Straight piping vs S-flow piping

mokomoko

I have heard some comments about S-flow and straight piping routes for the exhaust system.

people say that straight piping is better suited for high end power rather than low end and will make you lose some low end power. And S-flow piping will help increase your low end power but not help on high end power

Straight is of course more noisy tham s-flow but what i am searching for is good low end power and torque for better city driving and daily usage.

So which is better for my car? btw, i drive a satria 1.6 manual and probably will only go about 1.8" diameter piping. Now just doubtful on what piping route to follow.

advice anyone?

I think the best route piping is the original route, since you want low end power. S-flows are the way to go for low end power and less noise. I myself using 2" pipe, original route and a s-flow muffler. I get good low end response and very little noise from the exhaust.
I don't rev much to the max so, like you, low end is what I need. Oh btw, Im running on civic dohc vtec manual. :regular_smile:

lol Honda Civic - DOHC VTEC....where can compare to Proton

Honda everything keep stock also good liao

No offend to Proton driver...me also Proton driver......

and i noticed that a lot Proton driver struggling to get the best exhaust system setup for their car to get maximum perfection.

SimonsayZ said:
I think the best route piping is the original route, since you want low end power. S-flows are the way to go for low end power and less noise. I myself using 2" pipe, original route and a s-flow muffler. I get good low end response and very little noise from the exhaust.
I don't rev much to the max so, like you, low end is what I need. Oh btw, Im running on civic dohc vtec manual. :regular_smile:
If i follow my old routing for my exhaust piping its gonna be pretty bent here and there. Is the a way to smoothen out the routing without the excessive sound?
I do not mind sound i just do not want to sound like a pissed off bee after the mod.

Guys,
What is means by S-flow? Is it piping pattern or design in the muffler or??

i think this topic have been discuss for many many times. pls do a search back.

kk9972 said:
Guys,
What is means by S-flow? Is it piping pattern or design in the muffler or??
hi bro
it is not the piping pattern but is the design of the muffler
s-flow muffler is like those GTi 1

normality78 said:
i think this topic have been discuss for many many times. pls do a search back.
I have tried doing a search on it but i cannot seem to find it. Maybe im not that savvy with the comp :X-:

Anyway, I am still contemplating on which system to use. A friend of mine told me I should go straight piping if i want performance and disregard sound. You must sacrifice something to get something....
He said if i follow back my old piping route i might as well don't do anything at all.

So here are the things i am lookign for in performance:
- more torque and acceleration
- more usable low end power
- a bassy kinda sound not the mosquito/pissed off bee/angry aunty with a sore throat kinda sound.

thanks in advance

S-flow would sastify most of your need except for the acceleration part.....
look at it in a simple angle....
the pipe is S flow....so theoritically the air would be cooped up at the "bent" thus airflow is continuos (exhaust airflow after engine combustion). that would give you torque and low end powers.......
acceleration u need the burst of power or speed.....this would usually be the direct system cos after combustion; you'll move forward intantly as the air doesn't get couped up towards the bent.
Dear all experts...Pls correct me if i'm wrong.

anyway, if you want some daily drives.......change the extractor to a 4-2-1 system coupled up with original exhaust routing and S-flow...

If you're into speed and burst of powers....got for 4-1 extractor with direct pipings in the shortest route.......and of cos; need to "tahan" the loud sounds

btw, depending again on your engine's cc. Dun get tempted by changing to a 2" pipes just because it looks nice.... 1.5cc and i.6cc NA usually only needs 1"1/2 or max 1"3/4.

My current 1.8cc NA is using 4-2-1 extractor, 1"3/4 in the center before the bullet and after that is 2" piping coupled with a muffler.
My 1.6 V6 Wira is using the set up I mentioned above.....only 1"3/4 toppled up with a S-flow muffler which give a nice sound...and smooth power/torque

S-flow muffler is like almost every stock muffler out there.

In an S-flow muffler, the exhaust gas escapes indirectly, after it has come out from the input tubing, dissipated inside the stainless steel wool or glass fibre or whatever material the muffler is filled with, before exiting from the exit tubing. So, it's silent, but it's restrictive.

Straight flow mufflers and exhaust tubings do not necessarily make you lose low-end torque and power. That will only happen if you overdo things and fit exhaust piping that is too large in diameter (e.g. 2-inch piping for NA 1.3 or 1.5 litre engine) followed by a straight flow muffler that looks like it can barbeque a pig.

If you keep the exhaust piping at a moderate diameter (e.g. 1.75 or 1.8 inches for NA 1.5 litre car), use an appropriate glass-pack silencer (those usual 'bullets') or hemholtz resonator for silencing, followed by a straight-flow muffler that doesn't have oversized tubes and an oversized tailpipe, the throttle response will still be alright.

my setup goes like this for my LMST, all comments r welcomed.

4-2-1 --> 2" Piping --> Bullet --> 1.7"(stock) Piping --> Straight Flow Muffler

gsrTurbo9166 said:
hi bro
it is not the piping pattern but is the design of the muffler
s-flow muffler is like those GTi 1

ic... Thanks bro. got some ideal about it. you are cool~ :shades_smile:

lim....how's ur GSR.......giving any problem??

So I should get the most unrestrictive system i can get right?

So i get a 4-2-1 extractor, 1.7 - 1.8 inch straight flow piping all the way to the muffler and maybe get a muffler with a 2.1 - 2.3 inch outlet?

Me car is a 1.6 satria, will this set up make my car sound bad or decent? Will the set up hamper my acceleration?

jswong said:
S-flow muffler is like almost every stock muffler out there.

In an S-flow muffler, the exhaust gas escapes indirectly, after it has come out from the input tubing, dissipated inside the stainless steel wool or glass fibre or whatever material the muffler is filled with, before exiting from the exit tubing. So, it's silent, but it's restrictive.

Straight flow mufflers and exhaust tubings do not necessarily make you lose low-end torque and power. That will only happen if you overdo things and fit exhaust piping that is too large in diameter (e.g. 2-inch piping for NA 1.3 or 1.5 litre engine) followed by a straight flow muffler that looks like it can barbeque a pig.

If you keep the exhaust piping at a moderate diameter (e.g. 1.75 or 1.8 inches for NA 1.5 litre car), use an appropriate glass-pack silencer (those usual 'bullets') or hemholtz resonator for silencing, followed by a straight-flow muffler that doesn't have oversized tubes and an oversized tailpipe, the throttle response will still be alright.

means 1.5l car can use back stock extractor and enlarge to 1.75 o 1.8 inch of piping ? will it gain performance?

you need to understand the entire engine-manifold-exhaust system in order to make decision, exhaust system build from multiple component and each of them play a roll. You need understand your original engine performance and find a exhaust system design that fit your car/ requirement. There is no universal fitting for exhaust.

http://www.quickhonda.net/exhaust.htm
hope that it help.

send your car to few exhaut shop and collect different opinion.
explain to them what you wanna achieve, budget, i believe they will able to give you suggestion. collect more more info before you spend your money.

i'll do that if i got time.... sign....

if you wanna tell the different, do dyno before and after.sorry for long tok-cock here.

Okay, telling from my experience..

I changed to 4-2-1 extractor, 1.5-inch primaries, 2-inch at the secondary collectors. But at first, I used a shitty bullet (hardly any silencing) and re-use stock piping + stock muffler. The result? Bloody hell, the throttle response is CRAZY. Back then I was using stock wheels.. 13" wheels, 175/70 R13.. I can just blip on the throttle and my head will be stuck against the headrest, no joke. My friend who is pro-turbo is also surprised. As he said it in malay, "Mencanak, beb!!!".

The disadvantage? There's hardly any silencing effect from the stupid ass cheap bullet. When I hit 4000 rpm, it sounds like my engine has VTEC! Suddenly, an intoxicating high-pitched wail will emanate from my exhaust! My friends loved it.. I hated it. I want a car that is silent.

2nd stage - changed the centre piping to 1.75" piping, with intergrated 20" hemholtz resonator, coupled with stock muffler. The acceleration is EVEN BETTER. Bugger, the throttle response is unbelievable, and with the 20" resonator, the VTEC effect is almost gone, but above 4000 rpm I'm still getting a 'struggling' high-pitched sound. So I added a 2nd bullet, right before the bend after the fuel tank guard. The throttle response was there, and the exhaust was silent.

Months later, after I detected rust at my muffler and the sound started to change, I decided to change to another muffler. I chose an S-flow one because I wanted it to be silent. Swapped to a big-ass silent S-flow twin-tailpipe exhaust system.. it was silent, but my throttle response was totally lost. So I removed the 2nd bullet and 'jumpered' the joint with a direct 2" tubing. I regained some of the throttle response, but it felt "smooth" and slow, as opposed to the sudden surges that I was able to get previously. Obviously, my S-flow muffler is too restrictive.

Another friend had a similar setup but with a conventional 12" glass-pack silencer as the centre "bullet" and used 1.75" piping along the original route. He had a 2nd glass-pack silencer at the same location as I had previously, right before the bend at the end of the gas tank. But, he used a straight-flow twin-tailpipe muffler. Throttle response is great, and above all, surprisingly, the exhaust setup is SILENT. It does have a sporty growl to it, but it's not a constant loud bassy noise that permeates the passenger compartment. It's just a growl when we go full throttle, but otherwise it's relatively silent when cruising.

Exhaust shops like Wai Heng and Wei Yip are often useless, believe me. They'll argue with you and insist that you use 2" piping. The 1.75" piping that we got, by the way, is a cast steel piping, that's why it follows the original route, because it's like an OEM replacement thing together with mount points at all the original locations. Just plug and play.

Wai Heng and Wei Yip will also be reluctant to bend the pipes according to the original route. Imagine, those bastards wanted to charge me over 400 bucks for 2" stainless steel tubing along the original route (which involves lots of work to bend precisely, according to them). I got my cast steel 1.75" centre piping (that is almost identical to what Powerzone offers) for RM290 at Autobags.

yes....S-flow can be restrictive; and sluggish at pick ups.........
but my case.....my previous setting was superb interms of the "surge" of power and 0-100km/s......
4-1 extractor; 1.75" initial piping, 1 bullet, 2 inch out piping, 2.5" in and out S-flow muffler....
For an Auto car; I can always feel the burst of power when I floor it.........the head going to the headrest like what was mentioned by jswong...
0-100km/h is less than 3 minutes.......than my top speed can go up to 180km/h but from 120km/h towards 180km/h is like so slow..........drag for like quiet sometimes before reaching it....and it's time to slow down when I reached that speed in Kesas.
okie...all done in Wai Heng........charges is arnd 450 if i remember correctly (piping, muffler, bullet).....oh forgot to mention; it's straight.....no bent from head till tail....direct out....no original route

after I got my thermal wrapped 4-2-1 extractor 2nd hand locally made by Jaafar (Sunway) from a member; I changed the settings..
4-2-1; still 1.75" towards the bullet, anuther short 1.75" to anuther bullet (2 resonators because previous setting quite noisy) than 2" piping following original route back to the muffler I used before.
Now pickup and the "surge of power" is lost 0-100km/h is slower........but power is smoother; i.e. previous setting when change gear....u feel the surge, but now it's smoother....
however, my 120km/h towards 180km/h is faster than before.........
okie; also redo the job in Wai Heng (cos near my place........setapak) for RM250 - installing extractor, anuther resonator and pipings (stainless steel)..old one kenot be re-used cos I've scrapped the bottom of the piping (previous setting is like what u see a lot from a lot of cars....can see the "V" shape piping underneath the car"

Anyway, I loose some and gain some.....so moral of story.........u got to test different different settings before u found ot what suits u the most....