but deeper in sound...Even aftermarket replacement element inserts cant do an effective job, only open pod filters... :lol:

On the TT, it is not necessary as sc's lubrication is different from turbo vehicles and I agree with you to a certain extend that even na cars, we should alow it to idle down a little before shutting down...Just my two cents worth of experience..One of the beauty of this sc kit lies in its profile, very low...even in maintenance.. :P

best regards
gerard :D

gerard,

great to hear that it is in testing too, and that it comes with a clutch. if we on the SC when we are revving 4000rpm, will it shorten the life span of the SC belt/clutch? (because the lifespan of clutch for gears would be shorten if we engage it while revving so high, would like to know it is somehow alike?)
i particular favour this on/off feature that comes in the package of yours.

I understand that you might not need to downshift as often as na car in the phuket trip. but given that it is SCed to provide more air, isn't it required more fuel to be pumped in at lower rpm too to maintain A/F ratio? somewhat even out?
and like you said, power has to come from somewhere, in this case, fuel. the equivalent power needed to push NA or SC SGTI up hill will be the almost same, so i believe that only engine efficiency can save petrol at that scenario.
(sorry for the fuss regarding fuel consumption when talking about forced induction, i plan to install it for my daily ride though)

regarding the test drive, yeah, we can do it sometime when the kit is ready. but i don't think i can relate much, since the SC model would be different for 1.5, and that my car is a auto with gear ratio badly set.
i am more concern on the standing start, so you confirm that it will response even at 1000rpm in first gear? if it is, great!!!

Originally posted by protnosss@Mar 29 2005, 01:18
gerard,

great to hear that it is in testing too, and that it comes with a clutch. if we on the SC when we are revving 4000rpm, will it shorten the life span of the SC belt/clutch? (because the lifespan of clutch for gears would be shorten if we engage it while revving so high, would like to know it is somehow alike?)
i particular favour this on/off feature that comes in the package of yours.

I understand that you might not need to downshift as often as na car in the phuket trip. but given that it is SCed to provide more air, isn't it required more fuel to be pumped in at lower rpm too to maintain A/F ratio? somewhat even out?
and like you said, power has to come from somewhere, in this case, fuel. the equivalent power needed to push NA or SC SGTI up hill will be the almost same, so i believe that only engine efficiency can save petrol at that scenario.
(sorry for the fuss regarding fuel consumption when talking about forced induction, i plan to install it for my daily ride though)

regarding the test drive, yeah, we can do it sometime when the kit is ready. but i don't think i can relate much, since the SC model would be different for 1.5, and that my car is a auto with gear ratio badly set.
i am more concern on the standing start, so you confirm that it will response even at 1000rpm in first gear? if it is, great!!!
[snapback]849066[/snapback]​

The other reason on fuel savings is high torque where max torque could be achieved at low rpms....Do not worry about standing start, it will come alive... :D
On the clutch issue, so far the sc unit didnt gave us any problems at all be it on or off or on during revving...Thats why I can safely say it's fine...This feature of the switch is a great advantage over other methods but it is not part of the package...The package is clutch on or off lies on the demands of your right foot and it an optional setting and installation... :P ....As it takes up time to install...That an optional for ppl, some may want it, some may not like it...Let's just make it optional..Installation price on this switch is minimal and I will inform you when the kit is ready..

Regards
gerard

gerard bro,

do u think doin a SC kit for Perdana V6 engine is diff? coz im now in dilemma should i convert to V6 engine or overhaul my Sei 4g63 engine and wait for your SC kit

Originally posted by normality78@Mar 30 2005, 22:36
gerard bro,

do u think doin a SC kit for Perdana V6 engine is diff? coz im now in dilemma should i convert to V6 engine or overhaul my Sei 4g63 engine and wait for your SC kit
[snapback]854970[/snapback]​

Bro,
Dilemma??..I don't think so, you are having such difficulties in choosing simply because there are more options now...??... :P ..Just kidding :D

Anyway, the deciding factor is entirely up to you....Are you looking at a V6 engine or V6 Twin turbo set up.?.

I really cant tell when will the sei sc kit will be ready to hit the streets though plans are there to develope one for this model.....V6 seriously lacks space plus it's V6 engine style, this complicate matters worst...The choice and decision is all up to you bro... ;) ...Happy boosting :D

Regards
gerard

ih Gerard bro,

dun worry. i dun hold anyone responsibility for giving any feedback and opinion. coz god gave us brain to analyse and think rather thn follow blindly. hhehehehe. so im always welcome feedback and opinion.

yeah, you're rite. due to more option now. whahahaha. not V6 TT for me definietly. coz heard around mention very high fuel consumption and maintenance. hence supercharge interest me more.

Originally posted by normality78@Mar 31 2005, 14:46
ih Gerard bro,

dun worry. i dun hold anyone responsibility for giving any feedback and opinion. coz god gave us brain to analyse and think rather thn follow blindly. hhehehehe. so im always welcome feedback and opinion.

yeah, you're rite. due to more option now. whahahaha. not V6 TT for me definietly. coz heard around mention very high fuel consumption and maintenance. hence supercharge interest me more.
[snapback]857045[/snapback]​

Bro,
Guess then it bores down to v6 na or sei sc...Like I said earlier, the sei is in my plans for development but when will it be ready is another question..Happy choosing... :D

Best regards

gerard shellz here jus wanna knoe how much hp more aftter u install tis sc kit....for 1.6 satria...and installation if it's twin cam

Originally posted by shellzshockerz@Apr 1 2005, 13:42
gerard shellz here jus wanna knoe how much hp more aftter u install tis sc kit....for 1.6 satria...and installation if it's twin cam
[snapback]859431[/snapback]​

Bro,
The hp figures and torque figure of thw 1.6 mmc wira, I shall not mentioned just yet untill the kit is ready but any sc kit will have a gain of minimal 30% increase in hp and torque, throughtout the power band where it is very healthy at the low and mid rpm, it is at these range of rpm we usually travell at....Very soon bro, just hang in there a little while longer ya.. ;)

On the twin cam version, expect slightly more than the soch..

Best regards
gerard

bro ...
just wanna know ... :huh:
if i have done up my car, eg. pnp, cam tuning and etc without using any aftermarket parts will my engine be able to handle the power that the sc gonna pump out ...? ;)
just curious ... :rolleyes:

Originally posted by kr33ps@Apr 2 2005, 19:30
bro ...
just wanna know ... :huh:
if i have done up my car, eg. pnp, cam tuning and etc without using any aftermarket parts will my engine be able to handle the power that the sc gonna pump out ...? ;)
just curious ... :rolleyes:
[snapback]862561[/snapback]​

Bro,
PnP will definately help, cam timing will have to be adjusted accordingly but I'm not sure what do you mean by "without any after market parts"...Dont really understand this statement....Care to eleborate further?...Thanks bro..

Btw, what car do you intend to sc?... ;)

Regards

gerard,

you mentioned that there is a on/off switch for the SC, so would like to know that if the SC is off, how is the AF ratio settings be change back to stock settings? or will it be continue to run rich?

hello brother gerrard...hahaha..now me in sabah liao (outstation work)

so cannot yamcha wif ya anytime soon..how have ya been keeping...

okiez..back to the thread...i echo FWW..i oso quite curious about the on/off switch.. if off...on what a/f mixture would it be...

thanks bro...i will try to catch up wif u when i get back...

take care bro...

send regards to your gti (sc monster)...

ps: mine should undergo the treatment (hopefully) in the not too distant future...

Originally posted by tombstone@Apr 3 2005, 18:47
hello brother gerrard...hahaha..now me in sabah liao (outstation work)

so cannot yamcha wif ya anytime soon..how have ya been keeping...

okiez..back to the thread...i echo FWW..i oso quite curious about the on/off switch.. if off...on what a/f mixture would it be...

thanks bro...i will try to catch up wif u when i get back...

take care bro...

send regards to your gti (sc monster)...

ps: mine should undergo the treatment (hopefully) in the not too distant future...
[snapback]864493[/snapback]​

Bro,
Call me when you return from Sabah and we can discuss further, on the issue at hand, ..These are tricks of the trade which cannot be reveal everywhere :P ...Hope you understand bro...All I can say is it will alter ur af ratio to the required status and it works great... :D

Best regards

ps..When are you returning to KL??

Originally posted by fww@Apr 3 2005, 17:22
gerard,

you mentioned that there is a on/off switch for the SC, so would like to know that if the SC is off, how is the AF ratio settings be change back to stock settings? or will it be continue to run rich?
[snapback]864298[/snapback]​

bro,
af reading will return to the required requirements as and when it arises...Sorry, bro cannot reveal much as its our trick of the trade...Hope you understand.. ;)

regards

gerard ...

i m just driving a mere satria 1.5 ...
am waiting still for the outcome of the sc for the 1.5 ... :D

what i meant was, if no changes made to any internal parts and did only pnp and cam adjustment itself, i was told that a 1.5 can out perform a 1.8 if not be it's equal. so the questions is, if the statement is true, won't sc bring more stress to engine ? can the engine take it?

regards ...

gerard,
i believe u mention the wira 1.5 with seimen vdo should b out around april rite?
how's it coming along?