speakers recommendation needed

Like that even worst, an amp power is atleast 50w rms and you speakers is 15-20w rms. If you only willing to spent rm500, is better that you buy a set of speakers.

alright bro! i think after seeing all the opinions.. i'll be going for a set of speakers as i intended to at first... for tat price range.. wat brand would u suggest?? means i should be looking for a 3-way 6"X9" set isit?

I think is better to get a 6.5' component set, bass might not be strong, but it won't stress your HU more when compare to a 6X9 3 way.

soong2020 said:
currently i hav a JVC HU with that pair of speakers installed... while i also hav installed a pair of front speakers n tweeters in front.. no amp n no woofer.. n i not plan for amps nor woofer neither..

the front speakers r fine... jz the rear ones doesn't sound as good as i tot when i tested it... maybe the brother's ppl used amp to boost the sound when test to me..

haih last time stupid la me, didnt do research terus go buy... end up kena con by them :Not_Impressed: ... this current set on more than 50% volume sound pecah oledi

n my budget is oni for a good set of rear speakers... around RM400 like tat lo.. need some sifus to recommend me some good coaxial speakers.. no need amps n woofers

jz as long it sounds clear, can produce some heavy bass without woofer can d... n of cos la wont sound pecah when blasting :_:

I see that you already have a pair of speakers and tweeters in front. Is it OEM or aftermarket? Never waste money on rear speakers as your budget is so limited. The theory of producing good staging is to emphasize on the front speakers so to produce something like a concert playing at the windscreen. Music should be coming above your dashboard and not behind your ears. Since you are looking for low bass production you should get a SW and a 4-channel amp. 2-channel amp to power the front speakers/tweeters and 2-channel from SW. as such you will have full spectrum of frequency from your music. High freq from the tweeters, mid freq from the mid speakers and low freq from the SW. If you have changed the speakers at the front then save your money.:shades_smile:

yeah i have installed a pair of low budget front speakers n tweeters for a combined fee of RM100 cos i didnt hav much money at that time.. :X-:

but for me the front ones are used as just to give me some surround sound when listening, not giving much emphasis on it. hehe well, different person different liking =P ... n they r working fine for me as my fader i'll put +2 to the back.. so i prefer the sound to come more from the back while enjoying a degree of surround sound from the front.. tats y i concentrate my budget more towards the rear ones

well as for the suggestion from kyheng... will the sound of a 6.5" component still break if i turn the volume higher? if it doesn't break and offers decent SPL n SQ then it's fine with me already (RM500 can't ask for much hehe).. if in the future, with a component speaker, then i can further add an amp rite? :regular_smile:

if that's so.. any good 6.5" comp brand to recommend? recently i have a friend recommend me MBQuart DSE-216, but he didn't state how much it would be... can anyone enlighten me abit on this?

thx!

The basic entry level set-up will be a set of 6.5" comp set, a 4 channel amp (rated 50 RMS X4 at least) or 2 channel amp x 2, a 10" or 12" wofer. This will certainly meets all your requirements & i'm sure there will be no speaker break sound when turning to high volum. This will cost u at least 2K++. My advice is u save up some money for this, dont waste it on your rear speaker i.e 6x9. Think MB Quart is a good brand but should be quite expensive (sorry not very familiar with MBQ). Brands like Bravox, Pegasus or Roger may suit your budget, just my 2 cents.

The 6.5' sure will not break when turn on high volume, you must remember, most of the after market speakers, input power will be minimum at 30w rms, your HU only can give 18-25w rms.

Well, I see that you have unique taste of prefering music coming from the rear and the front speakers for surround. If you happen to see the home or cinema sound system all surround speakers are at the back of the audience instead at the front just like you don't watch concert with your back facing the stage:regular_smile: Anyway, with a higher power rating speaker than the power of your HU will not cause your speakers to crack instead they go into clipping when you turn the HU volume to max. because the power from the HU has gone into max but still not able to generate enough input to support the power required by the speakers. Just like you red line your engine hoping the car can go faster. The car will not go any faster instead you blow up the engine. For RM500 you probably can get a set of Sony, Kenwood or JVC component speakers. My brother just bought a set of Sony component speakers at RM450. (Tweeter, mid-bass & very basic crossover) The result is quite OK as I pass him my old amp and the bass is punchy. I can't remember the model. Full-fledged component speakers can be a region of RM600 & above (reputable brands). Cap ayam speakers are much cheaper and is within your budget. However, the cap ayam comp. speakers most tend to be 'noisy' (music not clean) in which you will hear a mix of treble and bass together and not separated like what a comp. speaker should do. Just a word of caution, becareful of imitation products as they are widely available especiially from lelong.com. There are people selling Rockford, JL Audio, MB Quart, Soundstream at rock-bottom prices so be very very careful and not attracted by the prices. Physically they are 95% the same but the sound quality can be very different. I know this because I kena 'con' before when I purchase a set of JL speakers at only RM400 when the market is selling at RM1950!:baring_teeth: It certainly looks almost the same but the quality is like shit. :angry_smile:

thx![/QUOTE]

Clif Designs

What u think of Clif Designs SQ6.5C? It 6.5 inch Component Sets. The quality of sound suit 4 RB n Hard type. Selling around RM400.00ono View are appreciate. Thank u. Email mi [email protected] any enquiry.

LOL... yea i'm aware of those imitation stuffs.. tat's y i am planning to go directly to audio shops and test the speakers 1st thoroughly before buying them... not gona be conned for the second time..

as for that sony comp set that ur brother installed, without the amp does it sound nice? the bass sound OK without an amp n a sub? if that's so then it's easier for me when i go test speakers time... and btw what's a full-fledged speaker?

as for ivan, do you have any photos of that set of Cliff Design comp set? or any web sites for me to view so that i can see the specs.. and what do you think of the SQ and the SPL of the sound from that set?? thx dude :_:

ivanlim said:
What u think of Clif Designs SQ6.5C? It 6.5 inch Component Sets. The quality of sound suit 4 RB n Hard type. Selling around RM400.00ono View are appreciate. Thank u. Email mi [email protected] any enquiry.

I think Clif Designs are from China or Taiwan. Anyway, it is very difficult to get good quality component speakers at the region of RM400. The best, try to get an audition before making any purchase. Business are very bad for car accessory shops nowadays especially after the fuel hike. Not many people have much to spend on upgrading their audio system. Insist on audition, otherwise just walked away. There are thousands of accessory shops outside so be patient and do your research so not to waste your hard-earned money. Always try to get the best you can afford. Otherwise, at latter days you may find you want to crave for more in which will cause you to lose more. Start with a good pair of speakers, then 4 channel amp and then SW. Just my opinion, sound without amp seldom fulfill one's aspirations in the pursue of good music enjoyment. Our car is full of noise interruption especially from the tyre. So, without amplification, you can't hear your music in full. Everyone has different taste and some is easily satisfied and some may yearn for Hi-Fi sound in their car.

Yeah agree that petrol prices are killing people especially poor lads like me :X-:

As for the auditioning process, how will the shops audit the speakers to potential customers? Because you'll only be able to feel the full potential of the speaker when listening in a car instead of listening to it in the open air, isn't it?

Any comments regarding this? 10q :_:

As for the auditioning process, how will the shops audit the speakers to potential customers? Because you'll only be able to feel the full potential of the speaker when listening in a car instead of listening to it in the open air, isn't it?

It is always possible to do auditioning. Installing speakers is just a game of plug and play. There is not much tuning because you have a very:regular_smile: simple audio system.You can ask them to take away your existing speakers and then install the one you intend to buy. Show them your enthusiasm of purchasing the speakers and I 'm sure they will do it for u. In fact, this will help to curb cheating because the accessory shoppers will ensure they reccommend u a good product otherwise it will be a waste of their time.

Any comments regarding this? 10q :_:[/QUOTE]

Ohhh okok... and jus as i thought of plugging n playing, regarding the board where the speakers are installed on, now they have drilled holes to fit my current speakers. But when i change my speakers time, will i need to buy another piece of custom made board? or all the speakers will fit into the hole?

Well, the way you say it is wrong already, don't become hot because of my statements. Who will not know if add amp, add sub, add some fiber works will be good? Some people will just like a most simple setup by just add a pair of speakers, without adding amp. For some people, they might say that this guy is stupid. But who will sit in that car and listen to the songs? Is he himself, not other people. We can give tons of opinion and views, but we have no final say, the owner will have final say.
Sometime I will sit in my friend's car that don't have amp or whatever, just original HU and speakers. The bass might not be strong as my 12' sub, the vocal might not be so clear/real, but sometimes the most simple setup will be the best. Is something like you everyday eat seafoods, till 1 day you want to eat something simple.

Well, had i have extra cash in my pocket, i would have of course gone for those powerful stuffs. I'm just a poor university student who's trying to survive my campus life le man. :sad_smile: Just that i'm selling my set of speakers that's why i'm on the hunt for a new set to replace it.

Heh, thanks kyheng for understanding my situation :_: . Appreciate that.

As to what i've posted previously, about the speaker installation on the board, will a 6.5" comp set fit into the current "hole" that they have cut in my backboard there to fit my current set. B'cos the sizes vary for different speakers right?

Any comments regarding this? 10q

Well, if is still 6.5', it should be no problem I guess, you can ask people in acc shop when you buying speakers..

Alright, i'll be scouting around shops for the best deal. Can just give me a shortlist of brands that i can refer to when i'm at the shops? So that i can know which is a reputable brand when the shop owners do the audition for me.

thx alot

Clif Designs

Bro,

Hi. Im brought the speaker at tmn seapark-can't remember accessories shop name. If u know where is SHELL station, just opposite only. if wan know further, please do call mi-016-2383911. Thank u.

Regards,
Ivan