Okay, telling from my experience..
I changed to 4-2-1 extractor, 1.5-inch primaries, 2-inch at the secondary collectors. But at first, I used a shitty bullet (hardly any silencing) and re-use stock piping + stock muffler. The result? Bloody hell, the throttle response is CRAZY. Back then I was using stock wheels.. 13" wheels, 175/70 R13.. I can just blip on the throttle and my head will be stuck against the headrest, no joke. My friend who is pro-turbo is also surprised. As he said it in malay, "Mencanak, beb!!!".
The disadvantage? There's hardly any silencing effect from the stupid ass cheap bullet. When I hit 4000 rpm, it sounds like my engine has VTEC! Suddenly, an intoxicating high-pitched wail will emanate from my exhaust! My friends loved it.. I hated it. I want a car that is silent.
2nd stage - changed the centre piping to 1.75" piping, with intergrated 20" hemholtz resonator, coupled with stock muffler. The acceleration is EVEN BETTER. Bugger, the throttle response is unbelievable, and with the 20" resonator, the VTEC effect is almost gone, but above 4000 rpm I'm still getting a 'struggling' high-pitched sound. So I added a 2nd bullet, right before the bend after the fuel tank guard. The throttle response was there, and the exhaust was silent.
Months later, after I detected rust at my muffler and the sound started to change, I decided to change to another muffler. I chose an S-flow one because I wanted it to be silent. Swapped to a big-ass silent S-flow twin-tailpipe exhaust system.. it was silent, but my throttle response was totally lost. So I removed the 2nd bullet and 'jumpered' the joint with a direct 2" tubing. I regained some of the throttle response, but it felt "smooth" and slow, as opposed to the sudden surges that I was able to get previously. Obviously, my S-flow muffler is too restrictive.
Another friend had a similar setup but with a conventional 12" glass-pack silencer as the centre "bullet" and used 1.75" piping along the original route. He had a 2nd glass-pack silencer at the same location as I had previously, right before the bend at the end of the gas tank. But, he used a straight-flow twin-tailpipe muffler. Throttle response is great, and above all, surprisingly, the exhaust setup is SILENT. It does have a sporty growl to it, but it's not a constant loud bassy noise that permeates the passenger compartment. It's just a growl when we go full throttle, but otherwise it's relatively silent when cruising.
Exhaust shops like Wai Heng and Wei Yip are often useless, believe me. They'll argue with you and insist that you use 2" piping. The 1.75" piping that we got, by the way, is a cast steel piping, that's why it follows the original route, because it's like an OEM replacement thing together with mount points at all the original locations. Just plug and play.
Wai Heng and Wei Yip will also be reluctant to bend the pipes according to the original route. Imagine, those bastards wanted to charge me over 400 bucks for 2" stainless steel tubing along the original route (which involves lots of work to bend precisely, according to them). I got my cast steel 1.75" centre piping (that is almost identical to what Powerzone offers) for RM290 at Autobags.