Spraying Engine Cam Cover

Oit, i've sold my car moons ago edi. Now driving a stock standard Sentra lar! :) How fast & garang would a 1.8 GXE be? Moreover, it's an automatic. <_<

this was my rocker/cam-cover when it was newly painted

best to use hi-temp paint from ACE Hardware, cos they have a LARGER range of special paints..

can i choose not to remove the cover... ??? have to get new seal and stuff very mafhan la.... and i found out that my screws on my cover are not tight.... can even twist with finger... izit alrite?? they purposely make it likt that or wat??

yes. the screws on your cover musn't be too tight. If u dun wan to remove ur cover. Painting it would be hell! plus it won't look nice. Good luck.

REMOVING THE CAM WOULD BE A TOUGH JOB OR JUST SIMPLE STUFF...
TEACH ME~@@@ ;)

great job with the paint jobs. I was just wondering if i would want the wordings on the cover in a different color..wat can i do?mask the cover n leave the wordings??itll be such a hassle dont u think?.Any better solutions??? thankz

can anyone post the step by step removing the cover from engine?

need to buy new gasket after that?

how to post step by step? different engine got different srews and bolts wo.. what engine u are having? Usually most rocker cover can be removed by the following steps.

1. Remove spark-plug cables from the cam cover.
2. Remove timing belt cover.
3. Unscrew all bolts and nuts u can see on the rocker/cam cover. With slight force.. u should be able to lift the cover once all bolts are unscrewed.
4. if u successfully removed yo rocker/cam cover u should be able to see the rubber gasket.. if the gasket seems soft and has no crack.. means in good condition. If got crack.. it must be replaced.
5. Clean the cam cover with petrol.. before spraying.
6. Remove old silicone layer.
7. Install back once cam cover is dry just like how u took it off. And.. dun forget to reapply silicone glue before reinstalling.

Parts needed
1. 10mm spanar
2. Silicone glue
3. Petrol - RM1 enuf already
4. Painting Brush Hard type brush.. ( to clean the cam cover 1 lah )
5. Color Spray of your choice - spray more coats lor.. looks better. -refer to spraying techniques.
6. New gasket - if ur current one rosak or not in good condition la..

ermm.. hope dat helps..

Originally posted by ninja_iga@Mar 24 2004, 02:36 AM
this was my rocker/cam-cover when it was newly painted

best to use hi-temp paint from ACE Hardware, cos they have a LARGER range of special paints..
hey ninja....u not driving a L2 something meh??why stock kancil engine?or i make mistake? <_<

okie..got sumthin here wanna ask..

they said cannot screw the cam cover to tight rite..
so how tight should it be?

help..unscrew i know la..but screw it back...advise needed

U can choose not to remove the cover but you need some skill with masking tape and newspaper.

Today I just kauw tim 4 of rims. Used 4 cans of black paint and 3 cans of clear coat.
The black paint can withstand 500C. Its a High Temperature Paint by Duplicolor.
RM 23.50 a can

http://www.duplicolor.com/products/engine.html

Unfortunately, not much color to choose. Saw only black and silver at Midvalley Ace Hardware (Lvl 2). Chevrolet Orange-Red and Black at Ikano Powercenter Ace Hardware.

These are enamel paint. Takes 3 - 4 days to dry. But when it dries! It will harden.

Cheers

Originally posted by johnsonlam@Mar 19 2004, 05:48 PM
I used normal Paint..
Still ok... :)
bro wat happen to da website can't go in le.

propower here. :unsure:

ezwong2002, i borow your pic..

Why not spray this part(arrow pointing) as well..it will look nice..Dont u think guys ?