Streamyx maintenance?

ZTH slow not becoz of stiimix la ... i oso go to other forums quite often ... they load much much faster than ZTH .. ZTH is slow coz of ZTH and not becoz of stimix ... but stimix still slow by any counts laa for the time being ...

Me also affected by this maintenance issue. So, things that I do when the connection
start to be sluggish:

1. flush dns
2. restart modem
3. reconnect

Then the connection will be as normal again

Got a good news and a bad news abt the maintenance reason (got it from a quite reliable source.. a fren of mine who work for tmnet) ..

Good news: They're installing equipments as they will offer consumer with 4mbps line within next few weeks/months..
Bad news: A thing called ISPC (internet service protocol control) is installed to a few DSLAM (not all) to control p2p and pr0n stuff. For the time being, they will only monitor p2p activity among users.. but he oso dunno when tmnet will start controlling.. haih stupid tmnet.. consumers pay the service to get the bandwidth.. just let them use le

They better not control our usage. We are paying customers and we have every dang right to use the bandwidth as we see fit. If they did control P2P or porn, I think it's high time we don't just sit our talking asses in this forum and gather a mass of people together with The Star, and walk up to Michael Lai's office and give him a piece of our mind. It's bad enough I ain't getting my full 1 MB line and now this shit? But let's wait and see what TMNET has to say. I believe the p2p and porn stuff is a paid service.

I've been experiencieng frequent disconnects since like 2 months ago ler :( Sometimes as fast as disconnecting every minute! mahaii

called liauu .. even at 12 mindite oso operators bz .. tiuuuu .. either there are so many ppl complaining or they just not bothered to layan anymore laa ..
i guess i will just have to write to the [email protected] to complain laaa ...

alamak .. must have sent it to the wrong add la then .. hahahahaa .. nvm .. i got thru the phone earlier .. taro them kow kow liauuu .. so far from phone call at 7pm till now havent DC yet .. hehehehe

unker fred,
u r right.. kasi call dem and said lei lou mei and TNMCFH dem enuf oredi.. hhaahahahahahahahahaha! LOL!

Regards,
Mike

infernal,
Download ham sup vids ar? hehe Or downloading recipe on how to home make a C4 kerbabom stuff? hehe

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/2182/testrw4.jpg

WTF ?!?!!! :shocked:

hey .. this speed test quite syok laa the graphics .. hehehehe .. looks like dashboard only .. hahahahahaa .. http://www.speedtest.net/index.php

btw .. i tried a few other tests sites around the world .. i have to say the results varies quite alot .. jap site i can get over 500kbps .. some other sites less than 400kbps .. i suppose it depends on the server we are testing on oso laa .. if we test some server which has less traffic (nite time for them) may get much better results ..

try out the one at KIEV UKRAINE ... i got surprising results .. hahahaha

Guys, I've been observing the difference in performance between West Malaysia and East Malaysia, and what I've found out is... by using the same package (1mb RM88), Streamyx user from West Malaysia actually has a much higher performance compared to users from the East.

Here's the catch, ANY of us, either from West or the East, if we are to perform the test using TMNUT's bandwidth test, ALL of us get the SAME results, somewhere between 700~900kb/s download.

BUT!! If we are to perform the test from an alternative website, somewhere outside of Malaysia, like www.buytelco.net/speedtest.asp .... the difference is pretty ridiculous, heres why:

West Malaysia: I got 4-5 friends based in KL, I requested them to perform the test on the buytelco website, the result they get from downloading is above 800kb/s, sometimes around 700kb/s or so.

East Malaysia: 3-4 in Sibu including myself, one from Kuching and another one from Sabah, did the same test on the same website, and we're getting download speed of NOT MORE THAN 100kb/s.

yeah, we get the same "high speed" results in TMNUT, but I always doubted that bandwidth test is pointless, the buytelco website is JUST one of many examples to prove this DIFFERENCE in performance, you can try other websites which are posted by some of the forumers in this thread.

I've been in KL for 2 years, and I was sharing the 1mb connection with 6 of my friends, the speed I get is a bit slower than usual but thats normal. Funny thing is, after I came back to Sibu around April, I immediately applied for another 1mb ADSL for my own personal use, that time I thought to myself "f*ck ya, 1mb all for me!" but the fact is that I'm actually experiencing a lot slower speed compared to the time when I was in KL, and sharing the line with 6 other housemates, I just... DON'T... UNDERSTAND!!!!

It's been more than 4 months, I've been calling Streamyx... complaining, making reports and etc... it has NEVER been solved, I've also tried to ask them for an EXPLANATION. All I wanted to know IS WHY is there such a big difference in performance between the East and the West? Everytime I asked this question, they'd say there should NOT be any difference, if that's the case, well fuck that cause I have plenty of proof that I don't GET WHAT I PAID FOR!!!

I tried all sort of stuff already, replacing cables, flush dns, restarting modem, restarting pc, even changed my modem... I get extremely furious everytime the Streamyx helpline asked me to perform the troubleshooting procedure... cibai pointless I'd say.

Do remember I only tested this with few of my friends, not more than 10 from East Malaysia, and same at West Malaysia... the problem doesn't come from just me alone, it goes the same with all my friends... so I'm just wondering if any of you out there that are actually AWARE of this problem?